The Non GAA Thread

Caught the 2nd half of that game tonight. When did they change the rules in the Champs League that you had to play the game in one half of the pitch?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/11/2008 23:09:24    134731

I think Ulster is the most complicated place on earth. Even more complicated than the Middle East. When we are playing Gaelic Football all Ulster people (me inc) want our province to be the best. When Ulster is involved in Rugby i know many (me inc) who love to see them beaten and when the wee Six are playing Soccer many (me inc) want to see them getting hammered. The truth is often stranger than fiction !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/11/2008 23:42:44    134774

A weekend away with my BOSS but not on work!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/11/2008 09:09:29    134836

yep flying from farannfore. keep the kerry economy going!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/11/2008 09:10:11    134837

A weekend away with my BOSS but not on work!!
woops , 06/11/2008 at 09:09

I hope he's a she!!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 06/11/2008 10:23:32    134894

He is a she alright. and is not my Boss as in my work Boss but as in my REAL BOSS!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/11/2008 10:34:11    134904

think Ulster is the most complicated place on earth. Even more complicated than the Middle East. When we are playing Gaelic Football all Ulster people (me inc) want our province to be the best. When Ulster is involved in Rugby i know many (me inc) who love to see them beaten and when the wee Six are playing Soccer many (me inc) want to see them getting hammered. The truth is often stranger than fiction !!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Being honest I would rather see Ulster win in Rubgy than any other provence.

Its the provence I'm from. I would support the other Irish Clubs in the European Cup as well but always Ulster first.

In football I dont really mind Northern Ireland.

I used to live just up from Windsor park and got dropped off after a match one night in the middle of the N. Ireland Vs Spain match. I had my full kit with me my Hurls and all as well as my green White and Orange kit bag.

Being honest I thought I was in big trouble but some of the guys spotted my kit and started joking with me. I ended up having real good craic.

Its not what it used to beyou still get a few biggots in all sports but in general N.Ireland is improving

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 06/11/2008 11:18:24    134943

Would it be wrong to go and watch 'Hunger' with the wife whilst tucking into a giant box of sweet popcorn and a monster pack of maltesers?

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 06/11/2008 12:18:42    134996

Agree with you there oisinboy. I was in Prague with a group of Nothern Ireland boys the weekend of the Kildare v Fermanagh match. Great bunch of lads, no issues lodas of sing songs ( both sides ). Unfortunately I brought the guys to see the above mentioned match in an Irish bar which was their first time! Half way through one of them asked was it usually this low scoring!!

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 06/11/2008 12:29:24    135017

There have been real leaps and bounds in sports in Northern Ireland.

In belfast they have a cross community schools team who are meant to be very good.

A club up the Malone road in Belfast made up of both communitys. They play both Hurling and Football.

As a famous mobile add says

The future is bright. The future is Orange.

The future of GAA sports in belfast could really be Orange

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 06/11/2008 13:18:25    135059

The Biffo's Rule - Well we mightn't be winning much silverware this weather in either football or hurling, but we had some victory in the elections with our very own Barack. You can send a message of congrats to www.congratulatebarack.com link Up the biffos

biffo_4ever (Offaly) - Posts: 5 - 06/11/2008 14:43:30    135123

EnolaGay

"You should've been at home yesterday......."

Jayo, i'll put an ear to the ground for ye, usually get offered tickets through the county board, i'll e-mail you if i can get them.

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 06/11/2008 15:31:14    135161

Cheers Bald Eagle - anything you can turn up!

ps Are you really Keith Wood?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 06/11/2008 16:10:27    135199

anyone thinking that harry rednapp is going to be tottenhams saviour......
lets hear everyones predictions for the top ten a the league this year :)

strabane harp (Tyrone) - Posts: 47 - 07/11/2008 11:44:56    135835

anyone see christiano twinkle toes ronaldo kicking out at celtic player wednesday night,,scott brown i think it was,,,, on the sideline which resulted in a throw in for man u,,, if it had been scott brown kicked ronaldo like that it would have been red card and three match ban,, why do referees favour the big name players 90% of the time,,,?????

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 07/11/2008 22:23:59    136548

Keane brace, three points, top of the league...

We're havin' a laugh :D

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 08/11/2008 20:51:18    136881

spurs will finish in the top 8 i think now

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 08/11/2008 22:56:40    136956

biffo_4ever
County: Offaly

135123 The Biffo's Rule - Well we mightn't be winning much silverware this weather in either football or hurling, but we had some victory in the elections with our very own Barack. You can send a message of congrats to www.congratulatebarack.com link Up the biffos

The American biffo is as yet an unknown quantity. The biffo from Clara should be locked in a baracks and the key given to George Dubya Bust.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 744 - 10/11/2008 01:31:11    137290

Well Liam,

I know it was against Canada and all, but Ferris vindicated is selection on Saturday. Along with Bowe, it took the Ulster lads to light up thomond!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 10/11/2008 11:44:51    137428

re: Breffni39

Fairplay to ferris and bowe in what was a mediorker by ireland Kearney, earls and Heaslip deserve a mention too.

To be honest i'm not sure bowe will start against New Zeland ferris has a chance alright but think he'll go for a bit more expirence in the pack.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/11/2008 12:17:00    137469