The Non GAA Thread

Hoping Everton will do the biz tomorrow against Lpool. But they way their defence has been this season I have the feeling Robbie will finally break his scoring duck.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/09/2008 15:32:44    108875

Have the Kings of Leon album alright, its mighty! Going to see them in Dublin later in the year!

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 26/09/2008 15:39:56    108896

They're a fantastic live band Rio, one of the best about! Seen them before but hope to do so again soon.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 26/09/2008 15:47:34    108919

Rio

odyssey myself, seen them at the last two oxygens. Great band

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 26/09/2008 15:47:35    108920

Rio - search out Stay by Jackson Browne - full 9 minute version - great tune altogether!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 26/09/2008 15:49:43    108925

daytona11

alex ferguson is fuming over pogatetz's tackle on rodrigo possebom last night....does he not remember roy keane on alfe haaland?he didnt come out and slate keane.

Wonderful post. Saw this again the other day on YouTube. Given that Keane said in his book it was intentional, I am amazed that he was not banned from all football for life.

Now he later said his book was made up, lies, but it said on the front cover "The Truth". Roy could end up in more trouble than West Ham if all the buyers decided to sue under the Trade Descriptions Act.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/09/2008 21:20:49    109159

All aboard for Thomond Park?

Silly season now upon us again when we can have the Munster Final in such exotic places as Castres, Bourgoin, Toulouse, Swansea, Llannelli etc.

16th man by the Grace of God.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 27/09/2008 00:15:47    109231

Last saturday saw the WORST Everton display I have ever seen. Things have gone stale and Moyes has prob taken them as far as he can. I would not be surprised to see DM at White Hart Lane soon, or Parkhead by Christmas. Think Moyes and Everton have come as far together as they can. He did some job tho. Seems to be gone stale and will prob only get worse. For his own sake i hope he doesnt go to the Toon, Jebus himself couldnt save them.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2008 11:25:40    109949

Somebody call a doctor, I think Neil Francis has finally lost all sense of reality -

From the Tribune:

'WELL here it is, the match that needs no hype, the match that other sporting codes look on with envy. There isn't an Irish sporting contest which can match this occasion. There is nothing in domestic soccer that comes remotely close. Nor can hurling or any of its rabid acolytes who foam at the mouth for any kind of rivalry in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship. Nor can Gaelic football come close.

Rugby is different. Twice a year, Munster and Leinster have to get it on. It is the outstanding domestic sporting occasion on the island of Ireland, no question. And it will get better and bigger, irrespective of the quality of the fare....'

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 29/09/2008 11:48:54    109994

i was watching setanta last night. during the build up to the egg chasing the same was said that all ireland hurling and football finals cant match a munster v leinster match. are they having a joke? an u12 gaelic natch is better than that drosh. and how many people were at the match yesterday? compare that to a provincial hurlig / football match. no comparison.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/09/2008 11:52:32    110009

I went to see Ireland V Wales!...My first ever visit to a rugby match!
Eyes were roaming everywhere except for the pitch!....Tryin to pick out some eye candy.
The game is too slow and boring and ye cant see the ball half the time!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/09/2008 12:30:41    110086

Liam i think Moyes is still the man for the job, i think we need new owners that are able to put some decent revenue into the club but Moyes built this team on a shoestring and hopefully things will turn around for him.
Agree that we have gone stale, Lescott has forgotten what got him into the England squad in the 1st place. Main prob was the failure to attract high quality players
Def think we need 2 boys up front, Vaughan when he is prop fit would be my choice beside Yakubu.
Hopfully we can get a good result against Standard Liege,if not we will be in for one long sorrowful season but fingers crossed.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 29/09/2008 12:50:36    110120

Watching the leinster munster game yesterday have to say yer man doing the sideline reports was the most biased pundit i have ever heard.

bla bla bla ..... loike...... leinster.... loike bad refereeing...... roysh!

Sicked my **** he did!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/09/2008 13:00:25    110126

Ya would have to feel sorry for Leinster. There is no toughness in them at all. Absolutely destroyed by Munster. Wouldn't put one Leinster forward on the Munster squad. Imagine what Leinster would think of Quinlan if they had him. Munster made the Leinster backline look extremely poor I thought aswell.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/09/2008 14:09:58    110217

HAG_AND_CHEESE

Yeah, saw that too. Emmet Byrne it was. He was a prop too and he kept saying ridiculous decisions going against Leinster and the commentators would watch the replay and matter-or-factly point out the obvious infringments the Leinster pack was making.

Leinster have the players, just not the heart when it comes to the crunch. Quinlan is a player you want on your team but not against you but to be fair he should have got sent off!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12387 - 29/09/2008 16:22:08    110394

Ulster got some hammering from Ospreys aswell, Tommy Bowe facing his old side for the first time and capping it off with a try.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 29/09/2008 16:50:30    110427

Lads - Leinster beat Munster home and away last year. Don't get too carried away - its the early stages of the Magners League that's all!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 29/09/2008 16:54:07    110433

Leinster tried to play with munster intensity yesterday that's what lost it for them the couldn't keep it up for 80 minutes the gaps appeared that and compteponi missing the easy kicks didn't help. Some massive hits in the game never seen the ball been lost in contact so many times hell of a lot of turnovers in rucks too. Weren't a full strenght munster ye faced last year. Quinlan is a legend that's what we needed at that stage in the game, him to come in an **** off a few people as he dose and throw em off their game, you can't buy expireance like that.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/09/2008 17:12:45    110469

Don't mind that lads. Leinster have to come up to the Sportsground on Sunday!!

There's a storm a'brewin' ;)

COME ON CONNACHT!!!

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 29/09/2008 23:15:44    110730

DAVID BLAINES RECORD OF SPENDING 48 DAYS IN A BOX DOING NOTHING HAS BEEN BROKEN.

NEW RECORD HOLDER ROBBIE KEANE IS SAID TO BE DELIGHTED.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/09/2008 15:04:48    111146