The Non GAA Thread

To be honest woops, if we dont get a billionaire in soon, we are in right trouble Have a horrible feeling we will see Mikel in a red shirt pretty soon, just seems to be something that would happen us. Spanish connection and all that. Being in a dreary northern city in the shadow of a bigger more famous rival is a killer for potantial investors. City and spurs have something about them, always had. we are a way more succesful club but manchester and london are far more exciting places to invest for an outsider than liverpools second club.
i dont think the future is bright atall i am afraid woops.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/09/2008 16:02:53    98231

Zola to west ham anyway?!

yeah Everton havn't had a great start, can't see them doing a great deal this season.. shocking pity the didnt finish 4th last year to get amongst them but not to be..

see heskey was taunted last night by the croatians- racist chants? bad form to see. i remember spain doing it with wright phillips on the pitch, shocking to hear

seanieGG (Meath) - Posts: 182 - 11/09/2008 16:41:28    98273

i suppose it goes to show how lucky we are in ireland.we dont have heskey!!the racist stuff is dissapointing though.the only way to rid soccer of it is to ban teams who's fans are guilty of it.this will learn them.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/09/2008 16:52:04    98283

I could be wrong but I could swear I heard some booing when Steven Reid was on the ball yesterday.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 11/09/2008 17:08:39    98292

they were booing anytime ireland had possesion.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/09/2008 17:29:48    98314

Kevin Philips was leading goal scorer in the league last year, and heading that way again, without Quinn.

Montenegro used to be part of Yugoslavia, who had some of the best players in the world.

You lads in the ROI are getting a bit like the English, expecting to win games because you haven't heard of the other team. That simple means you don't follow soccer closely, just the premiership.

I support City, for whom the end is nigh. Used to be a bit like following a gaelic team, say Mayo where anything could happen, now we are a multi-national instead of a football club. Sad. We will be winning things next, which would rather spoil the image.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/09/2008 17:30:32    98315

"ill never forget the overhead kick trevor sinclair scored from about thirty yards.if cantona had of done it people would still be talking about it now"

What are you talking about? People are still talking about it? Legendary goal - best overhead I've ever seen (ahead of van basten for ajax and sanchez for Madrid)

Roy Wegerle scored a good goal for ye too and I'm surprised Dennis Bailey didn't figure in your favourite non-Gaa moments!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 11/09/2008 17:49:20    98330

just back from montenegro, lucky to get the point, will finish 4th in group i reckon.
anyone know where i can get a bucket of damsons, wild plums,they make powerful jam.
have been getting them for years near aghaboe abbey but the motorway has put paid to them

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/09/2008 17:59:58    98342

When your man from Prison Break with one hand shaved off his goatee and just left the moustache, he looked exactly like Barry McGuigan. Considence? I think not.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 11/09/2008 22:36:03    98466

read pat dolans article in the star today.page 84 i think.as much as i dislike the man he hits the nail on the head.montenegro had 2 players that were half decent.vucinic and jocktevic i think thats the correct spelling!!apart from this they were brutal.ireland should have won.simple as.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 12/09/2008 10:23:53    98609

A stronger and more alert ref/lino would have seen the blatant handball and the headlock on Keane soon after and awarded at least one, if not two penalties.

That would have changed the game. Was hoping for 3 points in Montenegro but will settle for 1.

Revenge against the Cypriots, who are no mugs, is on the cards. Anorthosis Famagusta qualifying for the Champions League with 9 Cypriot players and AC Omonia Nicosia in the UEFA Cup also with 9 local lads in the side (and a class shamrock motif for their badge) is proof of an ever improving Cypriot league so it won't be a cake walk by any stretch.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 12/09/2008 12:27:39    98726

Well I'm gonna say it.... Ryan Babel you legend :D

COME ON YOU REDS!!:D

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 14/09/2008 22:54:46    99696

Well if I have said this once, then I have said it a thousand times but how great is Aidan O'Brien?

I would now officially label him as Ireland's greatest living person, he is a credit to all.

O'Brien's grand slam of Irish classics (1000 guineas - Halfway to Heaven, 2000 guineas - HenrytheNavigator, the Derby - Frozen Fire, the Oaks - Moonstone, St.Leger - Spetimus) makes Kilkenny's look fairly pathetic really.

Well done to all at Ballydoyle.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/09/2008 11:18:12    99879

well said loyal, a true great of irish sport. he has also made horse racing a team sport

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 15/09/2008 11:41:38    99909

I was a lot happier when I flew back from Anfield last year. Another stupid chant to add to their list, that Seven Nation Army chant every single team was doing at the Euros, ohhh god I hope Kerry help me get over this!

Kingdom Come (None) - Posts: 264 - 15/09/2008 12:04:04    99934

Yes - lets make Aidan a Freeman of every city in Ireland. Lets make up a new honour just for him - he deserves it. Alternatively lets get a little perspective here.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 15/09/2008 12:04:39    99936

Kingdom Come 2-1 to the future champions! United are a one man team, and even at that he doesn't want to be there.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 15/09/2008 13:08:39    100002

For the benfit of JayoCluxton Aidan O'Brien's 2008 achievements 1. Has trained 20 Group One winners and is now well on course to break the record for most in one season (25) set by Bobby Frankel in 2003. By my reckoning, he will go into the thirties, and so will smash the record to pieces. 2. Trained the winner of the five Irish classics - all listed above - I think this has happened just the once in the history of Irish horse racing in 1935. But there was no Dermot Welds, Jim Bolgers or Kevin Prendergasts back then. 3. Trained Duke Of Marmalade to go from pacemaker in 2007 to unbeaten five time Group One winner in 2008. 4. Has four horses in the top 20 horses in the world according to Timeform ratings - no other trainer has even got two. 5. Not only is he rated the best in the world by the people of Ireland, but the Australians and Americans are now raving about him.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/09/2008 13:08:49    100003

3inrow you are deluded. United were the worst they were in a long time and still it took a calamity for you to score. Liverpool 4th place titans. And will be again. Champions of Europe sunshine!

Kingdom Come (None) - Posts: 264 - 15/09/2008 14:15:06    100065

Loyal - I have huge respect for him and there is no doubt he is the best at what he does. However I would even question whether he is a 'sportsman' in the real sense. He is in effect the CEO of a multi million euro business - and he manages it very well indeed. To denigrate Kilkenny's achievements at the expense of AOBs is a bit much. How would you feel if someone equated AOBs deeds with Phil Taylor's 13 world darts titles?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 15/09/2008 14:24:30    100080