The Non GAA Thread

Funny thing I dont think we have a good enough ski slope for Olympic skiing

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 26/08/2008 15:53:55    85437

daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 688 85341 well indeed he does loyal and in my opinion he is only represeting ireland for the funding.once again i ask you the question has the lad ever been to ireland?lived in ireland?how irish is he?his comments aobut the media were a joke.and then when he finds out he qualified as the fastest loser he tried to back track.were you watching the final he competed in?i taught the commentators described it aptly when he dropped out.and i quote "allistair cragg gives up".he's not good enough,doesnt have the right frame of mind to be a top class sportsman and he would rather blame this on everyone else bar himself.well done to paul hession by the way.now theres a true olympian. ________________________________________________ His comments were directed to something some idiot of a journalist wrote in his paper and to Eammon Coughlan. Now Eammon may have been a fine athlete for Ireland but last week, i thought he was basically an embarrasment to everyone in this country? I thought Gerry Kiernan was going to level him at one stage and its a pity he did not. Every opportunity Eammon got he came out with the line "I said it in my new book" and then after the 1500m final, oh I will never forget this: "The 1500m needs a champion, a Delaney, a Coughlan". I still can't believe he said that???? And then he went on of course to ridicule Alastair Cragg. Now I'm sure Alastair has always given his best for this country and for Coughlan to come out with that must have been a major insult to him. Fair play to him though, he made the final and proved them all wrong.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/08/2008 15:54:50    85444

Not sure they showed any GAA last year? They showed the hurling semi-final one year, and Ireland germany wc qualifier and there was chaos so I think they shelved any plans to show sport last year.

I'll be there in my Tyrone shirt, basking in the glory of my Ulster colleagues success :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 26/08/2008 15:55:00    85446

Did we not send a skater to the Winter Olympics before and he refused to take part because it was too slippy.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/08/2008 15:55:43    85448

and jayo you'd have the whole country behind you!why dont a few of us enter the 5,000 meters.jaysus we might finish last but we certainly wouldnt give up!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 16:22:33    85483

Cavan_Slasher

85448 Did we not send a skater to the Winter Olympics before and he refused to take part because it was too slippy.

Being honest that would not surprise me

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 26/08/2008 16:25:31    85489

Daytona,
You are pretty close to the bone there but I'd agree with you in that his lack of mental toughness may have let him down. Had he the resolute resolve of Loyal and his fellow Royals the outcome may have been better for us all. Something fragile about the lad though.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 744 - 26/08/2008 16:38:20    85507

daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 692 85483 and jayo you'd have the whole country behind you!why dont a few of us enter the 5,000 meters.jaysus we might finish last but we certainly wouldnt give up!! _________________________________________________ And with that highly ridiculous post, I am now going to follow in the footsteps - for definite - of Spudenator. You know nothing about Alastair Cragg, Daytona and that most insulting ridiculous post should not be allowed and neither should your one about Graham Geraghty and the Aussie Rules. You found it funny that some lad tried to break his neck?????? But they (posts) were and I simply cannot make myself read such rubbish anymore while my own posts are edited and blocked, yet all I am trying to do is show Daytona up for the idiot he is. Sorry lads but I have tried and tried.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/08/2008 16:52:55    85540

hey now loyal what has geraghty been doing in ireland for years?and why did he get sent home from austrailia that time?now dont get me wrong.i wouldnt wish for anyone to have their neck broken and i dont think there was any danger of this happening to our graham.he got what was coming to him.as for allistar cragg.i stand by my remarks and dont have to explain myself or my remarks to you any more.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 17:05:01    85568

and loyal your slating eamonn coughlan there.but i never came in defence of eamonn.my comments are my opinion.i dont think cragg is worth the funding he gets.i think he gave up in the final.you keep going to the end no matter what.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 17:38:40    85619

aidangalway

85080 It was a fairly pathetic attempt by our olympians in all honesty. Only the boxers came out of it with much credit. Great that the only thing we can win a medal in is fighting!! :-)

Now if only drinking was an olympic sport aswell we'd be sorted!

In saying that our athletes didn't do very well I should add that it isn't entirely their own fault as the training facilities in this country are light years behind what other countries have due to our short-sighted and incompetent government.

so coming 4th in the olympics is pathetic, get real sham

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 26/08/2008 22:08:50    85786

posh

85248 Anyone going to Electric picnic?
have a tkt but cannot go, hope the weather holds up, have fun, love to the little town

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 26/08/2008 22:10:35    85789

That Mayo travel company his went out of business today had a wonderful name considering where it was based.

THE GREAT ESCAPES!

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 27/08/2008 16:01:13    86609

haha Denzel, brilliant!!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 27/08/2008 16:32:36    86684

"The Great Escape" collapse - over to our Mayo reporter, Ball-boy, in Swinford / Lanzarote/Charlestown/Ibiza

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 744 - 27/08/2008 20:18:03    86891

kuyt kuyt,where ever you may be,
hit every branch on the ugly tree,
just like fowler,crouch and bellamy,
you are class but ugly....

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 28/08/2008 09:07:37    87051

God how sickening is it watching liverpool in europe??? Kuyt of all people.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 28/08/2008 12:12:27    87311

Ah yes, in Europe where we belong...

Liverpool set the standard for English teams in Europe... Pity for them it won't be matched :D

We'll win it 6 times!!!

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 28/08/2008 12:20:17    87329

A lot of poor quality sides have gotten into the draw. I think it just shows that the league of Ireland aren't far off getting a team into the group stages. Here are just a few that have gotten through.

BATE(Belarus)- Got a easy draw in 3rd round against Levski Sofia of Bulgaria.
Anorthosis Famagusta FC(Cyprus)- Squad includes 6 Cypriot internationals as well as Traianos Dellas of Greece.
Aalborg Bk (Sweden)- Had to beat Kaunas of Lithuania to get into group stages.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 28/08/2008 12:22:14    87334

Christ don't be talking about soccer you might start a riot in here.

Liverpool didn't deserve to win didn't look good at all. You know what they are like though they will be there or there about when it comes to semi-final time.

I think a repeat of last years champions league would be a good bet this year.

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 28/08/2008 12:24:10    87340