The Non GAA Thread

Jayo - no, after Barnes got thrashed for the Bronze without scoring a single point the tv pundits here went ballistic. They've been running specials on it every other hour of Olympic coverage. And now Egans defeat has justthrown more grist to the mill...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 25/08/2008 20:53:22    84510

Grand Festinog - see where they're coming from now. Thanks!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 25/08/2008 23:56:23    84600

cheers snuff apprciate that mate.i cant believe you went to berlin!!jaysus they just got rid of one dictator and then they have to put up with you!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 10:23:34    84755

Well done to the Olympians coming home today!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/08/2008 12:42:24    85025

did any of the other olympians apart from the boxers go to beijing??!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 13:00:23    85069

It was a fairly pathetic attempt by our olympians in all honesty. Only the boxers came out of it with much credit. Great that the only thing we can win a medal in is fighting!! :-)

Now if only drinking was an olympic sport aswell we'd be sorted!

In saying that our athletes didn't do very well I should add that it isn't entirely their own fault as the training facilities in this country are light years behind what other countries have due to our short-sighted and incompetent government.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 26/08/2008 13:03:39    85080

I'll second that Snuffy! And good to see the ould open-top bus getting a run out in Neilstown this evening!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 26/08/2008 13:51:19    85141

has allistar crank ever been to ireland even?well i'll tell ye lads.....south africa can take him back.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 14:27:24    85208

As far as Ireland is concerned, the Olympics were a success. Medals are not the be all and end all. Its great if you can get one but for many just to take part in the Olympics is a great achievement. Look at the 50k walker - Colin Griffin I think his name is - just completing the course made the past four years worthwhile for him, after what happened to him in Athens. Look at Paul Hession, the tenth fastest man over 200m in the world. For an Irishman, that is something else. Look at Eoin Rheinisich in the slalom. All these may not have won medals but there achievements at The Games by far outweighed their expectations.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/08/2008 14:33:00    85216

I heard on the radio this morning that it cost about EUR 1,000,000 per medal (And not in bribes LOL). Do people feel that this is worth it?

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 26/08/2008 14:41:36    85227

Anyone going to Electric picnic?

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 26/08/2008 14:48:21    85248

Ah RM - ye can't measure it like that! If all 54 athletes brought home medals it would work out at 55 and a half grand a medal!!! I think they are trying to say that the expedition cost 3 million. That'd be 2.75 million on food, entertainment and accommodation for the blazers and the athletes staying in the Olympic village - no central heating, draughty windows and fast food joints - loads Chinese takeaways as well!

Every year after the Olympics ye get this navel gazing. I know what Loyal is saying and fair play to the people he mentioned. But the costs of bringing people to Beijing (some injured) should have been considered. But its all politics and back scratching and payback. Some people clearly should not have been there - its always the same! The boxing team should be the template for success.

Imagine the gravy train to London in 4 years time!! Now where's me curling sweeping brush gone ........

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 26/08/2008 14:52:09    85258

no posh but wish i was, gettin to old now for oxegen. been sayin for years must try it out, should be a deadly laugh, weather doesnt look too bad

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 26/08/2008 14:58:25    85271

daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 684 85208 has allistar crank ever been to ireland even?well i'll tell ye lads.....south africa can take him back. _________________________________________________ That is an immature post Daytona and it once again highlights your lack of knowledge on anything sports related. I get the feeling yourself and Eammon Coughlan would be well met. Allastair is a fine athlete and in no way deserves the criticism that the aforementioned levelled at him during the last week.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/08/2008 15:00:43    85275

jayo - your sweeping brush will be no use to you in London - Vancouver 2010 maybe!!!! Youd be better off headin out to dollymount with a size 4 o'neills and a wig.

Posh - I'll be there!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12451 - 26/08/2008 15:09:57    85297

RMDrive make that ?10,000,000 per medal.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 26/08/2008 15:18:49    85328

well indeed he does loyal and in my opinion he is only represeting ireland for the funding.once again i ask you the question has the lad ever been to ireland?lived in ireland?how irish is he?his comments aobut the media were a joke.and then when he finds out he qualified as the fastest loser he tried to back track.were you watching the final he competed in?i taught the commentators described it aptly when he dropped out.and i quote "allistair cragg gives up".he's not good enough,doesnt have the right frame of mind to be a top class sportsman and he would rather blame this on everyone else bar himself.well done to paul hession by the way.now theres a true olympian.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 26/08/2008 15:24:43    85341

Of course Breff - its the winter olympics! Right gonna get a big silver serving tray and qualify for that skeleton thing and try to emulate Clifton Wrottesley instead!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 26/08/2008 15:41:04    85387

See ye there lads, I'm guessing we'llbe the ones hanging around the screens showing the football haha! how the weather holds, it'll be some weekend.

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 26/08/2008 15:44:25    85400

Why don't we host the winter olympics, lets face it we have the weather for it 52 weeks of the year!!!

Ps im sure its been said here before but i ain't goin through all 570+ messages just to be certain.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/08/2008 15:47:38    85410