The Non GAA Thread

Ooooh yeah!

Lads, when it comes to the Olympics and the tough sports, just send the Dublin boys into the ring! Thats all we need!

In the famous words of Mr. Colm O'Rourke: "It takes the ould Dub, for the hard road!".

Like every Olympics boxing tournament before, its typical hardy Dublin boys are the ones to bring back the medals!

Well done to Barnes, like McCullough from Belfast before him!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/08/2008 15:27:00    82687

Snuf, ure an awful man :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/08/2008 15:32:02    82696

Well lads, fair play to Kenny. Did us proud.

I'm over in the UK (Unfortunately because cannot be at Croker) so watched it on BBC. Also listened to it on RTE.ie Radio 1. Jim Rock on RTE was saying that the Italians commentating beside himwere going mad about the judges because they've got a fighter up next against a chinese man in the super heavyweight final. They cannot see themselves beating the Chinese man and the judges.

Also the BBC commentary was disgusted with final score. Said that thee was complete bias on the side of the home man.

Well done Kenny though. Silver medal is mighty. I'm extremely proud of the 5 boxers, all beaten by finalists!! Fair due's to them.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 24/08/2008 09:25:41    83287

Late Olympic Result - Diving... Aidan O'Mahony (IRL) 9.98 pts Gold Medal

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/08/2008 00:10:12    83649

We can all now agree!

When it comes to the Olympics that the only team Ireland should enter is a boxing team!.....full of hardy Dubs!

Collins, Dunne, Caruth, Egan, Sutherland.....we have the fightin well and truly wrapped up in Dublin!....Sure what would ya expect from the decendants of the 1916 rebellion county!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/08/2008 10:32:22    83778

u mentioned that there a few days ago mate, would it not be just easier to copy and paste?

seanieGG (Meath) - Posts: 182 - 25/08/2008 11:55:16    83897

Aye snuff you're right about the boxing, but monaghan's not too bad when it comes to supplying boxers for the size of it, with wee barry, not to mention mcbride who retired tyson! Pity he's done damn all since though!

Seriously though, barry mcguigan's son shane is a boxer and seems to be doing fairly good seeing as he took it up late. He lives in england but is part of the clones boxing club so I wonder would he be a possibility to represent ireland at the next olympics.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 25/08/2008 11:55:32    83898

And Rinty ??

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 25/08/2008 12:12:55    83930

lads anyone ever been to prague/bratislavia/budapest before?trying to get a few lads together to go away early next year.any opinions on the three cities mentioned?thanks.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 25/08/2008 14:19:46    84142

JC, I'd say Rinty never even set foot in the county of Monaghan!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 25/08/2008 14:42:48    84178

You could be right there MMM!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 25/08/2008 15:04:03    84214

They believe Denis Lynch's horse Lantinus tested positive for a class hay drug.
there was also a high amount of testhorseazone in the horse.
they believed the second sample would come back neygetive.
by all accounts the horse is now in a stable condition

BOOM BOOM

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 25/08/2008 15:36:42    84274

Mid Mon Man. How can a good Monaghan man win a Commonwealth medal???

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 25/08/2008 16:17:36    84327

Here in the States the tv pundits are hopping mad about the refs. Barnes match is constantly being shown and recounted giving Barnes a win every time. Must say it's nice to see "foreign" sports analyists agree with us; can't be accused of being sore losers!

And daytona, for the love of God DO NOT go to Bratislava. It's a horrible city. Probably had great potential but Communism squatted and took a colossal dump on what was once a fine medieval town.

I repeat:

DO NOT go to Bratislava. Haven't been to Prague in years. It is a beautiful place, but I understand it's not as cheap as it used to be; but then again, where is!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3156 - 25/08/2008 16:22:03    84333

Oh, and I've never been to Budapest, but I hear it's full of Hungarians, if that's any help.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3156 - 25/08/2008 16:29:23    84339

RHODEJIM.....

Is the horse liable to go to jail?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 25/08/2008 16:29:51    84341

Festinog - presume its Kenny Egan bout they're talking about as distinct from Barnes???

ps Budapest is a nice city but also not cheap!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 25/08/2008 16:38:32    84349

daytona,

I have been to all 3 cities you have mentioned back in 2001 before the 'Euro' and before any of those countries had joined the EU!
I was inter-railing around Eastern Europe as a student in 2001 and was on a walking tour of Berlin on Sept 11th!

All the cities were cheap when I was there but here goes.

Prague: Typical stag do type place. A beautiful city though.

The twin cities of Buda and Pest resting on the Danube is a fantastic city! I stayed in the hostel with the 24 hour bar and drank in it for 23 of those hours!....That was a strange feeling!
Great place about 3 bus rides away from the city called 'Statue Park' where they housed all the old statues after the fall of communism. I often wondered if we should have housed all the old Brit statues in a park like that, but the wonder doesnt last long as I am glad we destroyed as many of them as possible!

Bratislava: I must strongly agree with festinog on this one!
This is one of the most disgusting cities I have ever been in. Run down, deserted, buildings in the communist Gulag style, devoid of colour, people are soulless! You will struggle to spend Eu20.
We got into the city about 6pm and found a 'hostel' then took a walk for something to do. After 10min we returned to the hostel and went to bed early just to catch up on sleep from the earlier wilds of Budapest! Next morning (saturday) at 9am planned on going to the castle up on the hill but we thought we were breaking some communist curfew cos the streets were deserted!....Got the hell outta there fast to one of the most wealthy cities I have ever seen...Vienna!

Other cities: Krakow....A mini Prauge.....Fantastic!....visit Auschwitz if ye can handle it!
Zagreb: V good also
Lubljana: Quiet but nice!
Gdansk / (Danzig): Whole lotta nuthin goin on!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/08/2008 17:10:20    84389

Denzel, Barry McGuigan lived literally on the border in clones and had dual citizenship with the north and south, so he's a british citizen aswell as an irish one. This is how he was able to represent northern ireland at the commonwealth games and win gold. Obviously he couldn't go there with the republic, but obviously that was a big opportunity for him to win something and he duly obliged. He went on to represent ireland in the 1980 olympics if you recall. He always said that he was fighting for both parts of ireland, and he received some criticism for doing this during a time when the troubles was near its height.

Doesn't change the fact he's a monaghan man first and foremost though!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 25/08/2008 17:36:53    84424

I see R.T.E. are showing that rubbish " The Rose of Tralee " again for two nights. I find it demeaning to women and cannot see how it is popular at all. A waste of time and money i might add. It has outstayed its welcome.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/08/2008 20:03:38    84498