The Non GAA Thread

North Side Gael

81553 Aye its wild all these horses, theres loads running around belfast flying off there heads up to anti social behaviour. I reckon something needs done!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

They are horses! I though they were girls from North Belfast

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 21/08/2008 16:28:43    81858

You tryin to be cute?!?!?!

Katie Taylor

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 21/08/2008 16:34:02    81871

Andy townsend.remember Italia 90 and Scillachi??

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/08/2008 16:40:59    81882

I blame the horses myself, whether the doping is intentional or non intentional.

Maybe our showjumbers should give some of our Friesens or Herefords a go in London 2012. Check out Lumville Danois 2 for instance who won best cow in show at the Virginia Show yesterday. Manages to squeeze out 11,000 litres of Bainne per annum. Yes, thats 11 Tons of milk and not a sign of any performance enhancing pharmaceuticals.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 21/08/2008 17:03:13    81923

Breffni39 there are no flies on ye Cavan boyos.

dwinkle (Longford) - Posts: 176 - 22/08/2008 10:56:23    82277

Bad defeat for sutherland this morning, but he's still got a medal so well done lad! Hopefully the other two lads later on can do better but barnes has an awful hard fight by all accounts, so egan is our best chance of something better.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 22/08/2008 11:03:41    82284

Didn't get to see it but I know the score.... but what way did the Sutherland fight go? Did he go chasing the game too early?

CeltMan (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 22/08/2008 11:04:39    82285

21/08/2008 13:59:34
Liamwalkinstown

81629 I reckon Shergar is over in Columbia "cooking up a storm" and sending home the profits..... ;)

brilliant Liam!

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 22/08/2008 11:07:21    82291

Off topic I know, but were any of ye at the Metallica gig in Marlay park Wedenesday night?

Was some craic, great crowd too! Place went mental for whiskey in the Jar!

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 22/08/2008 11:17:39    82303

bad defeat for sutherland alright.but the chap has an olympic medal so thats good.its true what the lad he was fighting said after the bout.easy.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/08/2008 11:30:14    82327

Not off topic at all spuddy, it is the non-gaa thread after all!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 22/08/2008 11:31:22    82328

have to say i felt sorry for paddy barnes near the end.what a hiding.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/08/2008 12:18:47    82403

Question: What's the difference between a Dublin GAA jersey and
a school uniform??
Answer: You can see school uniforms in September.

Question: Did you hear about the Dublin bra?
Answer: All support and no cup!!

Question: What do you say to a Dub on All-Ireland Final day?
Answer: 2 hot dogs please

Question: Whats blue and navy and goes beep, beep, beep?
Answer: Dublins's open top bus reversing back into the garage!!!

Question: What do you call a Dublin man with an all Ireland
medal?
Answer: An antique dealer!

Question: What Dublin's national anthem?
Answer: What's another year!

Paul Caffrey was arrested last night after vandalising a
cigarette machine, he replied by saying he was in a bad way for 20
players!!

Question: How does a Dublin man become a Millionaire?
Answer: By saving for the All Ireland.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/08/2008 12:53:51    82456

Now I may have a reputation on this website for what I about to post but I think most who watched the Paddy Barnes' fight will agree with me.

The scoring was basically a joke. The Chinese lad won on a scoreline of 15-0. But I seen four or five perfect punches from the Irishman and yet none of them scored and I was only half looking at the telly. The best man won, obviously, but the finalscore pays a serious lack of justice to Paddy Barnes. To say he never caught his opponent with a punch is ludricous but that is what the result suggests.

The judges are plainly influenced by the crowd. A new system needs to be brought for occasions like this to make sure all boxers are treated fairly in respect of the scoring. I do not have any suggestions myself but there needs to be a change.

I hope a similiar fate does not behold Kenny Egan either as both Barnes and Sutherland have been the subject of some dodgy decisions.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/08/2008 12:58:57    82463

Spin off from Cavan_slashers Knickname thread
Didn't want to dirty the main board with a soccer knickname so decided to stick it in here!

One quite funny one was from Jason McAteer who was playing for Man City or some outfit at the time. This guy Msampa joined them and they knicknamed him "Chris" to make "Chris Msampa".

Well it sounded good done in the Liverpool accent anyway or maybe I've been drinking too much peroxide again...

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 22/08/2008 13:30:09    82494

Totally agree Loyal. As NSG would tell ya no man from Belfast ever had an eight minute fight where he didn't land a punch!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 22/08/2008 14:10:17    82557

Well done Ken Egan. The Dubs have somthing to cheer,going for gold. Congrats to sutherland and Barnes also,you have done us proud.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 22/08/2008 14:31:47    82578

Didn't see the fight but judging by the reactions of many(including yourself loyal), and the fact that barnes is a much better boxer than that scoreline would suggest, it does seem the chinese boxer got a bit of home support from the judges. Will look forward to seeing it tonight and then make my own judgement on it, but barnes was livid after the fight, saying he was getting drug-tested and the judges should too!

On a positive note kenny egan is just after hammering jeffries in his semi-final to secure at least a silver, and judging by his performances so far he may well be dissapointed with anything other than the gold. Get in there kenny, you've done us proud!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 22/08/2008 14:34:22    82582

Come on you Boy in Blue :) How cool was that! Watched it around a computer here in work, one auld one, Breda, and seven roaring blokes.....when it was over Breda says to us..Where was the other fella from....Britain I said, brilliant she said....what part....England I said.....EXCELLENT she says :)
Classic!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/08/2008 14:34:45    82583

Usain Bolt and his Jamaican team-mates break another world record in the 4*100 meter relay.

Keane16 (Kerry) - Posts: 306 - 22/08/2008 15:13:36    82667