The Non GAA Thread

Loyal

When was the last time they had a box off? I go back a long way and I don't remember one. Certainly Jim McCourt who won a bronze in Tokyo didn't have to box off and that's not today or yesterday. If there ever was one I would hazard a guess that it was pre war. Berlin or earlier. Anyone out there who knows for definite.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 19/08/2008 17:13:00    79592

I thought I remembered them happening in Athens????? Appears I am wrong - for once.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 19/08/2008 17:30:14    79611

well if there not allowed to have a box off for third/fourth place then how come there allowed to have a final for silver and gold??these two lads could be in a bad way aswell even after winning.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/08/2008 17:36:04    79623

Real Ard Ri

Think its always been the way - they only changed it in other contact sports recently to give bronze to both semi finalists. Incidentally boxing did not feature in the 1912 Olympics in Stockholm because it was banned under Swedish law at the time!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/08/2008 17:37:28    79627

Hold on there Daytona - I'll just put in a call for you there ..........ring, ring, ring, ring

Hello - zis eez Jacques Rogge .. who eez there please?
Eh... Jack - howya Jayo here - I'm actually a Jack too! Listen I know you're up to your ****** in Beijing but Daytona wants to know how come the guys who win their semi-finals have to fight again for Gold?

Ah zis is a good question yes. We usually find that ze boxers are happy when ze win zee semi that they have a chance of gold medals in the honour of their country and to see ze flags and listen to their national athem.

But how come the boxers who lost their semis get medals then?

Well zumtimes they will have got the sheet knocked outta of them and are not really in the mental position to fight.

Ho hum - thanks for that Jacques ...............

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/08/2008 17:49:54    79640

sorry jayo i didnt understand a word of that.english next time.thanks.good lad.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/08/2008 17:55:06    79654

Haha Jayo, I had a wee chuckle at that!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 19/08/2008 18:00:48    79664

.Before Jim McCourt in 1964, Caldwell and Gilroy in 1956 with bronze, I personally can't remember a box-off for bronze.

Barnes is fighting the world champ who happens to be from China. Getting a decision there will be harder than an Immaculata club fighter from Belfast getting a decision in Dublin. It used to be said that if you were from Belfast you had to knock your opponent out to get a draw in Dublin.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/08/2008 22:55:37    79869

It used to be said that if you were from Belfast you had to knock your opponent out to get a draw in Dublin.
patrique , 19/08/2008 at 22:55

Is that the GAA or the boxing patrique?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/08/2008 23:14:52    79882

I just want to ask this. The Olympics is for amateurs and yet professional tennis players like Nadal and Federer and professional basketball and soccer players are given the chance to win a gold medal. Boxers have to be amateur why do they not have to be amateur in these sports. Should Padraig Harrington and Bernard Dunne not be given the chance if thats the case?

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 19/08/2008 23:22:24    79884

Both. They absolutely hate us from the "Black North", especially Belfast, as we make the Dubs look like culchies.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/08/2008 23:43:22    79897

jayo cluxton is a legend!

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 19/08/2008 23:52:38    79900

Heading tomorrow to Dublin for the Killers concert in Marlay park.
Just wondering do any of you Dublin folk or anyone thats been to a concert there know if it is easy enough to get to and back from the city centre?

Tir_Na_nOg (Antrim) - Posts: 210 - 20/08/2008 09:25:30    79994

its boxing jayo.your trying to be to smart there.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/08/2008 09:57:11    80024

Tir_Na_nOg the 48A runs from the city centre via ranelagh, milltown etc. to the venue. Its fairly frequent too about every 10 minutes. Im headin to it myself should be a cracker.

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 20/08/2008 10:41:29    80107

Clash-of-da-ash

The reason that some (most) of the Olympic sports have professionals competing in them is that the IOC have delegated the setting of qualifying critia to the respective governing bodies of each sport. Pretty much every sport (which is normally professional) in the Olympics is now competed for by professionals. Boxing is an exception, rather than the rule, because it is the AIBA which has been given responsibility for the eligibility rules for Boxing and the AIBA caters exclusively for amateur boxing

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 20/08/2008 11:58:32    80245

Awesome display from Darren Sutherland - a 9-1 rout of the world number 2! These boxers are sure proving the 'fighting Irish' tag! From the displays (I think and hope) it doesn't finish at 3 bronzes!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 20/08/2008 13:30:34    80447

Cheers mayonews, yeh it should be cannot wait, leavin work here shortly and then home to get the fridge stalked up with booze for the road down in the morning.

Tir_Na_nOg (Antrim) - Posts: 210 - 20/08/2008 13:46:30    80464

Well done to darren sutherland, absolutely destroyed his opponent 11-1, who won the silver medal in the last world championships. A fanstastic performance which now means ireland will have three boxing medals. He now meets british boxer james degale in the semi. Immense credit must go to billy walsh and his team, they have done a fantastic job and more is still to come. This is a great time for irish boxing.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 20/08/2008 14:09:26    80500

JayoCluxton it was 11-1, I know the ref didn't see Whelans punch last Saturday but for you to miss 2???
Great result for Sutherland and it places us at least 70th on the medals table.

dwinkle (Longford) - Posts: 176 - 20/08/2008 14:20:23    80516