The Non GAA Thread

You see Mayonews - you're really not looking for advice here. You're looking for someone's blessing to keep pouring your money down the drain at the weekend and having nothing to show for it!! Go for it - did it for nearly twenty years meself!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 16:48:36    75029

is it true that newspapers in dublin have more pictures in them than in other counties?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/08/2008 17:15:25    75063

No the same. Contrary to what some believe when the big lorry delivering the papers goes outside the Dublin border a lot of photos don't fall off. If you want to check this go to somewhere along the Kildare-Dublin border - preferrably a spot where big lorries that deliver newspapers travel - you will notice a complete lack of photographs blowing around the vicinity. So really its the same amount of photos but a really good subject to broach nonetheless!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 17:19:02    75067

Horse

I fully understand that Georgia are not innocent victims in this at all. There's considerable uncertainty over what actually started the conflict, Georgia claim Russian-armed rebel groups began attacking villages on the Georgian side of the border, provoking them to enter South Ossetia. The Russians and South Ossetians claim that Georgia came in without provocation. Now my head is telling me that there's probably some truth to both sides, and the most likely scenario is that Georgia used some minor scuffles as a pretex for trying to regain control of South Ossetia. (to use your analogy, the UDA attack a garda patrol in Co. Donegal, so we invade the North)
Where my problem lies is that Russia, after securing South Ossetia, continued to invade the rest of Georgia, and siezed several towns and villages, one fairly major port as well as a section of the oil pipeline that runs through Georgia. (Following the analogy, the Brits boot us out of the North, and continue down to seize the Corrib gas field).
To any rational observer there is there is the implication that Russia, much like the Georgians at the outset, have used the conflict as an excuse to further their own aims. Even after declaring a cease-fire, there are reports from international journalists in the area that Russian troops/South Ossetian militia are still attacking people within Georgia, and their are reports of villages being looted and civilians being murdered if they challange the looters.
I'm not pro-America, and I'm certainly not a supporter of the war in Iraq. I'm just sick of these protest groups who are constantly climbing onto their moral high horses (no offence to your good self intended), yet who really are all about promoting their own political (usually socialist, anti-capitalism or anti-American) agendas.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2008 17:21:31    75070

sorry jayo i should have been clearer.i heard that the dubs cant read so well so they just put more pictures in the papers for them.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/08/2008 17:32:41    75084

Yeah and I heard ya Daytona hence the flippant reply. Jeeze sometimes I dunno why I bother!

ps you have a real downer on us poor ould Dubs for some reason - let it go lad!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 17:40:54    75095

its only a bit of craic jayo!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/08/2008 17:47:45    75106

Watching Usain Bolt in the 100m was just incredible, what speed, and he really won pulling up. God knows what time he could have made if he ran the full 100. Such a relaxed attitude also, they were remarking about him before the final how he was the only one warming up without tights and so not keeping his legs as warm as possible, and was celebrating the win in the last 10m! Wouldn't be the biggest athletics expert but that was just incredible to see.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/08/2008 15:49:09    76383

What can you say... Fernando Torres, Liverpool's number 9... What a guy, what a goal. Also Xabi Alonso, super performance. Big push this year from the reds hopefully!!!

As for Bolt, WOW!!! It's quite funny to watch him run :D

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 16/08/2008 21:32:58    76575

Yes Usain absolutey Bolted in. Once again, Asaafa failed to deliver but he would not have bet Usain even at his best. But back to Usain, its not often shivers are sent down your spine after watching a sporting event, but they were after watching the 100m final. Well done Usain.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 16/08/2008 21:37:54    76581

Bolt was unbelievable wasnt he, its crazy to think how fast he could run if he went for it the whole way

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 17/08/2008 13:40:53    76794

why is this page here. there are plenty of other sites.no need to pollute this site aswell

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 17/08/2008 17:53:14    76903

Well these couple of days times keep getting better and better. After I seen Michael Phelps win the 100m butterfly by one hundredth of a second, I thought this will be moment of the Beijing Olympics. I was wrong, because along comes Usain and smashes the world record to pieces in a canter and I thought what an incredible performance - surely that can't be toped. Then Kenesia Bekele steps forward and marks himself down as arguably the greatest sportsperson in the world with a superb run in Mens 10,000m. What a performance from the Ethopian - he was simply incredible.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 17/08/2008 18:52:01    76947

Oi. maigh_eo. Back in your box lad. We have a designated place for all this ráiméis for a reason so leave the in depth critique of the HS system out of it

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/08/2008 23:30:50    77141

Athenry, County Galway - home of the fastest white man in the world. Well done Paul Hession. And it looks likely that he will be the only white man in the final of 200m. We salute Paul.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 18/08/2008 14:38:25    77855

Bolt has some speed alright..to win it while jogging the last 15meters is astonishing. and what will he do to michael johnsons 200m record which is bolts specialist event.he will smash that record aswel and if he ran the 400m i couldnt see anyone to touch him in that either. and to think he has only been training properly for the last year for the 100m. on rte they said he used to be a real nite club merchant who didnt train properly or look after himself. look at him now..fastest man on earth by a long way.

and bekele.thought we'd never see another gabreselaise again..but he is the best in the world.

howshecuttin (Longford) - Posts: 376 - 18/08/2008 15:07:22    77935

Fair play to my fellow NUI Galway alumnus Paul Hession. Only caucasian left in mens 200m. Love if he made the final!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 18/08/2008 15:08:33    77941

Great win for Paul Hession today now the worlds fastest white man and lets hope he makes it to the final.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 18/08/2008 20:08:50    78438

horse, this geogia war is just a trial run, Ukraine is what they really want, judging by the reaction so far, it wont be a problem for the russians when they do invade.
by the way, ive been away for a while, any reports on how we did in the european curling championships, held in finland, we got hammered by england, but heard nothing since

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/08/2008 23:02:37    78623

maigh_eo

76903 why is this page here. there are plenty of other sites.no need to pollute this site aswell

have you no hay to be turning, this site is way too serious for you

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/08/2008 23:05:09    78628