The Non GAA Thread

did ya see the lad dislocating his arm in olympic weight liftin??? bit the rough

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 13/08/2008 13:22:17    73380

Please allow this Mr. Editor-I've seen worse posts on this website. This is my fourth time to try and post it.

All, just to remind those that are interested, that the premier league starts this weekend and that Dannymc from Down has set up a fantasy football league for Hoganstand users. Sure its only a bit of craic to keep us occupied over the winter time. Details are displayed below.

Dannymc
County: Down

62024 I have set up a fantasy football league (although i'm sure there will be people who go on about this being a gaelic site wth no place for soccer, well its only a bit of craic and its in the non gaa thread).

This link is http://fantasy.premierleague.com once you have logged in and entered your team, click on the 'Leagues' link you can find on the the right of the page. Now enter the code 287037-82369 to join the private league.

Welcome to all!!

green and gold (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 13/08/2008 13:35:06    73394

I wouldn't know much about swimming in the olympics but this phelps lad is unbelievable, after breaking the all-time record for olympic golds.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/08/2008 14:19:07    73460

The Olympics. I swore I wouldnt pay them much heed yet Im already engrossed in swimming-Phelps you human dolphin you, Gymnastics-How in the name of all that is holy do they do they do them twists on the pommel horse and the boxin-Cmon double John Joe. The controversy is already part of it...2 of Chinas female gymnastics team are below the age limit of 16..hahaaha. The wieghtlifters are so hardcore. If ya thought the GAA had bad injuries..check this out.. [url=]linkhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-SbdmcZim8 ...Oh God!!!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 13/08/2008 16:03:58    73741

Finglas was hit badly by the floods over the weekend. Victims were seen wandering around aimlessly muttering ' Whaas da bleeeding Story ?' 'aaaaaawright bud' and ****sake'. The flooding decimated the area causing approximately 30 euro worth of damage. Several priceless collections of mementos from Benidorm and Santa Ponsa were damaged beyond repair. Three areas of historic burnt cars were destroyed. Many locals were woken well before their welfare cheque arrived. RTE News reported that hundreds of residents were confused and bewildered, still trying to come to the terms with the fact that the damage had not been caused by illegal means. One resident : Alexis Crystal Duffy, a 15 year old mother of 5 said 'It was such a ****** shock, me little wan Chardonnay Mercedes cem runnin inta me bedruem cryin, Me youngisst two Tyler Morgan an Megan Brooklyn slept tru ih all. But I was bleeedin shaken watchin ****** Rikki Laaake in da mornin' Apparently though, looting, muggings and incidental crime did carry on as usual. The Irish Red Cross has so far managed to ship 4,000 crates of Strongbow, Dutch Gold, Frozen Pizzas, and John Player Blue to the area to help stricken locals. Rescue workers are still searching through the rubble and have found large quantities of personal belongings, which include Welfare Books and Jewellery including thousands of Sovereign Rings, many large Medallions and Hash Leaf Shaped earrings from Elizabeth Duke at Argos also Fine Bone China from Tommy's Wonderland of Value. This Appeal is to raise money for food and clothing Parcels for those unfortunate enough to be caught up in this disaster. Clothing is most sought after, items most needed include: Fake Burberry or Kappa Baseball Caps Hoodies (any type) Tommy Hilfiger Tracks Suits (his and hers) Nike/Adidas Shell Suits (female) White Donnay Sports Socks Rockport Boots (and any other items usually sold in TK Maxx) Anything from Magic or Unique Food Parcels may be harder to come by as refrigeration may be a problem, but are needed all the same. Required Foodstuffs include: McCains Oven Chips Heinz Baked Beans Goodfellas Frozen Pizzas Coke/Fanta Strongbow Cider Smirnoff Ice John Player Blue 15s And Remember That Your Cash Contribution Also Counts!!! Just 22c buys a biro for filling in the compensation forms and Bookies slips Just 5 euro buys chips, crisps and blue fizzy drinks for a family of 9 Only 6 euro will pay for a packet of 20 Major to calm the nerves of those affected. Thank You Very Much For Your Help.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 14/08/2008 08:06:21    74187

as for the premier league title race who do the board fancy for the title this term

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 14/08/2008 09:16:03    74218

Accrington Stanley to gain promotion and tackle the Abramovich train

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 14/08/2008 12:12:21    74511

i dont know what a tracker mortgage is....any idea??

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/08/2008 14:26:17    74737

Daytona - A tracker mortgage is a variable rate mortgage, that tracks the European Central Bank rate. So its set at ECB rate plus an extra 'markup' from the financial institution - these will vary depending on how greedy they want to be - check them carefully cos some are fixed and don't rise for the life of the mortgage.

In reality all mortgages are tracker though. Cos if you miss a few payments, they'll track you down, drag your sorry and poor little ass into the Courts, leave with your keys, you car, your dignity and anything else they think might be worth a few bob - and your missus will have already left you by this stage anyway! And no - none of this happened to me ..... yet!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 14:50:56    74795

Anybody notice how all the anti-war groups are surprisingly silent on the Russia-Georgia conflict?

I seem to remember a situation a few years back when a large super-power invaded a smaller country, and every crusty hippy in the counrty was out protesting, along with support from all of the "socialist" parties. Why no outcry this time? Is it because there's one rule for their Russian idols, and another one for the "evil capitalists"? Or is it just a case of people looking for an excuse to America-bash at every opportunity, and not being interested if someone else is involved?

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2008 15:03:26    74820

jayo i have some disposable income i dont know what to do with it any advice. Im keepin away from all these mortgage yokes after your last post...

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 14/08/2008 15:04:21    74823

the missus leaving you wouldnt be the worst thing!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/08/2008 15:04:59    74825

come on everton il be at the derby this year and if i can get near stevie g il do wat the red **** did to phil neville it used to be fairly friendly at the derby game but the red **** really got it going at anfield last year

winwin (Louth) - Posts: 163 - 14/08/2008 15:05:14    74827

mayonews... buy Bank of Ireland shares. The company is seriously undervalued at the minute, and is suffering due to poor market sentiment. The price they are at now is a bargain, and they will be sailing again in three or four years time.
They are currently trading at a market capitalisation of approx ?5.8 billion (i.e. if you were to buy every share currently in issue at the current market price it would cost you ?5.8 billion).
Their net assets alone per their last financial statements (to 31/03/2008) were ?6.5 billion. Basically, if you sold off all the company's assets, and paid off all of its debts, there would still be ?6.5 billion left over.
It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see that the shares are worth mroe than they currently cost. Also, shares prices tend to factor in an excess above net asset valuation to allow for future profits, so as the global credit crunch eases (possibly a year or two away) expect to see market sentiment improve and BOI shares shoot up again.
However, I would expect them to improve a bit in the short term too. BOI has a strong balanec sheet, and as the speculative bubble in commodities (oil, metals, etc) seems to be coming to an end, I would expect to see some money flowing into the stronger looking companies on the markets.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2008 15:21:25    74865

Meant to add:

black&white is not responsible for investment decisions made on black&white's advice. The value of investments may go up as well as down. black&white is not registered with the Financial Regulator. black&white is not authorised by anyone to carry on an investment business, or to provide investment advice.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2008 15:23:11    74871

winwin. The derby used to be clean u say..??? Well it used to be a contest aswell before Evertons neighbours, or should I say overlords began to dispose of them quite easily. C'mon the Pool..well be eatin Toffee at Goodison and at Anfield this year. YNWA

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 14/08/2008 15:39:02    74902

jayo i have some disposable income i dont know what to do with it any advice. Im keepin away from all these mortgage yokes after your last post...
mayonews , 14/08/2008 at 15:04

That old disposable income one always gets me! What exactly is it? I know what disposable nappies are and disposable gloves and syringes - but income? So if ye go on the skite at the weekend and spend euro 400 in Coppers, taxis, kebab joints and a lap dance - I think they call that your disposable income. If ye pay the bills that come in with it instead (i.e ESB, Visa, Ireland's Own annual subscription) - it becomes your expenditure. Or say a man like yourself that has (for example) around euro 200 a week which is burning a hole in his pocket - and ye go and buy yourself an 08 MO Beemer with repayments of euro 1,000 a month - your disposable income has now become a liability - and has given you indisposable income of euro200 a month! See its not as easy as it looks!

What I do is pay all the bills. Give herself the few bob for the shopping and a fiver to get the hair done every so often. Now what I have left in my pocket is what I call my beer money. Its not disposable income - its beer money. How you invest this is crucial. You have seven nights to get maximum stretch out of it - to make sure you have enough for the ciggies as well and the Solpos! You may have to make crunch decisions - such as 6 cans for a tenner in the local offie on one or two nights but you'll soon get the hang of it. When you master the art of getting the seven nights out of it you can sell the TV cos you're never home and the savings on this and the licence will further boost your 'beer' income. So this 'disposable income' concept is something that George Lee or D McWilliams have thought up - like the Celtic Tiger it doesn't exist!

Now if it shares you're after wait until one f the biggies takes a hit (eg Elan) and get in and bathe your feet. They always come good again after the initial market panic (exact same thing happened before) and you'll be quids in!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 14/08/2008 15:41:36    74907

black&white
County: Sligo

74820 Anybody notice how all the anti-war groups are surprisingly silent on the Russia-Georgia conflict?

I seem to remember a situation a few years back when a large super-power invaded a smaller country, and every crusty hippy in the counrty was out protesting, along with support from all of the "socialist" parties. Why no outcry this time? Is it because there's one rule for their Russian idols, and another one for the "evil capitalists"? Or is it just a case of people looking for an excuse to America-bash at every opportunity, and not being interested if someone else is involved?

Eh....i dont know how much attention you were paying, but it was the georgians who invaded the semi autonomous south ossetia region. The south ossestians were then protected by their russian allies in the face of the georgian aggression. Georgia are actually americas (and to an extent, the EUs) ally - hence why the media coverage has been consistently painting russia as the bad guy in all this.

I wouldnt be surprised to hear that the russians had provoked the conflict, but certainly the georgians were naive if they thought anyone was gonna fight world war III to save them. Anyway, from what i understand (limited), the majority of south ossetians are ethnic russians with russian passports.
It would be like if we invaded the north then started whinging when the uk gave us a hammering. (except worse because only about 30% of s.o.'s consider themselve georgian.

its quite interesting to hear the irish government coming out making statements about respect for georgias sovereignty, at the same time as georgia have no respect for the democratic choice of south ossetia to remain semi autonomous. just shows you how much nonsense we are fed and how 'independant' we are. normally id have no time for the ruskys (because they are psychos) but in this case i have to say fair play.

What would have happened the ethnic russians if there hadnt been anyone there to protect them? Its not beyond the realms of possibility to consider some degree of ethnic cleansing could have taken place...

So to answer your question, the reason no one is really protesting etc against russia is because deep down behind the propaganda they know the georgians are probably the bad guy.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 14/08/2008 15:47:52    74914

Dannymc
County: Down

I've entered there as Atletico Andy, this should be a bit of banter...

Enrico (Dublin) - Posts: 148 - 14/08/2008 15:59:41    74933

Jay yep that disposable word is just too hard to define... What i mean is spare cash that i really should be spendin on some class of a woman but thats too much hassle. Being exiled in dub isnt easy for a man such as myself with all the temptaions out there. Flippin o'donoghues, kehoes, flannerys,coppers and zaytoon just keep draggin me back week on week and i cant get enough of it. Its being trapped in a beautiful stereotype. But then if youve a woman on the go you get rid of all that and spend the dough on her so ya cant win. Glad its thursday again so i can hit for an assortment of the aforementioned holy quintuplet of establishments....

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 14/08/2008 16:31:05    74977