The Non GAA Thread

Yeah sorry in my usual rush to be helpful I was not aware of latest developments! Its a Messi situation though!!! Bottom line - iF Blatter thinks players should play in the Olympics then they shouldn't - the man is a buffoon. And some of ye think Nicky is bad! If it was me I wouldn't let him play - gold medal me ass - Olympic gold for soccer !! Wow !! Like the multi millionaire tennis players winning gold. The ould corinthian ethos of amateur sportsmen and women with noble ideals is long gone - poor old Baron Pierre de Coubertin must be spinning in the grave. Next thing you'll have GAA players looking to be paid! :-)

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 07/08/2008 11:56:00    67630

i am back how are all the posters keeping

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 08/08/2008 17:27:50    69427

I have got the nod for Cheveux Loco in the 7.00 at Kilbeggan on Saturday evening, it is a complete outsider and would look to have no chance but apparantly is going to win. I seem to have good luck when I post horses' names on this board so you can heed my advice or pass no remarks.

Please do not take it as gospel that this will win but the source is normally very accurate so its up to you, I will be filling my boots as they say.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 08/08/2008 23:09:20    69593

how are the olympics going for ireland

any chance of a medal this time round

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 10/08/2008 22:19:43    70362

Padraig Harrington - Irish sportsman of the year

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 11/08/2008 00:31:28    70421

Congrats Padraig Harrington again this now must be the greatest achievement ever by an Irish sportsman well done.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 11/08/2008 08:35:47    70461

Paddy Harrington!! The boy is brilliant. 3 majors and counting. He deserves all the credit he gets. A great Irish sportsman.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 11/08/2008 10:16:16    70542

Congrats to P Harrington. Not only Irish sportsman of the year, but in my mind he is one of, if not the greatest Irish sportsman of all time!!

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 11/08/2008 10:37:53    70573

Quite simply the greatest irish sportsman of all time. His agression, poise, ability and sportsmanship is something unique. He is producing his best golf when the pressure is at its highest - the back nine on a sunday major. His last two victories have been tiger like. We could not ask for a better ambassador on an international stage. Cherish these days...

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 11/08/2008 10:52:30    70597

Yep, good chance of a medal from the boxers!.....When hardy Dublin lads are boxin so always a good chance of a medal!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/08/2008 11:24:07    70632

roy keane is the greatest sportsman to come out of ireland but open to the boards view

on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 11/08/2008 22:30:22    71507

Ireland usually do well in the boxing. I here there are a couple of real handy fighters

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 12/08/2008 10:38:31    71710

Eoin Rheinisch was very unlucky this morning, he just missed out on a bronze in the kayaking. Fair play to him though, he did us proud.

Banisteoir (Louth) - Posts: 60 - 12/08/2008 11:56:49    71826

Or Westmeath boxers ha!

paddym123 (Meath) - Posts: 367 - 12/08/2008 12:38:16    71887

Totally incorrect on the fence. Sean Kelly has been the best Irish sports person of all time. World No.1 for about 10 years when there were some serious cyclists around.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 745 - 12/08/2008 13:40:22    72028

id back up that roy keane point on the fence. what a man.

seanieGG (Meath) - Posts: 182 - 12/08/2008 13:46:19    72041

Serious performance from Andrew Bree in the 200m Breaststroke. Made the semi after coming first in his heat. Serious possibility for the final!

Reinisch did really well and can be dissapointed with no medal.

Hope John Joe Nevin gives it welly in the Bantomwieght first round today. Serious medal hopes in boxing.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 12/08/2008 14:20:45    72107

Congrats to Padraig Harrington on winning the US PGA. It was a thrilling finish to watc

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 12/08/2008 20:21:51    72732

Please allow this Mr. Editor-I've seen worse posts on this website. This is my fourth time to try and post it.

All, just to remind those that are interested, that the premier league starts this weekend and that Dannymc from Down has set up a fantasy football league for Hoganstand users. Sure its only a bit of craic to keep us occupied over the winter time. Details are displayed below.

Dannymc
County: Down

62024 I have set up a fantasy football league (although i'm sure there will be people who go on about this being a gaelic site wth no place for soccer, well its only a bit of craic and its in the non gaa thread).

This link is http://fantasy.premierleague.com once you have logged in and entered your team, click on the 'Leagues' link you can find on the the right of the page. Now enter the code 287037-82369 to join the private league.

Welcome to all!!

green and gold (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 13/08/2008 10:29:39    73095

Stephen Ireland needs a kick in the behind. Spoiled little brat. And Andy O'Brien taking the huff cause he got slated for poor performances? Grow a pair FFS.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 13/08/2008 10:39:27    73106