The Non GAA Thread

Well said Snuf and if every country in the EU were allowed a democratic vote like us on the treaty there would be a resounding NO. Amazing when people who preach on democracy cannot accept it.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 13/06/2008 15:50:23    32554

Loyal 2 da royal

The will of the irish people is unreal and they demand the best all the time this treaty is not the best for the irish people.

Im sure the likes of yourself would join the UK again provided it looked like it would benefit financially.

Fair play to everyone who voiced there opinion this is what the irish republic was created for, a freedom of speech which means every voice counts not just that of 166/160 TD's if it was that way it wouldnt be a real republic.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 13/06/2008 15:52:18    32559

joining up with the uk is irrevelant, but btw, i would be just against it as you but thats beyond the point. ireland was at the heart of all this treaty business, bertie and brian cowan all had a big say in the writing up of this treaty. everything we wanted (that was reasonable) was debated well by our lads and they got it and what do then we go and do - through it back in their faces. i believe the rest of europe will see us as a bit of a joke now. we make up less than 1% of europe's population but we will still be the reason europe doesn't go forward. once again, i would like to say, i don't know a whole lot about this type of thing but the above is the way i see it at the minute and im sure that is the way europe will see it.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 13/06/2008 16:27:42    32585

Lads, this vote aint about Europe!
Irish people are very much Pro-Europe!
This is about the Irish people not being sold a dummy!
Most people do not know much about the treaty but when they simply seen the glaring 'dummy' they were being sold by the govt they said: "Hold on a minute, dont you dare try and take me for a mugg!".
That, gentlemen is what happened!.....Not a 'NO' to Europe!

I am absolutely delighted and I now hope that 160 out of 166 politicians face a vote of no confidence!
The Irish people have asserted their power over the government and shown them that even though 98% of Dail Eireann support this treaty, you will NOT spin it off to the Irish people as a 'by the way'!
Will Cowan step down over this hammer blow to this administration?....NO! because this is not like the UK parliament where people actually do the honourable thing!....Here we have cowards out to save their own jobs!
All party leaders should now step down!
YES!....They failed to lead the country did they not???!!!!

Democracy!........every now and again it works!!

Well done to the people who voted NO because you have asserted yourselves and not allowed yerselves be bought over by the 'guilt trip' of having taken from Europe for long enough.
We never started a war or threatened or bullied any country in our lives.
We built the whole world with our bare hands.
We provide more troops to peacekeeping per head of armed forces than any other country in the world and the same for donating money to charity and we deserve everything we have achieved!

No other country only the stuipid Paddies would put itself under a 'guilt trip'!

Wake Up the lot of ye......Grow a pair.....and stop being made fools of just because ye wanna fit the slot and maintain the status quo!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 13/06/2008 16:27:56    32586

Well we're rightly in toruble now! The No vote came about for two reasons: 1. A very poor Yes campaign, which revolved mainly around countering whatever Libertas said, and not actually explaining what the Treaty meant, if people actually understood what was in the Treaty it would have received much stronger support 2. Dissatisfaction with the Government, leading to a No vote in protest (pretty short-term thinking, as it is us, the voters, who are going to suffer on the back of this result). Pretty much everything which was included in the Treaty has already been ratified, either as part of Nice, or as part of one of the earlier treaties (Amsterdam, etc.). All Lisbon did was establish the structures by which these changes would be administered. An example of this is the Commissioner issue. Lisbon proposed that each country would have one commissioner for ten years out of fifteen. As part of Nice, we have already agreed to reduce the number of commissioners to 18, with Lisbon rejected, it remains to be seen how these 18 commissions will be allocated, but be sure that the larger states (Germany, France, UK) will be pushing for more than the one seat they would have been allocated under Lisbon. It remains to be seen what impact the No vote will have on the company, but an internal report at my work (from 2 weeks ago) has projected that a No vote would result in a 7.4-8.2% decrease in inward investment into Ireland over the next five years, compared to the levels that would be expected if there had been a Yes vote. With the current state of the economy, a drop in investment of this level could be expected to increase unemployment by 2 or 3%, something that could seriously stretch public finance, and significantly reduce the funds available for investment in hospitals, education and the NDP. Hopefully, the government can reach a swift compromise with our EU counterparts (one which is more palatable to Irish voters) and the events above do not come to pass. Otherwise, I fear many of us may find ourselves in the dole queue, regretting our decision to register our "protest" with the Government in June 2008

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 14/06/2008 00:36:11    32664

As far as I can see the Eu only cares about the big three UK,Germany and France. Irish GDP is only a speck of dust compared with these three countries. When Germany was going through a bad patch 2-3 years ago the ECB adjusted interest rates to help get it back on its feet. When it started to recover the ECB increased interest rates. At the moment Ireland is going through a bad patch similar to Germany but the ECB wont adjust interest rates to help the property market and so Ireland is now starting to fall into a recession period.

The EU is controlled by Germany,France and the UK. It doesn't really care about other smaller nations. If the Lisbon treaty had been passed Ireland would have less voting power as voting power would correspond to the size of the country.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 14/06/2008 03:36:43    32671

What did anyone make of Turkey's comeback tonight? Unbelievable!!! Don't usually watch a lot of soccer but thought it was great entertainment!!!

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 15/06/2008 23:19:33    32923

Folks I have been travelling around to a lot of matches of late and I have noticed a new phenomena i.e. OLD LADIES DRIVING WEE GREEN CARS usually at 30 M.P.H. I usually arrive behind them on bad roads with lots of bends. Anyone else notice this ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/06/2008 21:56:40    33545

Tiger Woods are we watching the greatest sportsman ever ??

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 17/06/2008 08:30:41    33622

Lads I'd love a rasher sandwich. Anyone else?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 18/06/2008 15:29:50    34378

Tiger Woods are we watching the greatest sportsman ever ??

--------------------------------------------------------

Really agree with this post. one on one sports are great to watch and he has been consistanly briliant for years.the likes of ronnie and phil "power" kinda have a few bad years but Tiger-unbelivable.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 18/06/2008 16:35:28    34429

roger federer for me is the greatest sport-person ever - one day he'll win in roland garros to copper-fasten his greatness. Golf isn't really a sport!!

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 18/06/2008 16:40:22    34434

i am not really in a position to comment on who is the greatest sportsperson ever as i have not come close to witnessing many of the greats. although, i have seen mohammad ali and reckon it will will be a long time before there is one like him.

here is my top 10 of the best still around today, i.e. are still practising their sport
1. roger federer switzerland
2. tiger woods usa
3. tom brady usa
4. rafael nadal spain
5. christiano ronaldo portugal
6. peyton manning usa
7. haile gebresaillasie - not exactly sure on the spelling kenya i think
8. asaafa powell usa
9. lionel messi argentina
10. bernard lagat usa

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 18/06/2008 16:50:33    34443

Federer is possibly the greatest tennis player of all time, but its a pity we wont see him at his peak play Nadal at his peak. At the age of 22(just) he is the worlds best clay court player and improving quickly on grass.

Federer is only 26 but by the time Nadal reaches his best on grass he may well have retired...

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 18/06/2008 16:51:28    34444

*asaafa powell jamaica*

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 18/06/2008 16:54:59    34447

banner_boy
County: Clare

34434 roger federer for me is the greatest sport-person ever - one day he'll win in roland garros to copper-fasten his greatness. Golf isn't really a sport!!

Golf isn't really a sport What an amazing comment.
Federer is up there ok but Tiger's win on Monday is even more amazing not that we know he played 5 rounds with cruciate ligament damage.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 19/06/2008 10:27:37    34684

woods was brilliant on winning. Think fed will not win wimbledon this year

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 19/06/2008 10:39:05    34692

Rednecks and Jakeens.

Was listening to The Last Word on my way home last evening and caught the end of some topic like above.

The Redneck we all know gets his name from the Laois lad ( Mayo lad) on reaching his 20th birthday receives a SCLAP on the side of his neck from his mother( hence the Redneck )and is ordered to gech up ta Dublin and join the Guards.

The Jakeen however were given this name it appears because of the fondness for visiting British Monarchs and on such occasions they would line the streets of Dublin and wave small Union Jacks hence the name Jackeen or small Jack.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 19/06/2008 17:45:06    34999

Can somebody post a few of the smiley faces and what they mean - I can do the obvious ones :( for AI final days, :) for AI semi final days, ;) for slagging

I saw someone using :L (think it was farneyarmy) what does that mean?

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 20/06/2008 15:31:09    35506

:P = Tongue out
:L = Laughing face (joking around)
;) = The wink... can be used as sarcaism or if flirting with a fellow poster
:D = Big happy smug face
:( = Sad
:) = Happy

Farneyarmy1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 89 - 20/06/2008 15:41:15    35517