This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
holymoly,
you asked if I dislike boxers from Dublin. The answer is a definite no. I'll give you another example - Andy Lee from Limerick. I don't know him, can't pass any comment on the chap but his style is something I find offputting. Some of his fights are a bit boring.
The best boxing I've seen has probably been the super middleweight fights in the late 80's and early to mid-90's. Although I don't like him, I admire Collins for breaking up the whole English-America rivalry. I remember after a Benn fight one night, James tony was interviewed and made very insulting comments about Benn & Eubank. Next thing they're all saying they are going to do this to each other & that, but along comes Collins & beats Benn & Eubank twice! So although I dislike him & think he was limited, Collins showed a lot of bravery and heart to win those fights. But they all saw the light when Calzaghe came along. Interestingly, Eubank said in his autobiography that he felt he could never beat Roy Jones jnr.
There were some cracking super middleweight fights in that era. Watson-Eubank, Eubank-Benn, Eubank-Collins, Eubank-Wharton, Benn-McClellan. I've read both Benn & Eubank's autobiographies, both are strange characters in their own ways. But what that weight division had over others, was it had more brutal bouts than the lightweight fights and didn't have the predictable one big haymaker knockouts that the heavyweights had.
THE worst fight I have ever seen was Naseem V Saieed Lawal from 94 or 95. He beat him with one punch & the fight lasted 8 seconds. Sky sports saw how ridiculous it was, and cut to ads with a banner saying 'coming up next, the whole fight'. Naseem was a very annoying person which is why I like Wayne McCullough for going the distance with him. One boxer I feel was brilliant and modest was De La Hoya. Eubank did a lot for boxing in Britain by being brash & arrogant 7 making it a show, but I thought him signing up to 8 bouts in 12 months with Sky was crazy. He definitely lost to Dan Schomer in Africa before he lost to Collins but the jusges gave him the decision. After stepping up to cruiserweight though he showed how brave he was and it helped him not to have to battle to get to 12st for a fight.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/03/2009 14:20:37
Tip.
I am told that Miss Abrahnovic with Nina Carberry on board will win the 6.00 at Thurles. It is no wild price at 7/2 or only 3/1 in places. It will be trying its best !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/03/2009 15:02:21
Bringing back some great memories there slayer. Some of those fights you mention were really great bouts. The Eubank-Benn rivalry was fantastic. Love him or hate him, Eubank was a very stylish boxer and could take a punch. I remember seeing a re-run of a Eubank-Benn interview on ITV hosted by Jonathon Ross around 92/93 the night before they faced each other. It was brilliant, you could never tell if either would just fly off the handle and it made for great tv.
Unfortunately I didn't get to see too much boxing in my place since pay per view was a big no no.
You sound like you're well clued into boxing there slayer, are there anymore dream matches on the horizon or has boxing entered the twilight of its appeal?
holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 26/03/2009 15:27:52
I think Calzaghe was the worst thing to happen pro-boxing in Britain and to a lesser extent Ireland as he was just too good, nobody wanted to fight him. He seemed to have it all, could take a punch and was able to put an opponent away in a whole manner of styles. I think Steve Collins in particular realised how good Calzaghe was and decided to bail out at that point.
I'm not sure if you remember a boxer from that era, but in a smaller weight division. His name was Paul Ryan, his nickname was 'scrap iron'. The bloke had no defined style, he was the strangest thing I've ever seen in boxing. He would get into the ring and be it round 1 or round 10 at any point he would just unleash a flurry of punches, or take the punishment, it was 50/50. He won a couple of good fights and SKY loved him, but he took a bad defeat one night where he was totally outboxed and if he threw a million punches that would not be enough. A crazy fighter.
I never really liked the heavyweight division, but one fight that put me off was Riddick Bowe defeating Herbie Hyde, some time about 1994/95. There was a 3 knocdown rule in place, and in the first few rounds Bowe downed him a couple of times per round but never went in for the kill. I knew that was Don King at play, and when the crowd had their fill of it, Bowe just upped it & knocked him out. Later Bowe fought at close to or maybe even over 20 stone and that was offputting to see a bloke hanging about just for the last few paydays.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/03/2009 16:45:36
Really dont understand what went wrong with that tip. The horse was in great form and expected to win but did'nt pick up the way she was expected. Will make it up to yis again so dont worry !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/03/2009 19:03:02
See
Non GAA Forum
Is it time to let the Non GAA thread slip away?
Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 27/03/2009 11:22:47
Lads who is ruby on for the national? Any idea of an SP? Who is on Denman for it? Will he go off at more than 10's? worth a flutter? I think the Den is on the way back, big time! Kauto watch out!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/03/2009 11:22:54
I would say Ruby will be on MY WILL, currently about 10-1 favourite, dont fancy it myself. For me you can virtually forget about anything carrying 11 st or above for the national. Denman is not in it.
samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 27/03/2009 11:42:26
I'll give you 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000/1 on Denman, Liam!
He'll be at Aintree next week but not on the day of the Grand National. Which actually makes me wonder will Sam Thomas be riding him then? Liam, you have got me thinking?
Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 27/03/2009 11:43:18
Loyal, if there was a blushing emoticon on here, i would use it!!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/03/2009 12:06:44
15) Lee Byrne.........His Kicking is crucial 14) 13) Brian O'Driscoll......Superb this year 12) Tom Shanklin......... A Tank and very hard to stop although Mike Tindall is at his heels 11) Shane Williams........Not quite sure about this due to the Irish match but he is world player of the year so...... 10) Ronan O'Gara.......... I know Jones is on form but it think O'Gara will hopefully lift his game in the next two Heineken cup games 9) Mike Phillips............ Big and strong with great confidence 8) David Wallace.........Well able to handle 8 7) Martyn Williams.......Workhorse and another tank, just ask Simon Webster 6) Stephen Ferris......... great couple of months for him and i hope he keeps it up 5) Paul O'Connell..........what can i say? 4) Alun-Wyn Jones........Another great pack leader 3) Euan Murray.............It will be a toss between him and the Bull Hayes but i give Murray my vote because of his scrummaging 2) Ross Ford................. Underrated Hooker 1) Gethin Jenkins..........Another big fella who can move around the park
howstheform (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 27/03/2009 17:57:56
LIAM Ruby cant chose between his fathers horse or my will . He be better with my will. Loyal this should stay on main board not the non gaa thread because it is on that long.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/03/2009 22:06:28
Howstheform, stick Bowe in at no. 14 and you've got yourself a team!
mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 27/03/2009 22:24:50
bowe 14
mikeyjohn (Galway) - Posts: 305 - 28/03/2009 12:29:26
Sorry lads i forgot about No.14. Im still not quite sure about Bowe yet, i know i chose him before but still think jury is out but he is on the plane so fair play. Here's a few who could trouble him ---- If Tindall or D'Arcy get No.12 then Tom Shanklin could get No.14. ---- It's a long shot but what about Luke Fitzgerald too for no.14 ---- Maybe one of the Evans Brothers could slot in before Bowe too.
15) Lee Byrne.........His Kicking is crucial 14) 13) Brian O'Driscoll......Superb this year 12) Tom Shanklin......... A Tank and very hard to stop although Mike Tindall is at his heels 11) Shane Williams........Not quite sure about this due to the Irish match but he is world player of the year so...... 10) Ronan O'Gara.......... I know Jones is on form but it think O'Gara will hopefully lift his game in the next two Heineken cup games 9) Mike Phillips............ Big and strong with great confidence 8) David Wallace.........Well able to handle 8 7) Martyn Williams.......Workhorse and another tank, just ask Simon Webster 6) Stephen Ferris......... great couple of months for him and i hope he keeps it up 5) Paul O'Connell..........what can i say? 4) Alun-Wyn Jones........Another great pack leader 3) Euan Murray.............It will be a toss between him and the Bull Hayes but i give Murray my vote because of his scrummaging 2) Ross Ford................. Underrated Hooker 1) Gethin Jenkins..........Another big fella who can move around the park
howstheform (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 28/03/2009 15:19:57
Were has this appeared from?
Blast from the past here
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 12/07/2013 09:28:09
Yeah. Why is it here.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 12/07/2013 11:56:01
some of my best work lol :)
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/07/2013 11:58:52
Always wondered why you can only read back over a certain number of pages.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 12/07/2013 12:00:40