The Non GAA Thread

Oh and Breff, u were spot on about Ferris mate. My bad :)

Now this is the team I think they will pick, as opposed to the team I would have picked, as i posted already

Byrne
Armitage
BOD
Henson
Williams
Jones
Blair
Jones
Williams
Ferris
POC
Wyn-Jones
Murray
Flannery
Sheridan

and before anyone says anything, I am aware i included Sergio Parrisse in my lions team!!!! I started picking my team of the tournament instead of my lions team!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/03/2009 16:11:34    239331

''Where is that lad now eh? What does he think now? Hey Galway lad, when it comes to the boxing....leave it to the Dubs!!''

Francie Barrett eats Dubs for breakfast

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 25/03/2009 16:13:44    239335

I think some of the lads here are listening to Hook and Pope to much. Armitage and Kearney are beeter options at full back than Byrne. Armitage would be my first choice.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 25/03/2009 16:31:39    239358

Kevin Moran & Niall Quinn (Ireland)
Martin O'Neill (Northern Ireland)
Martin Keown (England)

I know Keown played in the Connaught Championship for London. Not sure if he played in the World Cup though.

Lakeman (Westmeath) - Posts: 11 - 25/03/2009 16:44:20    239375

hi an let me say b4 i post this i was cheering dunne all da way sat nite .. now to my point unfortunately bernard is not a proper world champ if you look up the wba super bantemweight champ is celestino cabellaro problem is he won the ibf title as well this year. therefore the wba think its a good idea to make him super champ and create a "regular" champ which dunne is. stupid as it is cant knock dunnes performence he was unbelevieble and hope he gets a big payday against one of da big names in da division

asf22 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 25/03/2009 16:56:17    239390

Snufalufagus

239284 It is now clear that the greater media now read the posts of Snufalufagus!

Check the earlier posts on this thread from a long time ago and you will see my calls for the Seanad to be disbanded. They do nothing and get paid hugely for it! Jobs for the Dail failures!

Snuffy Solution: Twice a month a group of 10 High and Supreme Court judges meet to test/examine new legislation/bills etc etc!!

I wouldn't even go to the cost of disbanding the thing, just stop paying them, eventually when they stop waffling and the few that are not already mummified go that way, we could open it up as an alternative to the pyramids, yer mans thatch would probably need to be fire treated ok

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/03/2009 18:39:38    239504

LIAM, Henson won't get near the starting Lions 15. I think McGeechan will play Flutey at no. 12.

POD09 (Limerick) - Posts: 486 - 25/03/2009 22:54:04    239692

Did Martin Keown play Gaelic Football??
At what stage of his career did this happen??

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 26/03/2009 02:16:02    239770

Daytona,

I have to disagree with you there. Although I think Armitage is a quality player, he doesnt have the kicking game out of hand to match Kearney or Byrne. Armitage instinctively runs the ball when its kicked down his throat. I know this is more exciting and more creative play but against the Boks, who will shower the full back with bombs all day long, the Lions need someone who can return the ball with interest and who will make the opposition turn on themselves. Byrne kicks like a mule, the length of his kicks are huge. Kearney, whilst not having the power of Byrne, has the ability to land the ball on a button. Armitage doesnt have either of these skills.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 26/03/2009 09:51:25    239820

mid-mon-man,

I dislike Dunne as I think he is arrogant and annoying. I don't particularly like the weight division he fights at (although that's no reflection on him). But after winning the fight the other night Dunne said 'it's a great day for our country, the mancs lost, Ireland won the grand slam, now this'. Much is made in the media about how we are in recession & it is great to see sport goingh well, but I don't see what a soccer or rugby result has to do with Dunne. Also from TV appearances in the past it just seems like he is full of himself. If he thinks his fight on sat night was tough, I'd advise him to get a video of the Nigel Benn V Gerald McClelland fight and take a long look at it.

I think a lot of our Irish boxers let things go to their head. Michael Carruth was commentating on the olympics last year and could not pass any comment without mentioning his medal in 1992. It seemed like he was using the olympics to relive past glory. That's grand, maybe he should seek out a station to do a program on his, but if he is commentating on the olympics he should just do that.

I didn't like Steve Collins either. He came on the late late show after his win & it was all about himself, me me me. I had hoped that both Chris Eubank or Nigel Bwnn would beat him. If you look at all three since though, you would wonder if boxing has damaged them badly.

Now we have Ken Egan whose behaviour since the olypics is very strange. The best fighter, the best person & best ambassador for boxing to emerge from this island over the last 20 years was Wayne McCullough. He had a great boxing style and he was always humble when he won. And when he fought Naseem, he showed he could take punishment & refused to be knocked out.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 26/03/2009 10:00:32    239828

Every boxer you have a problem with is a Dub - says all that needs to be said about you. Sad individual that you are. Mohammed Ali the greatest of all was a very humble guy wasn't he. You don't understand the game so don't comment - a bti like your remarks on the Cork situation and most other matters.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 26/03/2009 10:10:41    239840

Slayer without getting into personalities there is a lot of truth in your post. It is a bit like the Celtic Tiger in that it went to most peoples heads and they did know how to handle it.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 26/03/2009 10:11:34    239843

Snuffy Solution: Twice a month a group of 10 High and Supreme Court judges meet to test/examine new legislation/bills etc etc!!

Bit unconstitutional there Snuffy. Kind of throws seperation of powers out the window. The whole basis of our legislative system is that the Parliamentary branch creates and approves laws and statutes, and the legislative branch judges whether they are constitutional. Your suggestion could potentially lead to a situation where the judges could suggest ammendments to laws/bills which were entirely unconstitutional, knowing that they would never be struck down.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 26/03/2009 10:57:37    239871

lochgormanabu wrote:

Slayer without getting into personalities there is a lot of truth in your post. It is a bit like the Celtic Tiger in that it went to most peoples heads and they did know how to handle it.

I think one person who did handle things well was McGuigan when he fought. After beating Pedroza he had the world at his feet and seemed destined for greatness. As that was pre-Celtic tiger days he seemed to be focused on remaining at the top but the defeat to Cruz and the subseqent allegations that Eastwood was got at muddied the water & he was never the same fighter again after that defeat. Even today, McGuigan still seems to be a modest bloke who always has an interesting angle on fights.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 26/03/2009 11:29:30    239908

So McCullough refused to be knocked out. Can you buy that in a supermarket. Most boxers would love to be able to 'refuse to be knocked out'. Didn;t think it was possible myself.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 26/03/2009 11:38:36    239915

paddy close but not quiet, the answers are as follows,

ireland---- could be anyone from nial quinn to kevin moran
northen ireland------ martin o'niell
brazil----socrates, played for UCD when he was doing a doctorate there

:):):):)

rich dublin (None) - Posts: 425 - 26/03/2009 11:44:51    239921

Although you make valid points there Slayer in your dislike for Dunne and co but I can't help but notice the trend that each one of the boxers you dislike are all Dubs. Am I way off or is there just a bit of resentment there because they're from the big smoke?

Most boxers are full of themselves, its very rare that they'll do interviews or promo's and won't try to make themselves sound bigger and better than they actually are. I don't think thats unique to Dunne, Collins etc.

I was saying on another thread that I was surprised by the anti-Dunne vibe in the Mayo pub I watched the boxing match in. At the end of the day, its rare that we are world champions in anything. Surely its great to see an irish-man, whether cocky / arrogant / rude or whatever, become a world champion no?

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 26/03/2009 11:51:09    239928

Jeeze Holymoly - they were anti-Dunne in Mayo? And him after staging a couple of fights there and bringing a bit of publicity and business to the place. Ungrateful shower.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 26/03/2009 11:58:02    239935

holymoly, i find this very interesting, personally i think Dunne is an absolute gentleman, i was working in croker for the match against poland, dunne was there as a guest of the FAI, i was working in the MEZZ and Dunne was there also, he came in around an hour before the game, from the moment he walked in he was thronged, he waited there for the hour shaking hands, signing autographs smiling getting photos with all the fans, when the matched started he attempted to go and watch it for the first half hour of the match he stayed in the mezz shaking hands, smiling signing autographs chatting to the fans and getting photos taking, he came back in at half time and was thronged again ahd he only got out on the pich for the last 20 minutes of the match.

the reason im saying this is i have seen a lot of these type of events in croker and most of the " stars" they have there spend about 20-0 mins with the fans and leave then not with Dunne though he stayed even after the game to chat more with people and everything, everyone that was the were very impressed with him.

i agree with you though when you say that we dont have world champs at much so the whole country should be behind him without question.

rich dublin (None) - Posts: 425 - 26/03/2009 12:46:20    240010

i think he can come asross a bit too cocky, at the same time though he has to talk the talk. You cant come across unconfident in yourself going into a fight, if your doubting yourself beofre it you might as well stay at home (mayo footballers in an all-ireland final springs to mind). Could never not support an irish man in a world title fight, you have to get behind your own.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 26/03/2009 13:02:10    240027