The Non GAA Thread

Jesus H Christ, 3 everton fans in one place at the same time in Ireland....this is a first! :)
Holymoly will tell you, I have been a blue all my life, there is a funny story about me telling people about this kid called Rooney a few years back and being laughed out of the clonliffe house by a shower of red scum, isnt that right Holy ;)
But i am seriously disillusioned, not just with Everton but with English football in general. No matter how many bad element follow Dublin/Mayo/Cork/Meath etc I have never once heard anything even coming close to what i heard at the derby last week. Its pathetic. From both sides

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 03/04/2008 11:17:08    2283

Arsenal all the way

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 03/04/2008 12:12:14    2343

Whats that A. Brooks!!
Tis true Liam has endured the hardships of being an Everton since he was a nipper.

In the last 8 years or so I've found my interest of the premiership waining very badly. It really doesn't come close to the atmosphere and passion of GAA. I know a lot of people will think that this might go out the window with the grants, oops I mean eligible expenses. But knowing that these lads are playing for the love of the game makes you appreciate the game much much more. When fellas are being paid 100k a week, will they really be upset if they miss training or don't put the effort in on matchday?
I've found that the rivalry between soccer supporters in Ireland seems to have got more extreme lately. As a Liverpool supporter I wouldn't regard myself a die hard fan but when you see people squaring up to each other over an argument as to what people say about the club/steven gerard is nowhere near as good as paul scholes etc....jaysus lads what are you getting so upset about.

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 03/04/2008 12:27:13    2365

Anyone else annoyed that Brady was commentating on the game last night. I like him as a pundit and commentator but having him commentate on a liverpool arsenal game with such high stakes seemed a wee bit crazy????

ball girl (Leitrim) - Posts: 194 - 03/04/2008 13:34:03    2434

C'mon lads this is a fe*ckin GAA Board, I dont care if it s a non-GAA thread or whatever you call it!!!!!!!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 03/04/2008 14:10:18    2462

Agree completely ballgirl. He was definitely pro Arsenal and I heard him on the radio again the morning and it was the same.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 03/04/2008 14:21:45    2472

he does know his stuff though

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 03/04/2008 14:28:35    2478

Kauto beat again.

3.10 Harper valley ew if price is big enough
3.45 Eskimo jack ew.
4.20 Wanango Ew.
4.55 franchoek win
5.30 Kingscape. win

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 03/04/2008 15:00:16    2505

Any horse tips for today? need a few £

Dannymc (Down) - Posts: 92 - 04/04/2008 10:34:47    2832

If yesterday is anything to go by i would not listen to mine

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/04/2008 10:55:40    2856

Poor day yesterday.

2.00 Albertas Run win 7-4

2.35 The Tother One win 9-2

3.10 Cant see master minded being beat but tamarinbleau could be a bit of value at 10-1

3.45 Randwick Roar EW 22-1

4.20. Salford City EW 18-1

4.55 Kings Euro EW 8-1

5.30 Cait Ni Chaonaigh EW 33-1.

Ones to watch out for in national Turko 33-1 Butlers Cabin 16-1 and for real value Cornaish Sett 100-1

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/04/2008 12:07:19    2913

Meant to say comply or die likely winner.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/04/2008 12:23:05    2925

Good call!!!

Dannymc (Down) - Posts: 92 - 07/04/2008 09:56:06    3820

For fecks sake folks,all this talk about english soccer teams,next thing youse will be debating whether Capello is good enough as the english coach,i personally think he will do a great job,but thats not the point....
Stick to our game!!

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 07/04/2008 11:46:39    3918

its called the non-gaa trend if you dont want to read bout non-gaa items dont go into de trend its pretty simple!!!! i cant see capello bn dat successful at all be another world cup 1/4 finals exit prob on penos!!!

Wicklow Wonder (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 07/04/2008 12:43:13    3969

Post=Holymoly

In the last 8 years or so I've found my interest of the premiership waining very badly. It really doesn't come close to the atmosphere and passion of GAA. I know a lot of people will think that this might go out the window with the grants, oops I mean eligible expenses. But knowing that these lads are playing for the love of the game makes you appreciate the game much much more. When fellas are being paid 100k a week, will they really be upset if they miss training or don't put the effort in on matchday?
I've found that the rivalry between soccer supporters in Ireland seems to have got more extreme lately. As a Liverpool supporter I wouldn't regard myself a die hard fan but when you see people squaring up to each other over an argument as to what people say about the club/steven gerard is nowhere near as good as paul scholes etc....jaysus lads what are you getting so upset about.
--------------------------
I'd agree Holymoly. My own interest in the premiership has also waned a bit in recent years. There's no integrity to it at all any more, some of the players are only in it for the money. The clubs themselves should never have allowed the money situation to get so out of hand. United are rumoured to be preparing a 140K stg per week offer for Ronaldo, with Real Madrid sniffing around. It's obscene money really.

And you're right about the League of Ireland aswell. I was at the Bohs Rovers game on Friday evening and there was a real nastiness in the air between the rival supporters.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 07/04/2008 12:54:55    3981

Dannymc. Hope comply or die was the only one you followed.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/04/2008 13:51:13    4040

I propose that League of Ireland soccer be scrapped!
Then, once we have cleaned up our own back yard, we can try to get English soccer banned and then the world!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 07/04/2008 13:52:28    4042

Anyone see the shennanigans of Dunphy last night after the Pool Arsenal game? He's some stirrer - thought it was a bad ready up on Brady. Heard he was walking out during the break and was talked back in. And ye talk about GAA pundits!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 09/04/2008 13:09:40    5269

i felt brady was to-biased towards arsenal!! he seemed to think it all had to do with luck when infact it was bad defending!! RTE shouldnt have him analysing an arsenal game when he is employed by arsenal
dunphy is there for the conterversals

Wicklow Wonder (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 09/04/2008 15:29:45    5356