Should drinking be banned in Croke Park?

Drinking should be banned in Croke Park, especially during Mexican Waves !! I nearly got drowned last year !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/04/2009 00:11:34    258541

I do not drink but have no objection to drink being sold. Makes it a "social" occasion.

They do not sell drink at Old Firm matches in Scotland, so EVERYONE gets tanked up before the game. Therein lies trouble.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/04/2009 00:29:23    258562

I agree and disagree on this a bit like the smoking ban Croke park is a Family arena and as such drinking inside the stadium should be confined to the beer tents thats on the walkways on the outer levels of the stadium, can you imagine a couple of lads with two pints and a hotdog in each hand trying to make their way to there seats? also doesn't set a great example to the kids when theirs a controversial decision and beer gets flung around? I must be getting old to have said that.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 16/04/2009 01:44:46    258600

talk sense fella

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 16/04/2009 09:15:42    258635

Im partial to the odd drink, but not during a football match. I enjoy to be able to watch and study the game which I cant do with a few drinks in me. Afterwards ill go on the rip.

But everyman is his own.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 16/04/2009 09:20:26    258640

on that smoking point www, what is the rules about smoking in GAA stadiums. If there is any iv never seen them enforced.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 16/04/2009 09:34:17    258652

I see no reason why it shouldnt be sold, it says it all about our culture that you have to ban something that really it's our own responsibility to control.

Lets look at ourselves. Not the GAA for selling it in the first place.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 09:51:47    258661

I do not think it should be sold. I would never drink during a match, I wouldn't enjoy it properly. Usually have one or two before heading to the ground and a good rip after. Why would anyone feel the need to drink during the match? You would miss half of it running to the toilet anyway

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 16/04/2009 10:22:08    258684

I usually have a drink at half-time of matches in croke park, ive never seen or heard of any trouble resulting from it.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 16/04/2009 10:38:43    258712

drink drink drink

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 16/04/2009 10:55:53    258731

Feck!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 10:57:26    258733

PJ

258442 Please god this will never happen, but I do believe that Meath fans should not be sold Cups of tea or coffee under any circumstances.

couldn agree more p.j. imagine the damage they could do throwin them around we'd all get scalded

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 16/04/2009 10:58:44    258736

bad.monkey
County: USA

258712 I usually have a drink at half-time of matches in croke park, ive never seen or heard of any trouble resulting from it.

I usually have one or two before the game.. nothing too major because trying to get to the jacks from the Hill is not a very enjoyable experience!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 11:01:44    258741

There's definately for and against. Drinking is a huge part of our culture. Banning it in the ground might lead to people getting tanked before going in, and causing trouble inside. As another poster pointed out, the GAA can't change the Irish attitude to drink.

However, perhaps the GAA should set an example? I firmly believe that our attitude to drink is extremely unhealthy and is part responsible for much misery in many households. Surely it is not a good idea for parents to show their kids that drink HAS to be a part of every social occassion - even matches? Surely the GAA have an oppurtunity to demonstrate to young kids that some social activities can be enjoyed without even moderate drinking?

Now it could be argued that moderate drinking by responsible adults is never a problem. In itself, it certainly is not. However, if 100 Irish adults are given access to booze, how many of them will get drunk? Do these small number of drunks set an acceptable example for kids at games? Do they normalise that kind of behaviour?

I don't really know the answers to the questions posed. However, I say, when in doubt leave it out. The GAA should be about more than the quick buck, and there is no doubt that this courtship of the drinks industry was all about the money from the start.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 16/04/2009 11:32:44    258776

Well what about admitting drunks into Croke Park, especially late arrivals ??

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/04/2009 12:26:06    258841

NO.
beer is the best temporary solution

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/04/2009 12:37:29    258859

To Alcohol! The cause and solution to all of lifes little problems.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 12:43:04    258871

speaking as someone who works in croker on match days , as a manager in one of the bars!!!! i can say that yes it should be sold ( surprise surprise) seriously, it is restricted sale anyway as there is a two drink limit per person per sale, now i know they can come back up again and get two more but trust me with the level of people there the may not be able to get back up, also there is very very good security in croker so nothing gets out of hand, i have never seen any fights of punch ups there so really dont see the problem.

also think of this there are over 600 employed in the bar and catering trade on match days in croker!!!! thats 600!!!!! without the bars alot of people woulld lose out on that extra little bit of pocket money!!!!! and while croker is a family place lets not be kidding ourselfs here people, is for adults mainly, if there are 85000 people there 65000 at least will eb over 18!!! fact!!!!

rich dublin (None) - Posts: 425 - 16/04/2009 12:57:41    258894

Should drink be banned in Croke Park? Absolutely not. End of.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 16/04/2009 13:40:13    258945

WHITERBANANAS

da nly time ul get a day out in croker is if ur goin to watch tyrone or armagh play cuz lets face it...mayo arnt gettin back there for a while!!

sur u can have a pint on me cum september when dooher is liftin sam...AGAIN

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 16/04/2009 13:43:52    258953