Hurley league

Who actually cares about betsy grey , joe mc crickard cups outside the 10 mile radius of portaferry........id say no-one.

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 22/11/2011 12:48:19    1073649

Always nice to have a cup on the table for the AGM.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 22/11/2011 13:52:43    1073700

it certainly is frank and for the first time it has left this 10 mile radius of portaferry

Carryduff_Abu (Down) - Posts: 206 - 22/11/2011 16:29:50    1073849

lads, see the teams who contested the McCrickard and Gray cups should have been the teams who played for the intermediate and junior championships if the truth was known. they 2 would have been in the "10 mile radius" do ye no why? cos u lot r away behind! FACT!!!!

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 23/11/2011 08:22:23    1074135

what a bitter little man!

BarrackBuster (Down) - Posts: 525 - 23/11/2011 10:36:57    1074184

buster i always find the truth does hurt, and ye all no that it is true (that u lot arnt up to scratch) but u wont accept it.

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 23/11/2011 10:49:04    1074190

Shame you left casement with a severe beating and from ballinascreen for that matter

Down hurlings finished

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 23/11/2011 12:32:04    1074273

Down hurlings finished. Where bouts you from anyway,any ur players ever played for down hurling.
Yous are miles behind lbh

Galgetman (Down) - Posts: 266 - 23/11/2011 17:37:12    1074526

I honestly don't think Down hurling is finished. It is wandering in a transitional period because the county is no longer second best to Antrim, a blip in results proves this. However, it can only improve as hurling in the county is strong so long as it is united

BarrackBuster (Down) - Posts: 525 - 23/11/2011 21:02:24    1074727

hurling is in turmoil , there needs to be more than a rabble of clubs around belfast and the ards. You cant build a county team around 5 clubs , youre gonna need more from south down , youre kidding yourself if you dont think they need to be pushed on

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 28/11/2011 18:27:07    1076832

What Down need to do now, is pick big strong men, who are able to compete on the physical side as well as being able to hurl.
It is no good being a skillful player if you cannot compete physically.
Down have been lacking these attributes for many years, and for some reason play players who to look like they are underage players.
These players are out there, the management just has to look to the whole county, not just a "wee" section!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Always Right (Down) - Posts: 221 - 29/11/2011 10:35:45    1077037

If these players were out there, then they would already be part of the senior set up. Unfortunately, there are very few lads that are big and can hurl. There no point being a big lad if you can't run or puck a ball between the sticks. Stoopid post Always Wrong.

Long_John (Down) - Posts: 299 - 29/11/2011 12:07:50    1077095

Long_John

One of the main reasons that Armagh beat Down was that Down were no match for Armagh's physical strength.
I would say Down's hurlers had more skill, but skill is not enough if you are pushed aside.

Always Right (Down) - Posts: 221 - 29/11/2011 12:52:38    1077130

Then get the lads gathered up and have a conditioning program in place like they do in rugby or more to the point ,the county team

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 29/11/2011 13:08:48    1077140

Conditioning won't help you grow 6 - 8 inches.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 29/11/2011 14:40:52    1077194

Down lost to Armagh cause they couldn't care less about it. The Down lads only cared about the Christy Ring. Once out of that, there was about 10 turning up to the training sessions. Stop this b***s that armagh are better than down. When it mattered, down trounced armagh.

Long_John (Down) - Posts: 299 - 29/11/2011 14:43:58    1077197

Long john ur 100% correct. do not read anything into that defeat to Armagh, Down thrashed Armagh when it counted and as for the Ulster title it's a nothing comp. Wise up always and catch ur sell on.

cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 29/11/2011 15:13:31    1077211

To be honest I can not for the life of me see why a lot of posters are knocking last years senior hurlers and management. It will be many a fair year before Armagh will beat Down again in the seniors let there be no mistake in that.

swan song (None) - Posts: 451 - 29/11/2011 16:20:00    1077287

sabre rackling again huh ??

What do you base that info on eh ?

I dont hear many pundits trying to push that arguement...ever !

Bigsheep (Down) - Posts: 290 - 29/11/2011 17:21:38    1077349

Any word on league fixtures for Div 1/2 for 2012? When do Ulster league fixtures come out?

BarrackBuster (Down) - Posts: 525 - 11/12/2011 13:24:15    1082798