Hurley league

ianog
County: Down

whats the big deal portaferry cant field 3 teams in the one night yous would need to find out the facts first the div beat castlewellan.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is it a case that they can't field 3 teams or that they can't field 3 strong teams?
If Warrenpoint & Bredagh can field 2 teams most weeks then it does raise the question why can't the mighty Ports field 3.
I think Clonduff & Castlewellan could also field a 2nd team if they didn't have to field on the same night as their 1st teams.

Some of the results this year lead me to the conclusion that the stronger hurling clubs would rather hammer the weaker clubs than risk fielding a weaker team, just in case. How this promotes hurling or encourages participation in our National game is a mystery to me. It's hard enough to encourage youngsters to play.

What was the results in the Ports v Castlewellan & Ballydalget v Ballyvarley games?

Willie_Pat (Down) - Posts: 13 - 13/05/2010 21:49:46    646658

Ports couldn't possibly field 3 teams on Wednesday with the amount of injuries and people doing exams. With so much hurley on in the one night and most of the 2nds team on the senior squad (which gets priorty in EVERY club) Managers where not going to bring a 3rds team(who don't train) to litroim and get beat. so either way ports could not have fielded 3 teams on Wednesday night.

Portlad (Down) - Posts: 17 - 14/05/2010 09:19:27    646723

If Portaferry can not field 3 teams on a Wednesday night, then they should pull 1 of the teams out. It is the same with the other Ards clubs, as they will not travel across the water if they have a match at home on the same night. They all pick what games they think they can win and load up the best players on it. The County Board have to look at this issue as it is the same every year.

GreenHurler (Down) - Posts: 34 - 14/05/2010 10:47:54    646814

If you can't field its only good manners to phone the other club and referee.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 14/05/2010 11:29:54    646883

Whilst its a tall order to put three teams out on the same night, its at least good manners to call the other club secretary, referee and co board to tell them. If you can agree to refix the game with the other team then all the better, but be prepared to lose the points if a compromise can't be agreed. That should go for all teams irrespective of where they are from, if hurling or football gets in the way, same rules for everyone.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 14/05/2010 14:00:32    647108

portaferry 4-14 castlewellan 3-6 , and clonduff do play a second team on a tuesday in the armagh league, In portaferrys defence they did ring clonduff prior to the game last week to inform that due to their minor players doing exams that they were struggling to field and that they may not turn up to match. They couldnt say when or if they could re fix the match and awarded the match to clonduff.

gerryc (Down) - Posts: 135 - 14/05/2010 15:35:09    647229

Portlad, everyone understands that the senior team gets priority, which makes good sense. However using the same logic the 2nds would be next in the pecking order, agree? That been the case the ports made the decision to send a strong team to put manners in Castlewellan, rather than risk losing points to Liatroim. The ports did beat Castlewellan by 11points, YES 11 points and they are one of the teams hopping for promotion. So let's not pretend they could not have given Liatroim a good run for their money!! Do you think the rest of us are immune from injures and students doing exams?? Everyone knows what's going on so let's just call a spade a spade. By the way it's not just the port's, there are other ambassadors of our game making a mockery of our Leagues.

Gerry C I think you misread my post, I know Clonduff play a 2nds team in the Armagh League on a different night. But fielding 2 teams on the same night, week in, week out is a much tougher proposition. Add in 'Listed players', injuries, exams, suspensions and holidays and the wheels could come off. But the future does look bright for Clonduff, so keep up the good work. If you can avoid the Ards 2nds teams you could win Div 2.

GreenHurler, be careful what you wish for Div 2 wouldn't be much good if the 3 Ards teams withdrew. Were just asking for fair play. That defeat to the port's could be the difference at the end of the session. Ballyvarley only won the League last year by one point, very tight.

Willie_Pat (Down) - Posts: 13 - 14/05/2010 20:55:07    647609

[ports didnt save strong team for castlewellan they struggled with on ly 17 players so lads get it right

ianog (Down) - Posts: 416 - 16/05/2010 09:24:30    648215

can you also name the 2nds players that are playing div2 yous are just not as strong as you think

ianog (Down) - Posts: 416 - 16/05/2010 09:27:10    648216

ianog
County: Down

[ports didnt save strong team for castlewellan they struggled with on ly 17 players so lads get it right.

Ok ianog lets do the maths so we can get it right. Let's say 23 players went with the seniors plus 17 to Castlewellan, that's 40 senior hurlers in Portaferry. Plus about 10 scholars and walking wounded. So the mighty Ports can only muster 50 hurlers including their minors and injured?? Is that what you're saying?
Lets say were all gullible enough to swallow that, according to Portlad's logic the priority in the club been 1st team, then 2nds and so on. Why did the seconds manager not have the 17 hurlers available to him to play Lietrom and the 3rds manager ring Castlewellan to rearrange? If their eligible to play 3rds there ok to play 2nds.

Answer: Lietrom might just have given them a game, maybe even taken the points. I've got a better idea lets go down and hammer Castlewellan by 11 points.
"Lets get it right ianog".

Willie_Pat (Down) - Posts: 13 - 17/05/2010 17:32:41    650057

Willie name the guys that were on the 2nds that played castlewellan you will find that the 3rds team that play was actually one of their weaker teams this year so get it right

ianog (Down) - Posts: 416 - 18/05/2010 17:37:21    651228

who cares?

GalgetsOwn (Down) - Posts: 118 - 19/05/2010 15:54:53    652282

Just to try and put an end to this ignog, I'm not from Castlewellan, I was not at the game and I wouldn't recognise the players if I meet them in my soup yet alone name them (Unless Paul Braniff is striping out for them again this year). I simply saw the score.
It was Portlad (your club mate, I assume) that made the point they could not field 3 teams on the same night, fair enough. However using "Portlads logic" the 2nd's Manager should have had priority over the 3rds team.
That's consistent with how it works in Football as well, senior manager takes his squad, if he's short he calls up players from seconds, seconds manager in turn calls up players from the 3rds. If that means the 3rds are short, they make necessary arrangements. Funny it does not work like that in Portland!!
Technically every hurler with the exception of the 15 senior listed players is eligible to play 2nds, and you're telling me you couldn't field a second's team!! How convenient.
Are you sure you weren't afraid of losing to Leitrom?? We'll make our own minds up.

Willie_Pat (Down) - Posts: 13 - 19/05/2010 16:36:40    652351

Willie Pat is right.

With a name like Willie Pat are you sure you're not from Laitroim?

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 20/05/2010 08:53:57    652923

I see they didnt field again last night as there seniors were away to ballycastle.

weepats5 (Down) - Posts: 295 - 20/05/2010 11:06:37    653043

the county board need to step in and do something about it!! its becoming a joke!!!

God7 (Down) - Posts: 354 - 20/05/2010 12:13:24    653147

To be honest as much as it is a joke theres not much the county board can do about it or will do about it. Its been happening for years. Last year people went on about newry this year its portaferry. No one wants to get beat and we all want to put out our strongest teams but at the end of the day if your missing players play with what you got and if you get beat you get beat. That way the players that are playing that arent regualr starters will get some good hurling.

weepats5 (Down) - Posts: 295 - 20/05/2010 12:18:54    653156

Well said weepats5.

A little light entertainment boys, this is a small selection of the barrage of abuse some clubs from South Down received this time last year for "NOT FUFILLING FIXTURES". Get it; well I thought it was funny.

Anyway heads down. Can you spot which of the following quotes came from a Ports poster??
One of them is yours ignog can you believe it!! And they say a weeks along time in politics!
Answers on a post card.

Quote No:

1) Portaferry are top and play Newry on Sunday (if they travel). Liatroim havent played any of there outstanding matches in weeks because of Ulster Championship and football play offs. The Joe McCrickard semi is delayed for the same reason.

2) I find it funny that the Newry posters were the biggest critics of the point's 2 teams at the start of the season. Newry didn't turn up for Portaferry, Kilclief or Ballela while both Warrenpoint teams travel and play.

3) yet again i see that newry shamrocks had had another game called off this weekend..
should this be allowed to continue esp with the massive back log of games that exist in both football and hurling leagues
and championships?
i mean pullin out of games, senior football, senior hurling and even underage games - whats happening up there?

4) they should be taken out of down leagues, cships etc. let armagh have them!

5) well its a new season so its a clean slate,they must be given every opportunity but if they persist with not fielding then they need to be down graded and another team brought up and given a chance against better teams but we must wait and see how they go or dont as the problem seems to be

6) clean slate? that must be a pallet of slates theyve went through! they get a clean slate every year and will continue to get 1 whilst the hurling people in the county let it happen!

7) But can we all agree Newry are the main reason for so many nights freed up, and we need to do away with all that to let the leagues be run proberly!

It must be stressed that none of the Ards teams would indulge in this type of behaviour.
===========================================================================

Willie_Pat (Down) - Posts: 13 - 20/05/2010 18:56:19    653900

be cool

leoboyle (Down) - Posts: 159 - 20/05/2010 19:25:53    653925

I remember reading post 4 somewhere!! Am i right?

weepats5 (Down) - Posts: 295 - 21/05/2010 09:42:52    654152