well the way the 3 championships are run it should be the case, what happens next year with intermidiate winners is there a play off between beaten semi teams shc to see who goes down? but like everything else will be ****** up and back to the same system,if they are gonna do doi it right ianog (Down) - Posts: 416 - 24/11/2009 15:44:17 492807 Link 0 |
Thats a good question about W/point going down. I know we haven't been told anything. And it would be nice to know what we are preparing for in the coming year. Tom.Mull (Down) - Posts: 108 - 25/11/2009 18:28:31 494017 Link 0 |
any word of a manager yet tom tom gerryc (Down) - Posts: 135 - 25/11/2009 20:13:38 494118 Link 0 |
Well I am disapointed to find out that you don't know yet within your own club. Is it possible to field two teams in one division from Warrenpoint? Probably not. Your 1sts must be relegated if they finished bottom to allow for Ballyvarley so can your 2nds play in an Armagh league or something? I'm being serious. Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 25/11/2009 21:30:32 494197 Link 0 |
There were 9 teams in Div 1 last year so they could promote Ballyvarley to make it 10 and leave 7 in Div 2. Maybe Bredagh will enter a 2nd team in Div 2 to make the numbers even? There 2nds played in Ulster league and Betsy Gray Cup this year. Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 25/11/2009 23:30:59 494357 Link 0 |
yes Tom all messing aside I agree more teams more games? we can't get div1 finished as it is there has to be a consorted effort from the ccc to ENSURE the league is played out. maybe when your neighbours pull out this will elevate 50% of the problem. n e 1 hear how the hurlin meetin went last night? all the problems must hav been sorted out. cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 26/11/2009 09:42:43 494533 Link 0 |
I can see Div1 not being finished, (how could it be?) with all teams remaining and Ballyvarley being promoted. bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 26/11/2009 10:55:24 494593 Link 0 |
If Seamus Walsh is in for the post he should get it; a gentleman, true gael and more importantly he knows whats happening in both hurling and football. ginger_el_vino (Down) - Posts: 64 - 26/11/2009 11:36:50 494639 Link 0 |
if ye look at div1 league table for 2009 season there seems 2 b a distinct boarder line, meaning a 2 tier league. Ports, Laitroim, crans, galget and Kilclief all very much on top. if you add Ballyvarley 2 the league it's gona b another team 2 add 2 the bottom section. is this goin to be good for div 1 hurlin. I think not. i think it would be better with an 8 team league this year. the team that couldn't field for most of the season should have the decency to request a drop 2 div2. cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 26/11/2009 12:33:54 494705 Link 0 |
Good point. Not all the teams in Div 1 are up to the standard. Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 26/11/2009 14:52:03 494878 Link 0 |
frank that is very good. best ive seen in many a year. hope some one passes that idea on. cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 26/11/2009 15:33:05 494928 Link 0 |
lads is it not hurling league. so is hurling spreading a bit more around down or is it still confined to the ards peninsula? overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 26/11/2009 21:04:17 495403 Link 0 |
That's actually the best suggestion I've seen for the ACHL in a long, long time! All 3 Divisions would be competitive with very few hidings. We need these sort of ideas to be considered by those in charge. Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 26/11/2009 22:12:10 495525 Link 0 |
while on paper the three league would look balanced, how can shamrocks be in div 1 when they cant field a team on or play a league game most weeks. liatrom would fall into this category as well as they prefer to fulfill the football fixtures . the ards teams choose when they will play the game so as they can field the imaginary 3rd team or play in antrim. If the same penalties that insure football matches are played were enforced in hurling then all the fixtures would be fulfilled. Bredagh managed to play 14 league matches in 2009 so ccc must have fixed the games. As usual blame is put on the co board instead of with the clubs who fail to fullfill the fixture. so instead of wasting time playing with the leagues its time the clubs that want to play hurling do their utmost to fullfill the fixtures gerryc (Down) - Posts: 135 - 26/11/2009 22:54:14 495595 Link 0 |
gerryc although Im not a great supporter of the Shamrocks i must say that there could b civil unrest in that club, internal divisions which will have to be sorted out, allegedly! Leitroim do and have been fulfillin their fixtures, as far as possible, it is unfortunate they are in the football play offs, but that is the beauty of sport, it can b s unpredictable. cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 27/11/2009 08:18:06 495793 Link 0 |
Gerry, you're 100% spot on re clubs using all manner of excuses for not fielding, im sure Bredagh aren't blameness either (try and get a juvenile fixure with your club in the summer, some of us culchies also send our kids to the gaeltacht, donegal and even further afield as well!). ginger_el_vino (Down) - Posts: 64 - 27/11/2009 09:38:47 495827 Link 0 |
Just browsing and indeed Frank this idea of yours could solve the scenario of unfinished leagues. I am not aware that July was a no game month,why was that? I think the more time available to play the more games you get played. With a lower amount of teams in the leagues which should enable all league games to be played and the additional games in the Betsey Grey and McCrickard competations it will, sorry, would make for a good summers hurling. swan song (None) - Posts: 451 - 27/11/2009 12:21:24 495966 Link 0 |
Our club play in the Armagh Hurling League Div 1 and both Div 1 and Div 2 have been run very well over the years. However two years ago when Armagh County team was going well in the Nicky Rackard Cup, the Hurling board decided to have a break in the middle of the league around June and then resume in the middle of August when County competitions were finished. This has since resulted in many games not being played and teams going for long periods without matches. Indeed a Div 1 relegation play-off was only played on Wednesday night last Between Naomh Colum cille and Dungannon, even though Dungannon had only played about 9 games out of a possible 14. Armagh Board have also noticed that the were many one sided games this year in both Divisions and the plans are next year to have Three Divisions of five/six teams each played home and away. Hopefully this will result in the leagues being finished earlier and better competitive games. OUTFORA65 (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 27/11/2009 13:09:06 496006 Link 0 |
Am i the only one who thinks 10 league games a year is a bit pathetic and even if you add in 2, maybe 3, championship/betsey gray, Joe McCrickard games, its really not enough over the course of a season? bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 27/11/2009 14:22:55 496063 Link 0 |
bricktop, look at the div 1 table there r a lot o outstandin games never to be played. the match average for clubs is 10. the McCrickard trophy is still going at semi final stage at the end of Nov. will the final ever be played? forby the ards teams playing in Antrim all the clubs play in the Ulster leagues which give them more games. the S/D teams play in the co championships as well, more games. it wud just be nice to see a league finish for a change. you could av the top 2 play to see who wins the league and the bottom 2 play for relegation, more games. cahill (None) - Posts: 2567 - 27/11/2009 15:16:10 496116 Link 0 |