Hurley league

But hey, lets play in the Ulster league and give ourselves an inflated feeling of self worth.

Ballyvarley will gain a lot more from Div4 in Antrim that those who chose the Ulster league instead.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 15/05/2014 11:28:50    1587914

Would Div 2 in Antrim be any better than Div 2 Ulster league? Same question for Div 4?

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 15/05/2014 13:14:11    1588003

Wel that couldn't be true, Antrim division 4 couldn't be great, ulster league is bound to be better, if entered into high enuf division

youngladdjoe (Down) - Posts: 9 - 15/05/2014 13:58:35    1588043

In Antrim Div4 you are guaranteed over a dozen fixtures a year, can you say the same for this Ulster league?

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 15/05/2014 16:39:00    1588171

Antrim Div 2 would be higher standard than the old Down Div 1. Probably between Ulster Div 1 and 2, but the point is that it is well run and all the games are played.

Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 15/05/2014 21:15:52    1588330

I believe ballyvarley are better suited staying in antrim and trying to pull themselves up the leagues.It may not be better in terms of standard but the fixtures will be fulfilled and lads will get gametime. Down county washed its hands of hurling so ballyvarley are better staying in antrim. We all know they arent gonna be great but at least they will be better served than the set up you get in down.

Ulster league in theory can work but wont as it will be run poorly.

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 16/05/2014 12:55:34    1588523

Ulster league is great much better standard of hurling in it and its bringing our lads on leaps and bounds and all fixtures is being fulfilled unlike the down leagues in the passed 5/6 years were teams don't show up for matches. so ulster league is the way to go for all down teams if the ards teams don't wish to join that's ok but the none ards teams should and we don't want to be listening to the record playing they are to far away for games

nosides (Down) - Posts: 239 - 16/05/2014 21:35:29    1588771

Nosides,i dont think its the matter of the Ards teams not wanting to play in an ulster league rather than the FACT that they cant due to a clash with both Ulster and ANTRIM league being played on a Sunday, and then again why would they want to when they are playing the best hurling teams in ulster week in week out with a league that WILL get finished.Antrim league the way to go if you ask me..tried and tested.

THE.SHAFT (Down) - Posts: 198 - 17/05/2014 13:59:02    1588904

Fixtures
Joe McCrickard

Ballygalget II V Portaferry II (Sun @2pm)
Liatroim V Kilclief
Clonduff V Newry Shamrocks
Ballycran II V Warrepoint
Portaferry II V Ballycran (Wed @7:30pm)

Betsy Gray

Bredagh II V Ballyvarley
Carryduff V Castlewellan
Ballycran III V Ballygalget III
Ballela V Portaferry III

BarrackBuster (Down) - Posts: 525 - 18/05/2014 09:09:43    1589127

Ballycran can't have 2 games at home on the same night!

Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 18/05/2014 21:39:50    1589656

The fixtures are in conflict with your comment. Lets see if it goes ahead.....

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 19/05/2014 13:40:56    1590001

Will Carryduff pitch be playable tonight?

It's been raining for 2 days with more forecast an there pitch doesnt hold the water to well. Im expectin to gert a run out tonight cause were short a few. Would hate to miss it!

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 19/05/2014 13:41:24    1590002

Only one game in Ballycran tonight, as predicted.

Seconds match v NCP put back to end of June.

Our 3rds lost in Ballela by 3 or 4.

Seannie Og (Down) - Posts: 952 - 19/05/2014 21:19:04    1590473

Results

Joe McCrickard

Ballygalget II 1-12 2-17 Portaferry II
Liatroim 3-8 2-11 Kilclief
Clonduff 1-11 2-15 Newry Shamrocks
Ballycran II P-P Warrenpoint

Betsy Gray

Bredagh II 2-20 4-10 Ballyvarley
Carryduff 2-10 2-8 Castlewellan
Ballycran III 4-10 2-5 Ballygalget III
Ballela 3-15 2-14 Portaferry III

BarrackBuster (Down) - Posts: 525 - 19/05/2014 21:50:30    1590502

The pitch in Carryduff was a disgrace last night. The match should never have been played. It was more suited to water polo and bloody dangerous.

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 20/05/2014 09:10:27    1590525

excuses, excuses, excuses where does it end frank, take a beating when u get 1

Christy4Down (Down) - Posts: 177 - 20/05/2014 10:34:06    1590577

I'll tell you what youse were lucky to end up with 13 on the pitch. At least another 2 could have went! Shower of bullies who pick on the wee boys!

Frank Mitchell (Down) - Posts: 1082 - 20/05/2014 12:06:35    1590653

you've just made that worse for yourself frank a team getting beat by 13 men should never happen (13 v 15), you's knew fine rightly what you's where doing but then you's did get beat so it makes you wonder

Christy4Down (Down) - Posts: 177 - 20/05/2014 13:31:34    1590734

Well Frank ya alot of rain and the Duffs pitch can be wet but its the same for both teams its up to ref to make that call!! see Ballela got the better of the Ports last night big scoring, would say the Ports had fairly strong team out as their seconds match was played on sunday and them and Ballela were unbeaten going into this game. Ballela looks to be going well this year they have 1/2 good young players coming thro every year which keeps them going.

nosides (Down) - Posts: 239 - 20/05/2014 13:56:23    1590755

I wish I had been there now! Carryduff hurlers have been called all sorts of things on this board, and now BULLIES! lol :) You make it sound as though all the big country boys have been going easy on us these last years. If somebody is not physically ready to play adult hurling it is your manager's responsibility to pick another player that is.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 20/05/2014 14:06:07    1590762