Div Two Senior.

the early birds may have got the worm

but the second mouse always got the cheese.......

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 19/10/2009 17:15:05    459172

murphys_law

Your hanging on to the past there and you know it and what is this problem lads have with greencastle as i remember good losers and winners.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/10/2009 21:35:08    459529

knowshisstuff County: Tyrone Posts: 9 I agree with you there, the u-21s was a very good chance to put the greencastle lads up against the best instead of being small-minded and not "going for the juggler". But this is the trouble that exists within greencastle unfortunately and I believe could be one of their biggest downfalls

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 19/10/2009 21:40:31    459542

Your right BobbyB, would love to have seen them in Grade 1.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 20/10/2009 08:40:47    459807

Ok lads, itsd the end of the season and i dont want to be leaving you Greencastle ones like bobby and watching against me for staing my opinions. At least we all agree that Greencasstle under 21 should have been grade 1. Progress! I'm not just saying that because we fell out with Gortin after our game but seriously when you take it that there are about 10 of Greencastle senior team starting on that team and the rest probably on the senior panel. Gortin will not be fit to live with them. Even though they have 3-4 former county minors, the rest of their team won't be fit to stand up to Greencaslte. Greencastle to win by at least 5 points.

So there you have it, I'm not totally Anti Greencastle. But I am not going back on what i said about them next year in senior grade 1. in my opinion they will only get 3 points if they are lucky and like i said will be lucky if they score 3 points on some days against some of the teams. I base that assumption on their second half performance up in Pomeroy against Cookstown with the wind at their backs, or maybe they were told at half time to throw the game as they might not have beat Gortin in the final. But as you all said it worked out nicely for them and good luck. no hard feelings or sour grapes. I would aske watching and bobbyb- how do you honestly thingk you will do next year as far as points and average score goes in your opinions. Be honest.

Hopefully the plunketts can get back up in the next year or so now that a good management thing is in place.
Slan abhaile

murphys_law (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 20/10/2009 12:25:48    460094

So Murphy, what you are saying is we are good enough for grade 1 in one hand but not good enough for grade 1 on the other hand. Makes perfect sense to me.

Hope that management "thing" works out in Pomeroy.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 20/10/2009 13:37:27    460205

Ok so ML,
might be the only thing we agree on but its a start.

Think 3 points is a low target by you, 13 is the magic number,
so i will go for that.
I know our scoring average is not that high but
out defence is very good, conceding average less than 10 a game, i think.
As far as i hear we are to loose no one next year,that can only be a good thing.
Big challenges ahead, but thats football isn`t it?

I will let the dig go about throwing the game (holding back here)

Who is the management yous have in place?
Declan and who?

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 20/10/2009 13:55:53    460236

Did the Greencastle posters not get promotion along with their team?
They are all still here !!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 20/10/2009 14:31:19    460297

We enjoy your company BIG SACKS. Lol.
Soon see the back of us, one more outing on Sunday
then Slan.

Can we call in and say hello now and again?

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 20/10/2009 15:27:13    460374

I apologise to the Greencastle posters.... I suppose its not over to the fat lady sings.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 20/10/2009 16:30:12    460472

Murphys law.
Was at the game V Gortin u21 game where the plunkets man set out to nail kevin Mossey ending with him getting a red and missing a month for no reason. Good attempt to get an game abandoned but sadly failed.
Anyway looking forward to this game on Sunday just hope Gortin can keep the scoring down. I know they are having problems
with Keepers at that level and castle have a couple classy forwards.
Did Pomeroy not try to push for the last league place V Gortin at all? Was suprised at that result up there?

knowshisstuff (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 20/10/2009 16:34:22    460482

i fink i mite go to watch the u21 final with Greencastle vs gortin in it, fink it shud b a good game of football, both teams with some very good players.. greencastle prob stronger overall, but i fink gortin could cause i shock result on sunday.. time will tell!

Rvk15 (Tyrone) - Posts: 27 - 20/10/2009 18:28:24    460642

watching

Your right BobbyB, would love to have seen them in Grade 1.

My last post was edited, i wasn't just as nice as that

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 20/10/2009 18:46:20    460664

murphys_law

I understand Murph, its only a bit of banter

But anyways your question, yes i agree greencastle will take a few drubbings next year. They have a good defence, BUT they're going to be up against the fastest and best forwards in the county. Greencastles forward unit is going to be where the improvement is needed, if marty conway was missing for a couple of games we'd be screwed. I'm going to say 10-12 points

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 20/10/2009 19:07:46    460685

murphys_law

They will get alot more pointa than your club trust me .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/10/2009 21:54:31    460876

whats goin on here with all this greencastle love in??? personally, from what ive seen of greencastle this year i think they will struggle in division 1. this is based on a number of things. 1.route 1 football wont work for them 2. they dont seem to have a plan b 3.enda clarke will certainly not as much freedom when he stands next to some real good mid fielders 4. golie kicks....enda doesnt catch....full forward not getting ball....struggle to get scores..... you know the rest..... relegation dog fight next yr, mark my words

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 20/10/2009 22:43:18    460958

kerr's pinks/moortownspuds!!! Some great tips there for sean an the lads to work on in the winter period, as im sure they prob will know to there knowledge anyway. The season has now come to a close, an only a few more days of this thread left, next year tho i wil b lookin 4ward to a div1 thread, and hopefully the same bitterness shown towards greencastle because of their dominance.

craics90 (Tyrone) - Posts: 35 - 20/10/2009 23:33:51    461049

Ha Ha that last post said people will be jealous of greencastles dominance,surely to dominate you need a title or an accolade 2 back that up,not even making the final so that says someting,dont be comin back saying the mickey mouse league cup cuz i will laugh more.Fair play in getting up,your lads kept commited and focused and went up in second place after cookstown who were miles ahead of the rest.Of all the other clubs in div 2 who can said they were commited and even dare i say it tried even 80% of the year,greencastle got up in a bad league and coming straight back down with a bang

Moonmoose (Tyrone) - Posts: 194 - 21/10/2009 04:28:58    461146

Who do you think will go up next year then? Div 2 is wide open for 5 or 6 teams to progress. Clan a Gael dont want to go up so rule them out straight away.
Thinking along the lines of Killeshill (if they get their men back), Gortin and losers from Moortown game. Wont be any run away leaders next year.
Newton to go down are a banker I'd say.

knowshisstuff (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 21/10/2009 13:13:18    461498

Think the losers of this weekends division 1 relegation play off will be up near the top aswell. Can't see Aghaloo staying up too long though but have a sneaky feeling Newton could suprise a few next year, and do well under big Finbarr.

BucketTeam (Tyrone) - Posts: 92 - 21/10/2009 17:00:33    461834