Div Two Senior.

Moortownspuds, I wouldn't say I was in any way biased towards our lads in my assessment of the game. naturally enough during the proceedings when you are getting behind your own it can sometimes be hard to give an objective view of things, I thought that i dished out a fair amount of praise to your guys btw, I agree that we are on an upwards curve like yourselves at the moment and the ages of both panels will probably ensure that there will be many battles to be fought in the next number of years, the next one is on Saturday and I for one am looking forward to the match with anticipation. Best of luck to both teams.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 15/09/2009 22:45:10    427256

Well lads i always felt and know for a facr greencastle has always been good losers and if teams like it or not there a good outfit .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/09/2009 23:16:47    427313

Moortownspuds

You are mostly right in your summing up of Moortown and Greencastle. I think too that Moortown thrive against teams like the Castle who are physical and direct in their approach.

Surprised you didnt know about the dubh devlins or the fact that most Devlin clans have Irish nicknames eg ban, og, mor !!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 15/09/2009 23:43:28    427346

moortownspuds County: Tyrone Posts: 159 426881 im not trying to install anything mugsy. all year long we have had to listen to greencastle this and greencastle that....there was even a thread earlier in the yr suggesting that greencastle will go unbeaten. Moortownspuds, I think you will find any of the threads on Greencastle were started by non Castle trouble makers. "Greencastle have a lot to say" - Trillick "The Greencastle thread/section" - Pomeroy, enough said. I certainly am not on here to start bother with anyone from Moortown, as i have stated, i have a lot of respect for the Loughshore men. But you can`t be that annoyed because there are a few Castle posters talking about the possibility of getting into a semi final or even a promotion opportunity. Personally i enjoy the banter and most definitely will not stop shouting for us. I feel we will bring more to the party on saturday and hopefully push on. Can`t see your 11 or midfield having as big an influence the second time around all the same. Bring on a good game.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 16/09/2009 08:54:39    427409

On reflection over the championships games

Greencastle verus good game moortown round 2 as they say and looking forward to it felt moortown the better team last day and should have won but this is a new day and it depends on which team turns experience says moortown in a replay but greencastle maybe have imprioved from the last day and go with them

Kileeshil v gortin - poor game last day and things can only get better without hub tip gortin just

cookstown v derrylaughan - great game i thought that derrylaughan played very well and did expect them to win as had heard put in great effort but mugsy was on top form and was the difference between two teams still feel cookstown can maintain push for double

Eskra verus stweartstown - eskra deserved their win as stewartstown just played in patches great chance for eskra to reach final

GAELTYRONE (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 16/09/2009 10:50:05    427494

I think that with the influentual Karl Gartland coming back to form that Eskra are in with a shout of lifting the intermediate crown.

KAYG (Tyrone) - Posts: 13 - 16/09/2009 11:04:34    427516

my prediction wasnt far wrong! cookstown looked strong at the weekend,fine shape look very very fit,some of them never quit runing the whole time,and in that heat took nothing out of them,as i said before derrylaughn have a very young inexperienced team,their fwd line is very speedy and smart but they have the worst 6 backs i have seen in a long time,they would struggle in div3(back line i mean) if they got this sorted out i think they would be hard to deal with! eskra won an exciting encounter,nearly caught in the end bu it just wasnt stewartstowns day, r season for that matter,looks like they are for the drop. eskra now into the simis but im afraid they didnt look like championship winners atall,should of beat that stewartstown team by more,they took the foot of the pedal and if they did this against any other team in the champship they wouldnt of been here! stewartstown are going along with the same team as they had a couple of years ago,we all no you have to mix up the young talent with the experienced players,look at greencastle. i dont no what is going on with the youth situation there but stewartstown looked like an unfit lazy outfit. not the team we used to see in the championship. greencastle and moortown was always going to be a tight one and in the end i thought it was a fair result, the two fwd lines are very exciting to watch everytime they get the ball you think something special will happen,two very good teams and cant wait for the reply, but still have to go on my earlir predicition and say greencaslte,fair play to the two teams playing to the bitter end thats wat champship football is all about!! the kileshel match was an exciting affair aswell,most people are not talking about it atall,bu i was surprised as anyone with the way gortn played,they played out of their skins,i saw them once before this year and the way they have come on is very surprising!the loss of hub had a bearing on the game and i think it will also have a bearing on this weeks game aswell,the two back lines was very tight but i think the kileshel heads will drop with the loss of their "all star" he thinks he can get away with everything but fair play to the refs they wernt afraid to dish out the red card to the county men,davy harte in the errigl game aswll!it will be a tight one but i will keep with my earlier prect and say kileshel,dont thin gort can play the same as they did,in a week!

ChezzyNob (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 16/09/2009 12:07:27    427589

Cheezynob........... You hit the nail on the head. The Harps are unfit, but to say they have the same team as a couple of years ago is no bad thing. The oldest starting player was 30 then 28 and then a load of lads at 26 and under, hardly an ageing team.

We will stay up, by the skin of our teeth though. Just have to look forward to next year and put this miserable year behind us.

harpsmad (Tyrone) - Posts: 36 - 16/09/2009 12:24:27    427609

You are mostly right in your summing up of Moortown and Greencastle. I think too that Moortown thrive against teams like the Castle who are physical and direct in their approach.

Surprised you didnt know about the dubh devlins or the fact that most Devlin clans have Irish nicknames eg ban, og, mor !!

big sacks, the fact that i dont comment on the different clans on the loughshore has nothing to do with me not knowing, its more a case that it doesnt float my boat, thats all.

watching, as i said earlier i have no gripes with you or mugsy or anyone from the castle for that matter. it will be a good game im sure. your thoughts are along the lines of 'we wont be outplayed again' whereas my thoughts are more like 'if moortown play the same game, they will win'
anyway, goodluck on sat evenin, either way ill be havin a beer or two after.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 16/09/2009 12:29:10    427615

ok harps mad..who has been brought on to the team that makes it different??i can only name one and that is the half back fergal oneill.its the same team but players playing in different positions from previous years!what i said is that yous r trying to keep the faith in that team and it doesent work,correct me if im wrong??a team to be unfit at this time of the year is a bit of a shambles.

ChezzyNob (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 16/09/2009 12:59:50    427654

the harps had alot of new faces injured though you have to keep that in mind...ronan oneill,mick d and young mcbennett,will be a shake up next season and will have to regroup next season...

Pomeroy_gac (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 16/09/2009 14:44:17    427780

I'll second that Moortownspuds. The Old charm inn for a victory drink!!

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 16/09/2009 15:17:14    427816

no problem mugsy, ill go there. just you declare yourself as mugsy, ill find you. and you can buy me that victory drink (losers alway buy the first round) lol

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 16/09/2009 16:52:06    427955

Tried to buy yous one there but
can`t get it posted.
Maybe my credit is not good about The OldCharm.
I was asked to leave one night now that i remember.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 16/09/2009 16:59:14    427970

16/09/2009 16:59:14
watching

427970 Tried to buy yous one there but
can`t get it posted.
Maybe my credit is not good about The OldCharm.
I was asked to leave one night now that i remember.

Can't have been that good a night if you remember!!!

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 16/09/2009 21:14:47    428252

I thought it was spelt "Dook" Devlin, form the match it seemed moortown had more of the "top class" players if that could be said about intermediate...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 16/09/2009 21:19:15    428260

Well lads, Have been reading the div 2 forum and have been both amused and intrigued by the posts and predictions of the likes of BIG SACKS, watching, mugsys_barber, Dellboypolecat, harpsmad, and even castletop....Goodstuff!! 'CheezyNob' Are u serious about that last post?? ''cookstown looked strong at the weekend,fine shape look very very fit,some of them never quit runing the whole time,and in that heat took nothing out of them,as i said before derrylaughn have a very young inexperienced team,their fwd line is very speedy and smart but they have the worst 6 backs i have seen in a long time,they would struggle in div3(back line i mean) if they got this sorted out i think they would be hard to deal with!'' Fairplay, your predictions havent been far off but think you're away of the mark with the statement about the dkb defence!! Look at any other reasoned posts; everyone conceeds that the only real difference between the teams was mugsy on the day! No one else in div 2 could have marked him in that form - bar possibly PJ Quinn! Gaeltyrone pointed out 'cookstown v derrylaughan - great game i thought that derrylaughan played very well and did expect them to win as had heard put in great effort but mugsy was on top form and was the difference between two teams still feel cookstown can maintain push for double' An 'watching' noted that it was 'entertaining... and that Mugsy was 'something else!' Besides Mugsy the rest of the Cooktown forwards only scored 2 points between them! (with conor mullan at midfield winning his battle and contributing a massive 1-02!) Also 3 of their forwards who have been scoring and playmaking well all year got subsituted!! - murray, mulgrew and Eastwood! Is that not good defending by the rest of the defence?!! How do you justify your statement about the dkb defence then?? Also look at the league form, the only two teams that really have shown a better defence than Doire Lochain are Cookstown (marginally) and Greencastle. I will give credit where credit is due, greencastle are a well drilled young team team, with a very good defence, but still capable of slip-ups like in the league against clan na gael and gortin league games. DKB are also a young team with both a young sharp forwardline/defence! Only 3 players over the age of 24!! Stop blowing about greencastle being the only young team out there worth their salt!! Greencastle where fortunate to get a draw at the weekend (mainly down to the brilliant Martin Conway, who by the way has been about for plenty of years now!)and i believe that moortown have too much strength and depth in Crozier, Quinn, Herron and Hagan etc..(to name a few) and should win the replay!! You and others have been bigging up Greencastle all year but need to brace yourself for a fall and season with possibly nothing to show!!!! All that talk and yet Cookstown with Mugsy continuing that form will surely win the double!

dkb1981 (Tyrone) - Posts: 7 - 16/09/2009 22:41:16    428359

We are agreeing in a roundabout way here CHEEZY. As someone else mentioned here there will be two forwards that would have played all this year but for injury. And with fergal playing well at half back thats 3 new faces. Thats not going too bad for a small club, or any club for that matter. As for the fitness, you are right it is a shambles. Thats why we got rid of the manager. Like I said though, we WILL stay up and push on next year hopefully.

harpsmad (Tyrone) - Posts: 36 - 17/09/2009 09:47:34    428527

dkb1981

Have to say i enjoyed that.
But if Cookstown win the double
then the Castle will get automatic promotion as well.
Not bad for a years improvement even with no silverware.

Its not over yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 17/09/2009 11:09:23    428608

dkb

chill out,its my view and im sticking with it,i said yous do have a very good fwd line,but your 2 cornr backs r very slow,your full back is small and not very strong,your whole half bac line didnt no wat they wer doing at times,thats y i said your defence is shocking. tell me what has mugsy scored all year in each match?i tink that is the only match wer he has top scored,form play!now you are seriously sayn that your back line isnt to blame??if not why is he not doing this day in day out for cookstown?yous tryd a couple of men on him,dont get me wrong its a tough task,all im sayin is you couldnt handle him or any of the men coming through you defence!once you get that factor sorted out i think yous would be a much better team,take it on the chin lad cus its the way i see it!

im a nutural,defo not a greencastle man,would like to see a moortown win at the w.end but dont think it will happen!

harpsmad,the truth hits very hard i was just reviewing your team,from a couple of years ago until now,and i was right,its the same bar 1 player,forget injuries,them boys havent played in a couple of months!things must be bad,goodluck in the dogfight!

ChezzyNob (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 17/09/2009 11:36:08    428635