Wonderful Derry

i agree, great city and good craic and fine looking women!! arregant p***ks at football,.... but who isn't??

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 08/04/2009 09:17:39    251638

Its great to see all the tremendous singers, popstars, songwriters, Hoganstand posters, politicians, boxers and soccer stars that Derry have given us.

Clearly, they haven't given us much in the way of Gaelic Footballers and Hurlers in the last 25 years but I suppose we can't hold that against them.

I like Derry too, I'm sure it must get pretty depressing for your average Derry person to be constantly living in the shadow of their rivals Tyrone, but please don't be dis-heartened, one day I'm sure ye will be rated alongside the Meaths, the Mayos, the Kerrys of this world.

Keep up the good work Derry.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 08/04/2009 11:08:52    251751

John Mitchell and John Hume.... two of Derrys famous sons.

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 08/04/2009 12:20:48    251847

By the way loyal, who did Meath give us....Tommy Tiernan, Hector and Pierce Brosnan? Three comedians ! Sorry 2 comedians, Tiernan not that funny...lol

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 08/04/2009 12:24:27    251853

Derry is without the top GAA county in Ulster as well.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 08/04/2009 12:27:26    251858

Gregory Campbell has also been a wonderful servant to the Oak Leaf county

RichardCranium (Tyrone) - Posts: 262 - 08/04/2009 12:29:59    251862

Although being an inferior footballing county there are many things to admire about Derry including the inspiration that was Eamon Coleman and the late great Francis Hughes. Also the passsion of Tony Scullion delivering a pre-match team talk would make the hair stand on the back of yer neck.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 08/04/2009 13:12:16    251920

Haha Richard.
Gregory Campbell wouldn't know if a ball was pumped or stuffed.lol

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 08/04/2009 13:29:54    251938

reddoctor

251636 two words you wont see the rest of the year.

Hopefully it's Red Doctor...

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 08/04/2009 13:36:16    251950

derry ledd i dont like yiz, i bleeding love yiz,and if you lads beat donegal and the dubs beat westmeath on sunday i will love yiz even more.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 08/04/2009 20:10:32    252404

ahhhhhhhhhh, now im with ya finglas.

Good luck to yas.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 08/04/2009 20:43:35    252417

There's a chance I'll love Armagh and Meath by Sunday night, but there are certain permutations for this.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 08/04/2009 21:35:49    252468

There is no denying some wonderful aspects of Derrys history. Nadine may not be amongst the countys greatest but only she has some amazing footsteps to follow not least two nobel winners. I'd be a bigger fan however of the lovely Cara Dillon from Dungiven:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-oquRLcmAM&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7t61e-g1bV4&feature=related

No female vocalist since Mary Black/Sarah McLachlan has brought me to a standstill the way Cara has. I hope she has a great career. I also am a great fan of Tohill/Paddy Bradley and the lovely Joe Brolly who we have now adopted in Tyrone. In saying that there is no team I take greater joy in beating!

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 08/04/2009 21:46:10    252478

ah now mid mon your getting carried away.love meath!!!,i would rather be relegated.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 08/04/2009 21:53:05    252485

loyal2theroyal. tbh derrys 1 all ireland in my view was beter than any of tyrones because in that day there was no backdoor system something that we should revert to. tyrone would not have won as many all irelands without this system!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 08/04/2009 21:54:11    252486

Seamus Heaneys poetry is without a doubt the best thing to come out of Derry, well probly the only good thing to come out of it

Hllbilly_boi (Tyrone) - Posts: 202 - 08/04/2009 22:10:59    252506

i spent a month in derry one weekend

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/04/2009 22:17:16    252520

As I worked in Derry City for about 7-8 years I can't argue with the DERRY GIRLS being stunning and the friendliness of the people, the City of song and spoken word, but I still would rather have my pretty little girl from Omagh and have Juliet Turner on my i pod rather than Nadine Coyle , Fergal Sharkey or Dana.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 08/04/2009 23:38:02    252671

Area ye serious? haha this is a fotball forum! have this discussion on a tourist site ye shower a mad derry -----no offense :)

centrehalfback (Laois) - Posts: 47 - 08/04/2009 23:55:00    252699

WWW hurry up and post another post you as it stands have the number of the beast.....also, you'd rather have Daniel O Donnell than Nadine Coyle, each to their own!! ;)

CHB, sorry can't help it if we are so loved!!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 09/04/2009 00:40:17    252739