Munster fans from Leinster

12/04/2009 11:10:14 irishstew County: Sligo Posts: 92 255174 Bermuda_Bomber County: Meath Posts: 17 253260 I think a lot of it is perception. The Munster lads come across as very approachable lads, for the people type players. The Leinster players do have a stigma of arrogance attached to them that makes it hard for them to like. I'm a Leinster fan through and through but will always support Munster when not playing Leinster. The main reason would be the 2006 semi-final, was in amongst all the Leinster fans and a few of us were trying to get a bit of singing going, get behind the side. The vast majority of the Leinster "fans" around us just looked down their noses as if we were some sort of uncouth hooligans (not too far from the mark!). Then the Munster crowd start singing Fields of Athenry and it was an amazing feeling, they create such an electric atmoshere it is hard not to like them Whats the whole fields of athenry thing about anyways???? is there no fields in munster of something?? A munster supporter try to fob me off once by saying its because of Mick Galwey !!!

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 12/04/2009 14:23:39    255240

Dellboypolecat

Great topic and your right they jump to munster because there winning instead of sticking to there own team.

Well said Dellboy.

Just like all those posters from Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, even Derry, who jump on the Tyrone band wagon on these hallowed pages.

Support your own.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/04/2009 01:18:20    255552

The craic around Limericks pubs and Clubs last weekend was unreal,plenty Welsh supporters in town enjoying the session.Amazing buzz around town and Munster supporters from all over Ireland enjoying the atmosphere,and that for alot of them is it,a party atmosphere..... oh yeah ,and a match.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 14/04/2009 14:25:19    256528

The hunt for tickets starts now i wanted quins to win as tickets would be easier to get, great defencesive display from leinster but quins threw it away kicking to the corner looking for tries might work in the primiership but in the heinken cup kick ur points when you get them. Not being cocky now but where are all the people that wrote off munster after the couple of defeats in the magners, i remember saying i'll hold judgement until after the sale match hate to say i told you so!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/04/2009 14:36:03    256534

I remember the night Connuaght beat Munster in Galway, Munster fans started singing fields of athenry. Have yous not got your own fields to be singing about, get your own song

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 14/04/2009 14:48:03    256550

Leinster deserved to win, Quins were a bit liberal with the rules to say the least i.e. the 'blood' sub ....or was it red dye?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 14/04/2009 15:37:06    256626

re: JuanVeron

yeah was funny really physio went in when he had a little trickle of blood by the time he was finished he was a bloody mess did you see him give a sneeky wink walking off.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 14/04/2009 17:19:22    256803

yeah, he wasn't very subtle at all or maybe he was squinting because there was something in his eye??

At least there will be none of that from the Munster Boys.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 14/04/2009 17:31:01    256827

jaffacake

251075 rugby in leinster is more class based and snobbish where as down in limerick its the game of the common man and all inclusive. theres a bit of arrogance that goes with leinster rugby i think.

id imagine thats one of the reasons, altho i would support both teams myself and just enjoy the games when they face each other.

Id agree with that.. John Hayes' hard honest farm work or Terenurrrrrrrrrrrre college?? Honest work anyday...

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 16/04/2009 16:41:00    259223

You mean Meinster Supporters! boo to them.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 17:02:30    259261

apparantly john hayes nearly missed a games last year because he got a kick from a Bull.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/04/2009 17:30:07    259316

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

259316 apparantly john hayes nearly missed a games last year because he got a kick from a Bull.

I hope the bull was alright!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/04/2009 17:31:10    259317

Apparantly the bull too exception to being carried across the field and took a sneeky kick at him as he walked away

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/04/2009 18:10:35    259378

Ohh I despise Leinster people who prefer Munster. I mean I was shoutin like a fool for them in the 2 H Cup finals but Ill take my home province over them any time...and my Dads a Corkman so I could even get away with it. People who use the excuse that Munster are the real mans team and Leinster a bunch of pretty boys or that Munster are like a GAA team playing rugby or any of that should be ashamed. I was born in Leinster and though the team is and always has been devoid of Laois input, Im proud support MY province/

Oh and another thing that bugs me is when people from Munster say 'Sure Leinsters really a Dublin team', I think D'Arcy (Wexford) Kearney (Louth) Jackman and O'Brien (Carlow) Heaslip (Kildare) Horgan (Meath) amongst others would strongly disagree with that! Oh and Munster fans, enjoying Ian Dowling???

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 16/04/2009 18:51:58    259425

re: spudenator

Aye we are and neil Ronan too.

Likewise i don't think leinster are complaining about John Fogarty, Trevor hogan and Stephen Keogh being from munster??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 16/04/2009 21:40:03    259594

Don't forget Denis Hurley Hag, little known fact that he played for Leinster at A Schools level!

Find it interesting about Niall Ronan. The Munster pack is much vaunted as a better pack than Leinster. He couldn't get a sniff when he was with Leinster but now he's at Munster pushing three Irish internationals all the way, and unlucky not to start last weekend the way he's been playing.

Bermuda_Bomber (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 17/04/2009 17:53:12    260693

Fair point, But he munster breeding in him seince he played with munchins.

As for Niall Ronan maybe they didn't deveople him as a player?? Do you think that he would get into the Leinster pack now??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 18/04/2009 19:49:39    261659

People are just so happy for Munster to be dominating club rugby, European Champions they are supporting them along.
Leinster are nothin just a few players!
I know Im from Connacht so no need to tell me how bad they are

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 19/04/2009 21:15:21    262326

Galway11

262326 People are just so happy for Munster to be dominating club rugby, European Champions they are supporting them along.
Leinster are nothin just a few players!
I know Im from Connacht so no need to tell me how bad they are

But for the meagre resources Connaught get compared to the othetr pronvinces we do Okay, hopefully we'll over take Ulster one year in the Magners league and get that Heneiken Cup spot then the IRFU might take a bit of notice and actually give us some money

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 20/04/2009 14:09:41    262894

True enough Hag!

Not too sure if he'd start, but I reckon so. Heaslip and Elsom are super players to be fair, and I always liked Jennings. But he doesn't seem to have the same impact he had at Leicester and I think Ronan would do a job. Interesting point about the development (Maybe to do with coming through the club system rather than the schools??). I always wondered if he was given a fair crack of the whip with Leinster, or maybe he's just better suited to the Munster style. But he's certainly become a quality player, Anthony Foley was over here in November and was full sure that he was going to make the grade.

Bermuda_Bomber (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 20/04/2009 22:18:21    263436