Thought you might have the savvy to figure out what I meant since I wont be allowed say what I want. Look STAFFORD is a wicklow man ,living here, playing club football here. What interest does walsh have apart from the obvious, you tell me. bigman55 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 23/04/2009 09:40:12 265926 Link 0 |
Hope walsh has a look at this site, if so he might realise the bitterness he has caused between the two counties and do the decent thing. bandwagon09 (Wicklow) - Posts: 48 - 23/04/2009 09:47:34 265935 Link 0 |
Bandwagon09 -- get a life and stop talking rubbish. wick (Wicklow) - Posts: 57 - 23/04/2009 11:33:45 266065 Link 0 |
I have heard Longford will be objecting to Wicklow using an illegal player in the championship - I wonder who? TAFKANO1FAN (Carlow) - Posts: 588 - 23/04/2009 11:48:57 266096 Link 0 |
I have heard Longford will be objecting to Wicklow using an illegal player in the championship - I wonder who? over the bar (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 23/04/2009 12:06:33 266120 Link 0 |
Does this mean that a new address has to be found in Co. Wicklow. We all know he is living in Fenagh co carlow since October!! fullbach (Carlow) - Posts: 264 - 23/04/2009 12:43:06 266153 Link 0 |
As fas as I know, if he is still registered as a Wicklow player, then it doesn't matter where he is living - but I could be wrong on this. It is a sad state of affairs when even his "own" club haven't a clue what Walsh is doing. jo90 (None) - Posts: 38 - 23/04/2009 13:49:50 266244 Link 0 |
WICK: What a cogent rejoinder, your contributions to this debate have the intelligence of a fence post. bandwagon09 (Wicklow) - Posts: 48 - 23/04/2009 15:17:30 266360 Link 0 |
Grand little argument except that I think that even you OVERTHEBAR will agree that playing Stafford in league would have been a little impractical. What is your and stanleys obscession with having a man from another co. lining out with wicklow . Have ye that little faith in your fellow co. men. Why not come out and admit that the whole thing was terrible from day one. Remember the big excuse then , OH SURE HES LIVING IN WICKLOW AND ENTITLED TO PLAY BLAH,BLAH. Even that doesnt hold water now. bigman55 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 23/04/2009 16:05:05 266438 Link 0 |
bandwagon09 - The fact that you have just joined the Forum to comment on the Thomas Walsh affair and the tone of your comments makes me think you are a Carlowman in disguise! over the bar (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 23/04/2009 16:37:58 266474 Link 0 |
Bigman55 you obviously don't go to the Wicklow matches - Stafford did play in the league, he played midfield in the Carlow match on Easter Sunday. Unbelievable to see such neighbourly concern from Carlow folk about lads on the Wicklow panel not being happy with Walsh returning - you's couldn't give a toss so don't come on here feigning pity and sympathy for ONE guy who will not be making the team, blowing things out of all proportion as usual. I agree with onioney I hope we meet Carlow at some stage in the qualifiers but I'm afraid Carlow will be long gone before we enter that stage of the Championship!!! wwfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 23/04/2009 17:30:27 266569 Link 0 |
over the bar: can you not understand the concept of free speech, must I as a wicklow man have to agree with your comments or else im not genuine is that it. Im just interested in the ethos of the gaa and I simply dont agree with the lip service being paid to it in wicklow at the moment. AMATEUR association my foot. WICKLOW ABU. bandwagon09 (Wicklow) - Posts: 48 - 23/04/2009 19:57:13 266733 Link 0 |
WWFAN: If you read the thread you will see that I was responding to comparison being drawn between staff and walsh not playing in league. I was merely stating that one was in OZ while the latter was in carlow so a comparison was hardly fair. Iwas aware that staff rejoined panel at end of march, but youare right I wasnt at Carlow game due to family engagement. Glad Iwasnt in hindsight as I believe it wasnt pretty. bigman55 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 23/04/2009 20:28:56 266747 Link 0 |
Fair point over the bar, he might not be anonymous but surely he would fit in nicely with the rest of us cynics,actually he could probably teach us a thing or two,dont youthink? hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 23/04/2009 20:34:52 266754 Link 0 |
I for 1 was happy to here this news, Wicklow have found it very hard to solve the midfield problem throughout the league. This is not an under 10 club match where you play a lad just because he hasn't missed a training session, This is Senior Intercounty Champtionship!The best players available MUST play. Managment are judged on results and results only! Colm O'Rourke Summed it up well when he said "Nice guys don't win" horn neck (None) - Posts: 28 - 23/04/2009 23:29:32 266939 Link 0 |
This whole thread is interesting. I'm going to disregard any comments from Carlow people because they are merely comments made out of spite. The debate between Wicklow folk is very interesting though. While I do agree with the people who are saying TW shouldn't be allowed on the panel when it comes down to it we have no say. It's a managerial decision. And having watched Wicklow in the league it's fairly apparent why they decided he was needed. Also I can't agree with anybody who says they won't follow Wicklow because of this. It's still our team and we have to get behind them. anon (None) - Posts: 356 - 24/04/2009 01:12:04 266994 Link 0 |
ANON: maybe you should read all the carlow posts and see if you still come to that conclusion which I think is rather unfair. All I personally have asked for is an admission from wicklow supporters that wicklow did not act very honourably in this affair . They exploited a situation here and pulled every stroke in the book in order to get their man. Id be the first to admit that our co. board acted stupidly and then compounded the situation by trying to stop the transfer,thereby aggravating the matter further, but nevertheless I still cannot understand how wicklowco. board acted in such a sneaky manner. No use crying over spilt milk I know but it just sticks in the craw of many Carlow people that wicklow people will not accept that their board did wrong also. Hope this isint too spiteful for you. Last word on this I promise. dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 24/04/2009 11:03:20 267144 Link 0 |
I will admit our county board didn't really cover themselves in glory. But I don't think it's up to us as the wicklow fans to take the blame for that. That's why I think the comments here are spiteful because the majority are targetting about us, the fans, who hadn't any say in the matter. anon (None) - Posts: 356 - 24/04/2009 15:23:14 267405 Link 0 |
I'd imagine if Walshe was looking at this he would say,Wicklow really want me & Carlow really want me,my opinion is leave him with Carlow,Wicklow done well for themselves last year and he wasnt training during the winter for the Garden County so which would mean Micko would have to omit someone from his panel for someone who'd rather play rugby for a club in a different county and playing for a different county Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 06/05/2009 01:53:51 275848 Link 0 |
Im sure Thomas Walsh is a very intellegent guy not too hard to figure out He has a chance of winning wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 08/05/2009 23:18:17 278779 Link 0 |