Dead as Dodos, anscadanglic (Wicklow) - Posts: 64 - 20/04/2009 17:21:25 263140 Link 0 |
an ceist mór anois, would he make the team? thats your post scadán . Why did you pose that question ? simple answer will suffice please. Obviously you cant give one now that the dirty deal is done. OVER THE BAR if you think we are talking amateur here youre living in cloud cuckoo land. Shane myers has been living in Carlow for last 15 years and Donie Kingston moved back to barrowhouse with his whole family, so pls dont introduce spurious comparisons to try and defend the indefensible. dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 20/04/2009 18:04:19 263188 Link 0 |
H hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 20/04/2009 18:44:31 263223 Link 0 |
In fairness Hogg I don't think Dwyer went chasing him "all over Carlow" - as I understand it it was more a case of him being left sitting in his car in a Ballytarsna farm yard waiting for over two hours until he finally gave up and drove home before returning again on Good Friday when he finally got his man. Still, I agree with you that is is funny to think that resorting to this is what managing Wicklow now involves for reputably the greatest manager in the history of the GAA. They truly have brought Micko down to their level and I'm delighted for all concerned. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1603 - 20/04/2009 21:51:51 263407 Link 0 |
Mick O'Dwyer drove up from Kerry to track down Walsh but was careful to change his reg plates to CW (from WW or KY). He was in disguise and had to sit waiting in his car in an isolated farmyard in the Carlow countryside for two hours. He had a suitcase and an Easter egg on his front seat. Walsh didn't appear so O'Dwyer headed straight home to Waterville. O'Dwyer was determined to get his man and drove back up again on Good Friday. This time he looked across the yard and another county manager (who I can't name but had glasses) was sitting in his car with two Easter eggs on his front seat. This made O'Dwyer even more determined and he raced to Fenagh and bought (put down as expenses) more Easter eggs. More tomorrow on the truth about how Mick O'Dwyer was spotted at Thomas Walsh's house... over the bar (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 20/04/2009 23:00:24 263504 Link 0 |
OVER THE BAR: your post is very witty and all that,but you seem to miss the whole point of the matter. What is odwyer doing running to another co. to try and secure the services of someone who has shown no interest in playing for wicklow up to now. If you were a member of panel how would you feel about this little escapade. You obviously have no interest in Wicklow and regard the whole thing as a joke and you know youre right cos thats what we are. As someone posted here we are now proud holders of" worst co. in gaelic games" title . Im sure you think this is another reason for mirth, well fine but I for one dont. bigman55 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 21/04/2009 17:46:36 264366 Link 0 |
Good post Over the Bar, but you omitted to mention what was in the suitcase? Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1603 - 21/04/2009 22:08:10 264602 Link 0 |
Pat.the.Brat (Wicklow) - Posts: 21 - 21/04/2009 22:52:30 264688 Link 0 |
Bye Bye to the lads who trained all winter... No player is bigger than a county Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 22/04/2009 12:32:04 265076 Link 0 |
The whole thing is a disgrace. This county has been dragged into a debacle that will scar the county for years to come. Thomas Walsh should never have transferred in the first place. If the club is the root of the GAA, then what does that say about him that he leaves club and county. He should have stayed away totally this year from both counties especially after missing the league. Then 2010 go back and do the right thing and rejoin his own county. soreilly (Wicklow) - Posts: 202 - 22/04/2009 12:44:11 265083 Link 0 |
There's only one player rejoining the squad so how would it be bye, bye to the lads (plural) who trained all winter? If 'the lads' are good enough they will still make it. Some lads weren't up to the grade at under 21 level so shouldn't still be in the senior squad anyway. Plenty of places in the squad since the Blessington lads pulled out and McGrath got his serious injury. This rehash of the Walsh affair is boring because he has been a Wicklow player since 2007. over the bar (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 22/04/2009 13:48:15 265151 Link 0 |
Its great to have thomas back and like before come championsip time the begruggers will have found something else terrible with Wicklow football to rant about. Get a life . wick (Wicklow) - Posts: 57 - 22/04/2009 13:54:50 265160 Link 0 |
Totaly agree with you soreilly.Even after all this debacle i would like to see Thomas Walsh back in a Carlow jersey again,be it football or hurling.You are correct about he should have left it this year(esp after missing the league and not even saying where his commitments lie)i think he to should have stayed quiet and come back to whoever in 2010 and things mighnt have been so bad. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 22/04/2009 14:06:22 265167 Link 0 |
He might be a Wicklow player on paper but do you not think it's strange that he will be on the starting 15 to face Longford even though he hasn't trained or played once with his club in Bray all year and he has been playing rugby which demands a totally different fitness and stamina? Clavicleboy (None) - Posts: 40 - 22/04/2009 14:28:37 265190 Link 0 |
Can i ask how any Wicklow GAA supporter get behind TW after the disregard he has shown to his own county and now yours. If his heart was in this at all surely he would have prepared for the football championship by playing football not rugby. From my own point of view, I never want to see Thomas Walsh next or near a Carlow panel again. He helped to beat Wicklow out the gate in 2006 and now he is back with Wicklow again after a poor Carlow team has beaten you convincingly on your promotion push. Best of luck to all genuine Wicklow people in Gaa this summer. Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 22/04/2009 14:41:00 265208 Link 0 |
OVERTHEBAR: ok we get it . I dont know how many times you have come on here telling us that thomas walsh is a wicklow player since 2007. What is your point ? or is it just that you have nothing to say . We are not arguing bout his status. What kind of a wicklow man are you that you would prefer to see someone who has no interest in wicklow play before genuine lads who have been training all winter. bigman55 (Wicklow) - Posts: 12 - 22/04/2009 19:28:36 265571 Link 0 |
Just happened upon this pitiful contribution from Believer on the Carlow message board on 5/2/09 - "Ha...do you not find it embarrassing that your manager is pinning the whole hope of the county on a guy that walked out ... Must make the rest of the panel feel good about themselves!!!" At least our manager was loyal to his committed players when he drew a line in the sand early in the league but then, as clearly seen on Easter Sunday, he did so knowing that there is more footballers in Carlow than Thomas Walshe which is clearly more than Micko could say about Wicklow. Tell us now Believer how you think the Wicklow panel must feel about themselves in light of this most recent carry on? I hope we get ye in the qualifiers, it would be a nice way to end Mickos tenure as Wicklow manager, and anyway at least on 9 May next I can look forward to us giving your hurlers the type of mauling that Wicklow minors have become accustomed to. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1603 - 22/04/2009 20:47:36 265622 Link 0 |
Will you all just get over it!! What can Wicklow people do if the management decide to play him again? NOTHING magpie11 (Wicklow) - Posts: 143 - 22/04/2009 21:05:47 265642 Link 0 |
bigman55 - What is your point? You agree with his status as a Wicklow player. How do you know he has no interest in Wicklow? Have you a problem with James Stafford playing before the 'genuine' lads who have been training since January 1st? over the bar (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 22/04/2009 22:35:39 265764 Link 0 |
Interesting point Over the Bar- like you've pointed out James Stafford has recently returned from Oz- I believe he couldn't find work out there and so came back after a few months. I don't think many of us would begrudge a young fella like him going off and enjoying himself for a year. I'm sure many of us have done the same or know lads in similar positions. But using the argument that has been raised by several posters here perhaps he should now be left off the county panel for a lack of committment- and what about the lads at Rathnew and Wicklow who've lost their place as a result of his return despite months of training??!! See what i'm getting at? stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 23/04/2009 00:56:50 265864 Link 0 |