Ice Baths debate

I would like to put forward a positive argument for ice baths. i have coached a college team to all ireland success and ice baths were an integral part of our post-training routine. of course, it did not stop parents ringing up and calling us 'anti-christs' for such practices, but the benefits were indisputable.

having used them myself before, i know myself the recovery preiod is considerably shortened, and your legs feel much lighter, fresher and ready to go again even the next day after training. i admit it is a shock to a system when you step into the bath, but many budding managers forget to realise that you are not meant to go into an ice bath above your waist.

many scientists and disgruntled parents and old school managers will be surprsied or maybe unwilling to hear that many players in fact are demanding that ice baths be provided as they know how beneficial they are. i have recieved personal criticism for using ice baths on young lads, with allegations that they are 'useless', and that its 'madness', and the usual one: 'sure, its all in the head'.

Such criticisms are quickly rebutted when i ask the accuser: so how many all ireland medals do you have? would you like to see mine?

ps. editor, a positive article on ice baths would be most welcome on the main page in the interests of impartiality.

student (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 01/05/2008 15:34:53    14451

When you get into an ice bath for five to 10 minutes, the icy cold water causes your blood vessels to tighten and drains the blood out of your legs. After 10 minutes your legs feel cold and numb. If you stay in any longer is has a negative affect.

I personally believe it to be terrible for your heart. I think it is more down to the skills of the players rather than whether they use an ice bath or not.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 01/05/2008 15:50:20    14484

Dunno about ice baths but Cillit Bang ones are not to be recommended as I indicated in an earlier post!!!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 01/05/2008 16:18:52    14512

any of the Donegal posters remember the photo of McFadden and Durcan in one last year in the Donegal post? funny as hell. I'm In two minds whether there good or bad..

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 01/05/2008 16:35:56    14525

Agree with student. however,some lads do not NEED these baths as others do.
the right way to do it is *15seconds in- straight into hot shower for 15 seconds
then 30 seconds bath-30seconds shower
30 seconds bath - finish with your full shower then.
only go in as far as your waist

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 01/05/2008 16:41:35    14531

ice baths were never meant to be some miracle cure from injury......dey remove acid from ur body after excercise and help prevent quicker recover and less aches and pains not cure injuries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Obama (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 01/05/2008 17:20:21    14548

Ice Baths debate
any of the Donegal posters remember the photo of McFadden and Durcan in one last year in the Donegal post? funny as hell. I'm In two minds whether there good or bad..
Legend92 , 01/05/2008 at 16:35

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 01/05/2008 17:20:55    14549

anyone who thinks staying in an ice bath for 10 minutes is the proper method is a certified lunatic. i should have clarified in my initial post but it has since been adequately stated by rhodejim, the correct method is a short period of exposure (30-60sec) combined with a hot shower.

forever burned in my memory is an image from the dubs tv documentary a few years back. the dubs were taking ice baths after training and i remember shane ryan and mark vaughan were in up to their necks in ice water, vaughan could not conceal his obvious discomfort while stoneyfaced ryan was smirking at the young lad who needed to toughen up.

Now that was lunacy. no wonder the dubs did not win the all ireland that year or since, but alas, the methodology behind the reasoning of the dublin management is outside the scope of this particular thread.

student (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 01/05/2008 17:22:13    14550

are ye trying to wind me up jayo????

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 01/05/2008 17:24:16    14553

Its the biggest load of codology ive ever heard. Do ya think mick o connell or christy ring bothered with any of this nonsense. Recovery time, i never heard such rubbish. All this talk of psychologists and physicians and statisticions.................... A load of coswallop. Just get out there and play and get on with it. And if you feel a bit sore afterwards so what? A quick run and you ll be back to normal again soon enough. Honestly, has everyone in GAA gone soft............

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 01/05/2008 17:33:23    14557

A lot of injuries are caused in training.
There is this old view in the GAA that for the last ten minutes they would say come on push it lads which causes groins,hamstrings and other muscles to strain and tear.

Warm downs after matches and training might be a good alternative to ice baths.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 01/05/2008 17:49:04    14574

obviously 'whiterbannas' is a member of the 'old school' brigade to which i refer to above. of course mick o'connell et al did not use ice baths. well done sherlock.

unfortunately there is a sizeable portion of the GAA fraternity who are simply closed to progress and development in the way we approach our games. the inter county teams of today are miles ahead of the teams of yesteryear in terms of fitness and conditioning. remarks such as mick o'connell never used ice baths are really quite irreleveant to the discussion, and are indicative of an underlying bias towards 'progress', something which is alive and well in the GAA.

student (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 01/05/2008 17:51:16    14575

You cant beat a massage for a happy ending to any training session!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 01/05/2008 22:10:37    14618

Student

Are you saying you shouldnt be in an ice bath above your waste is correct? and Is it for only thirty to sixty seconds? if so can it really be of use? Im more scared of having a heart attack most of the time lol

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 02/05/2008 08:00:28    14667

Mick O'Connell's wind down system after matches was unique. Got the early evening train from Dublin. Dragged his punt down the strand at Renard and rowed across to Valentia Island. Pulled the punt up the slipway and ran about a mile uphill to his home.Up early the following morning and had a couple of miles run with his beagles.Did not need ice baths,shrinks etc. A legend.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 02/05/2008 09:16:43    14679

Lash on a bit of deep heat and you'll be grand.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 02/05/2008 09:37:29    14695

LOL. I knew you would be a man for the "happy ending" Horse.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 02/05/2008 09:39:14    14698

Hope the editor allows this because I am not trying to be a funny man here, Im serious! There are two lads attached to our bodies which hang outside for a reason!......To keep them cool. Surely an Ice Bath must have a detrimental effect on this pair of lads by directly cooling them to extreme levels without protection. Can a cold shower (after a hot one) not suffice....thats what I do, but not for an injury reason or the muscles or anything, but because it is refreshing!! I dunno! Any thoughts?! Regards, Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/05/2008 09:41:43    14701

If your good enough your good enough.
Not much point in some counties using them because they will win nothing.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 02/05/2008 09:47:45    14713

Who is Mick O'Connell never heard of him in my life.
I'd say he played for Dublin in the 70's.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 02/05/2008 09:49:23    14715