Gaelic life, its on a corner on the far side of the bridge as you from Eislar Park. I think there might have been a cab company on same street but can't remember name. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/05/2009 15:58:59 289104 Link 0 |
i agree with you but what i'm saying is the problem is worse in Dublin, there is pleanty of you tube footage around that show the hill doing some unslightly stuff! Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 20/05/2009 16:08:46 289123 Link 0 |
PJ The_Defender (Kerry) - Posts: 48 - 20/05/2009 17:25:12 289203 Link 0 |
I've been going to matches for more than 30 years. The bad old days of running battles with the Gardai on Hill 16 in the early 80s have thankfully been long left behind, there was a few who latched on to the Dubs in those days and all they wanted was a fight. I think things have improved a lot on the Hill in recent years compared to how it was and I have to say in the last few years I've seen a few nasty incidents in Croke Park and outside the stadium involving fans of other counties. bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 20/05/2009 17:53:08 289237 Link 0 |
the AI semi final in 2002. Armagh v Dublin.. corrinshego (Armagh) - Posts: 305 - 20/05/2009 18:56:09 289298 Link 0 |
Correct Buba, every county that gets a bit of success will attract an element that doesnt normally go to games. Dont really believe that this post is very relevant but im interested none the less. My own county has the North Armagh Buckfast Brigade, only seen in the summer months, an animal that hibernates all winter long. sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 20/05/2009 20:30:06 289360 Link 0 |
was it mccoys? its prob the closest pub to pairc esler. gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 21/05/2009 00:28:28 289533 Link 0 |
gaelic life, was possibly the first place we came to on the way down from the park but definitely other side of the canal bridge, the one that has the Canal Court on your left. Name means nothing to me. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/05/2009 10:26:07 289659 Link 0 |
corrinshego PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 21/05/2009 11:20:46 289743 Link 0 |
Chester1970 County: Armagh Posts: 232 244355 hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 515 243750 Only time I ever felt that I was in genuine danger of a bating was in Newry after Dublin beat Derry in hurling under 21 semi final. Not Derry fans, locals, and I'd say it was just being a stranger in a blue jersey in wrong place at wrong time! Managed to extricate ourselves. I can see why some people are uneasy in the company of some of the scum who follow Dublin in the Summer. Am uneasy myself to be honest and avoid anywhere they are likely to be, including unfortunately a certain section of the Hill. Spent that day in a pub on the Warrenpoint road on the way to Pairc Esler. We were joined by approx 40-50 dubs fans who came in for a drink, were treated to a barbecue, and had a thoroghly good couple of hours.. No grief,no abuse, just good craic agus ceoil. In fact they had the infamous banjo player with them. Needs a bit of practice, but no matter....cannot believe that this happened...... Gaelic life i was there that day....it was not McCoys.... Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 21/05/2009 11:33:29 289764 Link 0 |
This thread is a bit of a cul-de-sac alright, long may it continue... Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 21/05/2009 11:40:34 289772 Link 0 |
There is a very small percentage of gob***** that follow every county and club in the country and when you get a few of them together it does sound nasty and is slightly sickening for the genuine fan. There is a little element of soccer chanting at some games but that about all it is nothing more. If you look at it realistically there will probably be 100 club games on over the next week and there will be no need for the Garda or PSNI at any of them unless to direct traffic, where as at any league of Ireland game the Garda / PSNI would be all over the place and purely to prevent crowd trouble and most of these games wouldn't have as big of a crowd as the GAA match. After every GAA game it does be nice to see supporters shake hands and wish each other well in the next round / back door ect. (I know the looser is really thinking wait till the nest time we play and we will kick the stuffing out of ye!!!) Because GAA supporters know its more that just a game it's about pride and passion and while your passion can over run during a game you will NEVER EVER let your pride down. antomeath (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 21/05/2009 12:03:48 289794 Link 0 |
I as on the Hill for Dublin vs. Tyrone in the league this year and someone threw a coin at me and it cut me bad enough.However I think crowd trouble is just a small minority of hooligans who don't have an interest in the match! dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 21/05/2009 12:13:39 289803 Link 0 |