Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 3515 244068 Patrique you would not have had the guts to do that fact. Which one? Throw you over the stand or the Ulster flag and songs? If the first, I personally would not throw you out of the second tier, although sometimes I may be tempted, but the more salubrious Antrim following would. If it is the latter, the flag, the Sash, and "give us back the 26" been there, done it, and got the T-shirt. April 25th, 1971. Our teachers were so proud of us, especially the history teachers. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/04/2009 00:28:46 245080 Link 0 |
Poor island lads always getting bad press,but fair play to them in 2005 our bus left with out 6 of us were told 7.30 Skylawn colorful words used !!! but Coalisland lads managed to squeeze us on and wee had a fantastic night in the Island. williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 01/04/2009 00:58:19 245092 Link 0 |
In last couple of years there has been a bit of trouble amongst Tipperary fans. Mostly its between themselves, as far as I know its 2 gangs one of them from Carrick on Suir and its got nothing to do with hurling. They wrecked a train coming back from a match in Killarney a couple of years ago and it nearly kicked off in the terraces between them last year. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 01/04/2009 10:03:59 245159 Link 0 |
I remember many problems with the Cork supporters form the seventies all the way up the the ninties. From memory I look back as a kid in Killarney at a Munster football Final (Kerry the old enemy) and remember the soccer style stuff from our own faithfull behind the goal. Back then it was only a few hundred but as time went on the the crew got larger and Cork supporters gained a very bad reputation in Munster. Through the eighties and into the early ninties the "city end" (as they liked to call themselves) were not a very bad advertisement for Cork Hurling and football but few hundred had grown into several thousand. Of course the new additions were not all trouble makers but a many of them were and a lot of the others were want to bee's. Apart from a Kerry encounter these boys like to support the hurlers. Althought I must say over the last several years I havent seen or heard much about Cork fan trouble. Maybe I am out of touch? northside (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 03/04/2009 03:54:15 247088 Link 0 |
They were very well behaved in the city end when dublin were down in 83,there was a couple of thousand dublin fans in there and there was no trouble. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 03/04/2009 10:03:20 247146 Link 0 |
Worst experience I had with Cork ones was in Thurles after Munster final with Waterford when they were pretty obnoxious in the station and around the town and Waterford supporters were obviously uncomfortable but more a case of young fellas in gangs being ossified. Your normal Friday/Saturday night in any city or big town x 10. Have seen Dublin supporters in Carrick on Shannon, Navan etc the same although curiously you don't get huge gangs of Dubs together as you did in the 70s/80s and big groups tend to be club members who are fine and will keep the odd drunk under restraint! hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/04/2009 11:16:35 247237 Link 0 |
northside, those lads you refer to, did they throw a pool ball at Eamon Cregan in a game in Cork in the mid-80's? A Limerick V Cork game, or maybe a Limerick V Clare game when he managed the Banner. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6483 - 03/04/2009 11:20:58 247245 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 1474 243537 Real GAA, it was Ross Carr who goaded the Hill. I dont have a problem with that, he spent 70 mins getting abuse from us, he is entitled to give us a bit of stick back. No Problem. But that day, what I will never forget, and as ridiculous as this sounds, Holymoly will confoim this to any who dont believe it, 2 Down "fans" came over to the Hill and unfurled a....Union Jack....No way you might think...sure Down GAA lads with a Union Jack, as believable as Real Louth Fan talking sense, but it actually genuinely happened! There were people in the Hill frothing at the mouth to get them!! I remember thinking the Down fans would be more likely to "sort" them than the caged animals in the Hill!! They quickly discarded it and joined in the celebrations!! But as true as God it happened and as I say Holymoly will back me up on that one. Liam still find this one hard to believe,its the biggest load of rubbish ive ever heard and find it amazing none of the ulster brigade took it up with you. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 03/04/2009 11:31:36 247259 Link 0 |
There was probably a slogan of some sort on that flag such as 'ulster says yes' It would have been a joke. CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 03/04/2009 11:52:20 247281 Link 0 |
CheFinny PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 03/04/2009 12:50:26 247347 Link 0 |
Only crowd trouble i ever remember was at a Cork Hurling match in Thurles about 6 or 7 years ago, but it was between a bunch of Cor klads in the town end terrace, some drunk lad got a puck for being a clown and returned with about 15 lads.. think the Gardai quickly intervened. ontheditch (None) - Posts: 38 - 03/04/2009 13:17:31 247379 Link 0 |
Saw some trouble among the Antrim fans last year when Cavan were playing them. I dont think the TWO of them liked each other !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 03/04/2009 13:51:43 247415 Link 0 |
Funny i came across this thread after just posting on the same issue on the Louth site!! peterpan (Louth) - Posts: 80 - 03/04/2009 15:28:10 247529 Link 0 |
There was a bit of a scrap between two Tipp lads at the Munster final. Apart from that I have never seen a bit of bother. I dont think there is any problem to be honest. saffron21 (Antrim) - Posts: 138 - 03/04/2009 15:52:11 247562 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 1602 247415 Saw some trouble among the Antrim fans last year when Cavan were playing them. I dont think the TWO of them liked each other !! Only joking Pat !!! This is not too far from the truth. And as it was an awful game, bar a few bits of genius from Johnson and a few good scores from CJ, so any diversion would have been welcome. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 03/04/2009 21:47:14 247907 Link 0 |
i remember trouble at the 1984 all ireland semi final when the dubs on the hill had running battles with the garda during the game,then came on the pitch after the game and made their way over to the hogan stand where most of the tyrone support were situated.it got fairly nasty,with objects being thrown by both sides.the other game that sticks out is the 1995 ulster semi final between tyrone and derry.fights were breaking out in the crowd all afternoon.easily the nastiest atmosphere i have encountered at an inter county game. orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 04/04/2009 11:15:23 248110 Link 0 |
Leitrim v Roscommon has thrown up some nasty crowd trouble. BobMalooka (Leitrim) - Posts: 37 - 09/04/2009 14:35:50 253181 Link 0 |
Awk it's really only dublin and meath who'd be at thta carry on... sure they don';t know any better... HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 09/04/2009 15:49:19 253270 Link 0 |
Careful now hokeypokey!Ive never encountered anything serious in my travels..its only really the places with the jar involved theres trouble,Ilove to see it but meath lads going up on hill 16 i asking for trouble.. keep_the_faith (Meath) - Posts: 400 - 19/04/2009 22:22:15 262418 Link 0 |
I mind Meath fans climbing up taking Dublin flags down after the tyrone match in 07... HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 19/04/2009 22:50:39 262464 Link 0 |