I confess we brought an Ulster Flag (the Loyalist one) to the Hogan Cup final in 1971 at Croke, constantly chanted "Give us back the 26" and had a hearty rendition of the Sash, but then schoolboys will be schoolboys. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/03/2009 22:59:37 244064 Link 0 |
Patrique you would not have had the guts to do that fact. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 30/03/2009 23:03:10 244068 Link 0 |
I havent seen any trouble at county games now. There is always a bit of banter between the fans on the terraces, but then sure you're having the craic with the same people in the pub after the game. Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 31/03/2009 00:33:23 244136 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown. Ross Carr may have done it as well but it was yer man McCartan who I rememeber. I spoke to Vinny Murphy about it after the game and he said he took him aside at the players lunch and confronted him about it. realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 31/03/2009 07:46:02 244174 Link 0 |
Just on an historical note, the first real crowd trouble at a GAA match in modern times (lots of fighting back in the day!) was at a Kerry Derry league semi final in 1974 I think in Croke Park when there was serious fighting mainly between Derry people and Gardai but that was probably more to do with the political situation and the fact that the then Government was pretty heavy handed in its attitude to republicans or anyone they thought might be. I was there for some strange reason (either Dublin hurlers or Dublin club game before it) as a small child and remember it vividly. Pretty scary. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 31/03/2009 08:45:33 244182 Link 0 |
Been debating with Liam as to which match we saw the union jack unveiled in front of the hill. Liam says Down 94, I think it was Derry 93 - couldn't make it to Down 94 as I was on crutches. Either way it definitely happened. I think a lot of us were in shock that GAA fans would do this regardless of where they're from. Thought it was tacky enough for the opposition fans to come over to the hill to slag us off after winning by a point in the last minute but its a case of every county has idiots like that. holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 31/03/2009 10:01:06 244223 Link 0 |
Apologies to the Down fans, I am mistaken. Spoke to Holy, it was the Derry 93 game the UJ was unfurled, not the Down game. Sorry lads. Hands up on that one. I knew it happened just got the wrong game. Tomaoo it was nearly as u describe, i remember these crazed lunatics trying to scale the old creamy fence at the front of the hill, one nutter especially with a big massive Umbrella, but the Stewards stopped them! Its funny the stupidity of some idiots in the Hill too. Anytime we played the Teams from the 6 counties a load of lads who were old enough to know better used to sing IRA IRA to them.....i didnt think it safe to point out the irony of what they were singing to them!! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 31/03/2009 10:08:18 244230 Link 0 |
Liam I remember playing in a Fresher All-Ireland semi-final back in the mid 90's against Queens. We lost by a point in a tough encounter and at the end of the match 2 Queens players started singing "Id rather be a packie than a paddy". Troubled young fellas i thought myself! denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 31/03/2009 10:22:26 244240 Link 0 |
liam i would be shocked if derry fans would to that,i was in the lower cusack that day when match was over i was in front of the hill,derry fans got out from the canal end thousands ran down to the hill looking for trouble,i thought were going to get slaughtered here he few dubs on the pitch of course some of the hill were trying to get over the fence to confront the derry fans,but he hill gave the derry fans a standing ovation ,they were shocked and did,nt know what to do so they left it at that.But i remember a few going to the hill but i never seen a union jack and if i did i would have held themand giving them to the lions i mean the hill.I dont doubt your story why would you lie but i would be shocked to see a union jack with derry fans.It shows you the character of dublin fans to refuse to engage that day.Later drinking with derry fans and talking to them they explained that these fans were from the city and soccer fans and did repersent the derry gaa fan.We had a great day with derry fans and derry piper band in the hoganstand pub. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 31/03/2009 11:03:40 244283 Link 0 |
hurlingdub Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 31/03/2009 12:51:31 244355 Link 0 |
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 515 I can see why some people are uneasy in the company of some of the **** who follow Dublin in the Summer. Am uneasy myself to be honest and avoid anywhere they are likely to be, including unfortunately a certain section of the Hill. Hurling dub you have stepped across the white line with this comment.Tell me why you could call any dublin gaa fan ****.I go to all games and it's a long time since i,ve seen any trouble at a dublin game. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 31/03/2009 13:10:27 244368 Link 0 |
remember a few years back in Clones when Armagh boys started to chant there's no London in our name towards us Derry ones. Got very heated but it didn't boil over thankfully bogsidegael (Derry) - Posts: 30 - 31/03/2009 13:35:49 244394 Link 0 |
Afraid so Chester. I'd say it was just a kip of a pub and had nothing to do with us being Dubs. I'd say any 'stranger' was fair game. Anyway, it ended well! hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 31/03/2009 13:52:04 244411 Link 0 |
Regarding the Derry match in '93 , I too was on the hill and remember some of the Derry fans trying to goad the Hill and a large amount of Dubs fans giving it back just as bad. Thankfully the fences were good and high back then as god only knows what might've happened. Thankfully the sensible majority of Dublin & Derry fans managed to prevail and I'll never forget the reaction of the Dubs fans applauding the Derry fans and the decent Derry fans returning the compliment. Never thought way back then that I#d actually end up living in Derry. As for the Union Jack? I genuinely don't remember that but I remember some of the armchair republicans on the hill burning one at half time when the Dubs played Kildare in the late 90's. dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 31/03/2009 13:53:08 244412 Link 0 |
i remember an armagh and dublin match a few years ago cnt remember what year, but it wasnt when they played in 2002 but anyway i was leaving the city after watching the match and there was 3 or 4 armagh boys bating a dub with the bamboo sticks out of flags up and down the street. they gave him an awful beating boy! ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 31/03/2009 14:20:19 244429 Link 0 |
hurlingdub Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 31/03/2009 14:39:27 244459 Link 0 |
I'd say now it was just a bad pub and/or just the wrong time to be in it. I won't say which it was but not far from the bridge as you in from the Park. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 31/03/2009 15:13:48 244500 Link 0 |
Tyrone fans fighting with each other after the 2005 Ulster Final in the car park. Drinking on the roof of their mini bus one got knocked off, ****** on from the roof and all hell broke loose. Coalisland lot. CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 31/03/2009 15:15:40 244504 Link 0 |
cork kery i think it was 04 very serious fighting in the upper tiers of new stand about 200 fans involved leroy (UK) - Posts: 223 - 31/03/2009 21:41:10 244919 Link 0 |
CheFinny. Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 31/03/2009 23:28:17 245041 Link 0 |