Festiinog, those clowns prob thought they were being funny. I wouldnt take any notice, prob wouldnt say boo to a ghost on their own. Altho I wouldnt take that too personally, it could have been anyone. I had a similar experience in Thurles in 01! We were all in some watering hole after the first game, all Dubs and Kerry lads giving it loads, great crack. Molly followed by the Rose of Tralee etc....Then there was 3 seconds silence so me drunk as a fool started belting out Boom Boom Boom lemmie hear ya say Jayo...no one responded, then some wag points at me and roars out "on your own" soon the whole pub was pointing at poor Liamo belting out "on your own, on your own" Some mortification, but some crack all the same!!! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 16:13:12 243598 Link 0 |
fans" stood up and did the British soccer thing of pointing while chanting "Culchie! Culchie"... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 16:16:13 243605 Link 0 |
Jimbo, what on earth is funny about that??? Cop on man Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 16:23:53 243622 Link 0 |
Sorry Liam - I cracked up too! Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 30/03/2009 16:31:10 243637 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 1445 243622 Jimbo, what on earth is funny about that??? Whoops that was a case of pressing add message too soon.. It was meant to read; Hahahahaha - I've never heard British soccer fans screaming " Culchie Culchie" at each other. At the same time you cant go on whinging about a few morons in a pub.. especially that pub. It's hardly the Morgan Bar! You go in a place like that and your always running the risk, same as meself down the country on numerous occasions running into trouble because of my accent, a fairly tame Northside accent I might add, it's part and parcel of it, I agree that it was out of order, 100% on all sides. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 16:35:25 243649 Link 0 |
Down fans with union jacks, hardly a surprise there..... sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 30/03/2009 16:37:08 243651 Link 0 |
festinog jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 16:41:06 243656 Link 0 |
Dubinmeath jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 16:48:59 243669 Link 0 |
Oh Good God, i dont think a few dubs shouting "culchie, culchie" at someone constitutes crowd trouble. Maybe ya should have just laughed it off as a bit of craic redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 30/03/2009 16:56:16 243688 Link 0 |
Well aren't ye all brave men. I'll try and be more like ye in future. Silly me. It was all my fault of course. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 30/03/2009 17:14:06 243721 Link 0 |
At the hurling quarters in 2007, a drunk wearing a Galway jersey was giving dreadful abuse to Tipp fans, especially when Wexford won the game. Now this was in the Upper Cusack, and eventually one enraged Tipp man started to clamber over the seats to attack yer man. However the Tipp man tripped on the seats and then, and only then, the stewards evicted this eejit. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/03/2009 17:17:42 243730 Link 0 |
Sorry I meant what happened to Liam in Thurles was funny! Think I was one of those singing at him too!!! Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 30/03/2009 17:18:55 243734 Link 0 |
Only time I ever felt that I was in genuine danger of a bating was in Newry after Dublin beat Derry in hurling under 21 semi final. Not Derry fans, locals, and I'd say it was just being a stranger in a blue jersey in wrong place at wrong time! Managed to extricate ourselves. I can see why some people are uneasy in the company of some of the scum who follow Dublin in the Summer. Am uneasy myself to be honest and avoid anywhere they are likely to be, including unfortunately a certain section of the Hill. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/03/2009 17:27:10 243750 Link 0 |
2 Down "fans" came over to the Hill and unfurled a....Union Jack....No way you might think...sure Down GAA lads with a Union Jack, as believable as Real Louth Fan talking sense, but it actually genuinely happened! Liam i think this the biggest load of bull i have ever heard ,i was there and many friends this would never happen at gaa match where dublins involved because people would'nt be frothing they would be straight over that fence. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 30/03/2009 17:30:57 243760 Link 0 |
There has been no serious trouble since Mrs Brady chased the ref round Breffni Park in 1967 brandishing her umbrella !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/03/2009 18:08:35 243807 Link 0 |
As Flanders has mentioned, Dublin v Galway in 1983 was very hairy for Galway supporters with cars and buses getting stoned after the match. Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 30/03/2009 18:16:27 243814 Link 0 |
Liam not sure where tyrones fans fighting last year because i followed them all year and seen nothing but against dublin in croke park i have seen dublin fans been put out of ground so could you highlight this tyrone incident. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 30/03/2009 18:20:36 243818 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown, re your "crown trouble and menace" !! Was that a freudian slip or related to another "sport" on Sat night ? Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/03/2009 18:40:36 243833 Link 0 |
Mayo fans throw wooden spoons at players, and Meath fans throw cups of tea at players. PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 30/03/2009 20:27:33 243902 Link 0 |
Liamwalkinstown No.15 (Down) - Posts: 193 - 30/03/2009 22:41:28 244046 Link 0 |