Is this an increasing problem? Is it a tiny minority? Is it creeping into GAA. Is it just a sad reflection on a more secular, less respectful, post tiger Irish society? I see Slayer and CorkCelt mentioning a few minor incidents in the Limerck Cork game at the weekend. Remember the Mayo "fan" throwing the wooden spoon at Donaghy. The story in the Tribune last year about the Tipp fans giving the Limerick fella a hiding after a match in the Gaelic Grounds. And as someone who goes to the Hill on a semi regular basis there are plenty in there would be only to happy to "have a go" if the chance presented itself. Add to that the carry on of a few Tyrone fans last summer and the U21 Munster Final last year and are we staring into a future where crown trouble and menace in the terraces could become a real problem? Is it just inevitable in modern Ireland, or is it no more and no less of a problem than it ever was? I recall my uncle telling me stories of the 83 semi final in Cork where Dubs fans and Cork fans actually charged each other in the terraces..... I still cant even begin to imagine it in the GAA today. Can you? Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 14:56:58 243464 Link 0 |
Liam , was in Cork that day in '83 and apart from a ''welcoming commitee'' of Cork's ''finest'' near the station I don't remember anything serious at all happening. Near the end when McNally scored his famous goal about 30/40 Cork fans ran from the City end towards the blackrock end but were stopped by the Gardai and stewards. Mind you I was only 12 then and wouldn't have been near any bother anyways. dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 30/03/2009 15:14:11 243490 Link 0 |
I dont think its a problem. i go to lots of games and have actually never experienced the type of behaviour you talk about. I have no doubt it goes on, but they are very rare incidents i think. Its no worse than it ever was. Every county produces a certain percentage of morons, that's the way it has always been. I still enjoy socialising in the pub afterwards with opposition fans and having the craic. I hope that never changes redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 30/03/2009 15:15:00 243491 Link 0 |
Its been around for quiet a while Liam Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 30/03/2009 15:15:26 243494 Link 0 |
Hey...wheres my link to the 1983 all ireland final gone: Basically the synopsis was 1 fan stabbed and the various Galway buses having stones thrown at them..... Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 30/03/2009 15:18:47 243503 Link 0 |
In all the games I've gone to there has been argy bargy only once where a few slaps were thrown but it was knocked on the head pretty quick if you'll pardon the pun.In other words no it's not an issue. northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 30/03/2009 15:19:04 243505 Link 0 |
I can only talk first hand about Limerick and Dublin. With Dublin, its there, we all know its there and its depressing. Be it 200 or so clowns booing a fella taking a free, or booing the oppostion onto the pitch (i cant stand that sh*te) or a bunch of drugged up twits under the old score board near the old nally throwing bottles at the parade before the big games.....its embarassing and sickening. And in Limerick, I have never seen any physical violence but some of the stuff you hear....seems especially bitter with Limerick and Tipp, and more so with the women! Honest to God., Back in Thurles a couple of years back there was a woman, late 40's early 50's asked to leave her seat by a steward! She was an East Limerick woman, and the abuse out of her! Load of locals were getting right annoyed and a few stood up to her....in came the yellow bibs to applause from all around her. Unreal stuff, funny, but mad! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 15:21:50 243512 Link 0 |
the 83 semi final in Cork where Dubs fans and Cork fans actually charged each other in the terraces Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 30/03/2009 15:23:40 243516 Link 0 |
I remember there was big fears which proved to be totally unfounded when Tyrone played Armagh in the all ireland final. Worst potential i seen was 94 final when Greg McCartney (I think that was his name) gestured to the hill during and at the full time whistle. When the down fans came on to celebrate a few yahoos went on the pitch to face up to them. Stewards soon sorted it. Needless to say no action was taken against the big man. I seen that documentray about crime in Ireland. The gardai presence for an all ireland final is the same as that for a Rovers V Bohs match. 82,000 V 2,000. I don't think we hae too much to worry about. I also had some fellow Glaswegians over for a Dublin V Meath game and they couldn't get their heads around the intensity of the occasion and yet how chilled out everyone was in the bars afterwards. realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 30/03/2009 15:28:26 243522 Link 0 |
wasnt there a donegal fan stabbed in dublin when they won the all-ireland in 92? stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 30/03/2009 15:34:24 243534 Link 0 |
Real GAA, it was Ross Carr who goaded the Hill. I dont have a problem with that, he spent 70 mins getting abuse from us, he is entitled to give us a bit of stick back. No Problem. But that day, what I will never forget, and as ridiculous as this sounds, Holymoly will confoim this to any who dont believe it, 2 Down "fans" came over to the Hill and unfurled a....Union Jack....No way you might think...sure Down GAA lads with a Union Jack, as believable as Real Louth Fan talking sense, but it actually genuinely happened! There were people in the Hill frothing at the mouth to get them!! I remember thinking the Down fans would be more likely to "sort" them than the caged animals in the Hill!! They quickly discarded it and joined in the celebrations!! But as true as God it happened and as I say Holymoly will back me up on that one. Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 15:36:22 243537 Link 0 |
stranmillis29 County: Antrim Posts: 104 wasnt there a donegal fan stabbed in dublin when they won the all-ireland in 92? There was and the poor chap died, but that wasnt anything to do with Dublin and Donegal, Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/03/2009 15:39:38 243545 Link 0 |
stranmillis29 Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 30/03/2009 15:39:56 243546 Link 0 |
i don't think the problem is too bad. there will always be isolated incidents when u have a big crowd at emotional occassions like big champo matchs. as someone said there are gobshites from every county. remember the disgraceful scene in parnell last year when a tea or coffe or sumesuch was thrown at whelan by a clown of a meath supporter. id say every county has a few tales like this, but i wouldn't say the problem is increasing as i remember as a young fella in croker watching men who must be in their 50's punching the heads off each other on the old hoganstand. jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 30/03/2009 15:44:01 243550 Link 0 |
I've seen fights breaking out at Croke Park since the 80's when I started to go. It's usually just a few young fellas with drink in them squaring up or just young fellas with egos squaring up. It's never nice to see but it's been there for years. It's nothing new. ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 30/03/2009 15:49:19 243556 Link 0 |
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 15:50:13 243557 Link 0 |
Thing at the Cork match was nothing much really just a couple of hotheads on either side mouthing off at each other. The really marvelous thing about the GAA is the lack of violence amongst supporters. I put that down to the fact that players by and large play for the County where they were born and supporters support the county where they were born. That might sound obvious and simplistic but if you are in a pub and a few rivals come in why on earth would one get antagonistic against them just because they were born in another County and quite rightly have come to support their County. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/03/2009 15:52:29 243560 Link 0 |
Cork and kerry lads lamping the feck out of each other in Croke Park for the past couple of years. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/03/2009 15:57:07 243569 Link 0 |
This problem has been around for many years, i remember a good few fights between fellow roscommon fans at Mchale park, how ever its mainly drink doing the trouble i dont think anybody sets out to cause trouble, we will never have the situation in ireland that exists with our soccer cousins worldwide, because the GAA is seen as a family event that has deep roots in Irish culture paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 30/03/2009 16:04:09 243581 Link 0 |
As I recall that poor Donegal man was stabbed near O'Connell Bridge in the wee hours of the morning. It was more to do with some thugs having a go at a country lad and nothing to do with GAA. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 30/03/2009 16:04:33 243582 Link 0 |