Has Man Utd's season imploded??

Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 484 252316 Patrique - Guy Whittingham scored 42 league goals in one season for Portsmouth in the 90s. I'm sure you'll agree that makes him a better player than Robinho. I'm making an irrelevant, nonsense point, which will only hamper the discussion at hand, but that seems to be the only means by which you can communicate these days. Thanks for the support Breffni. When I read ridiculous posts such as "Ronaldo must be the best player in the world he scored 42 goals" I respond by making ridiculous statements in what appears to be a vain effort to make the original poster realise he/she is being ridiculous. At least you realised that, so thanks again for the help.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/04/2009 23:07:26    252617

sorry lads clive allen was the best player he scored fourty odd goals for spurs in the 80s and that was a time soccer was still been played properly in england.

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/04/2009 23:20:08    252639

08/04/2009 23:20:08
hipster

sorry lads clive allen was the best player he scored fourty odd goals for spurs in the 80s and that was a time soccer was still been played properly in england.

then what do you think of Georgie Best or Bobby Charlton who scored the ammount of goals they did in the swingin 60's

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 08/04/2009 23:35:18    252665

they did not score 40 odd goals and seems that some people think its a big requirement to be the best player in the world well allen falls into that hole , as would ally mc coist .

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/04/2009 23:53:55    252698

Shame on you Hipster for not naming the real greatest player ever, who scored 40 goals in a season about 17 times. Vinny Arkins.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 09/04/2009 00:47:43    252743

Lads, you're turning this thread into a farce. If you can only bring juvenile irrelevant points, and factual errors to the debate, then don't bother.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12439 - 09/04/2009 10:15:12    252855

Thats right Patrique, Fergie only tells the truth when you agree with him.

Change the record will you?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12439 - 09/04/2009 10:25:19    252865

Breffini 39 WORLD CHAMPIONS. i hardly think playing sides the same standard as most championship teams counts for much. also i am talking about right now. man united won the champions league last season. If your trying to say united are a great team and they couldnt even beat porto then your deluded. As for ronaldo being world player of the year that competition is ridiculous. thierry henry was the best player in the world for about three or four years and never won it. The best player in the world right now is lionel messi. ask anyone who isnt biased towards united and they will say the exact same thing.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 09/04/2009 11:22:25    252920

PK57 County: Louth Posts: 77 252920 Breffini 39 WORLD CHAMPIONS. i hardly think playing sides the same standard as most championship teams counts for much. also i am talking about right now. man united won the champions league last season. If your trying to say united are a great team and they couldnt even beat porto then your deluded. As for ronaldo being world player of the year that competition is ridiculous. thierry henry was the best player in the world for about three or four years and never won it. The best player in the world right now is lionel messi. ask anyone who isnt biased towards united and they will say the exact same thing. Like me? United are world champions, like it or not. They beat the best in Europe and then they beat the best in South America and the world. The best teams such as Milan, Barca, Liverpool, Chelsea, Boca Juniors, River Plate, Sao Paulo, Corinthians or whoever could not qualify for the world club cup. Liverpool qualified in 2005 and got beaten by a side "the same standard as most championship teams" Thierry Henry is a class player but he wasn't the world player of the year for years. Ronaldo was voted world player of the year by the managers and captains of every nation in FIFA. They know better than you or I. Step in to the real world and don't be so begrudging.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12439 - 09/04/2009 11:49:38    252962

Arshavin - Fell out with the manager before the start of the competition? Where did you get that from? he was suspended... But he was still 26, and i repeat where was this superstar before then? He didnt stand out for them until recent times and they are not exactly blessed with talent are they? Why didnt arsenal pay 100 million for him if he's better than ronaldo? Loyal? Is this the same fella who was talking about going on strike if he didnt get his move to barca? The same guy who was asking for huge wages from barca which eventually caused the collapse of the deal? Not even ronaldo stooped to such lows... And please dont waste ur time looking it up on wikipedia, its people like you that write that one-sided garbage... Even if you take out ronaldo's 10 penalties (which are counted for every1 else) he still got 32 goals, thats from a wide position (arshavin also plays up front and couldnt manage such a feat, even in the poor russian league playing a team capable of winning the uefa cup) Yes messi is a great player, I dont doubt that, what was arshavin doing at 17? Oh and the argentinian lad is dominguez, they sold him back to the club he came from, check him out, might even be on ur old haunt wikipedia Incorrect again about van der vaart, ramos isnt picking him, thats why he is on his way out of there... maybe you can google it... Aimar? Check his stats, if he was out for the season how did he manage 22 games (and no goals)? The season before he got 5 in 30 odd games, hardly inspiring form... He was then sold on for half the price they bought him for So what exactly was i incorrect about? And no patrique, ferguson never said veron was his best player or best signing, not then and not now, you just added it on... The reason he talked about veron was because the media were directly questioning verons performances... Even if he did, (which he definatly didnt) whos to say that ferguson wasnt telling more lies? Its funny how ferguson can lie for my point but not urs...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/04/2009 12:40:13    253035

Im not begrudging. ronaldo is not the best player in the world going on this season. the best player in the world right now is messi. Also barca have been the best team in europe this season so far. a simple comparison united couldnt beat porto yet barca destroyed bayern 4-0. What are you going to say next that porto are a brilliant team. You need to get real. good luck in the second leg against the mighty porto.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 09/04/2009 17:30:01    253405

fell out, suspended. big difference. so what. it dosnt change the fact you tried to say he only started to play for russia in the euros which wasnt true. you had to refer back to wikipedia for your "stats". i just remember these things from the top of my head. as you say russia struggle for talent in general. arshavins brilliant but no god. he could hardly lead them to every major tournament on his own. you need some other talent in the team. but they all work around and of him. take him out and they are going nowhere. take ronaldo out of a team and he's easily replaced. one of portugals big 3 had the "greatest player in the world" on their team and they didnt get better or worse. stick in arshavin, diego, riquelme, micoud etc and they would have won the league at 17 arshavin was at the centre of a zenit team that hadnt won the league in 20 years. they were basically boltons of the league. they built a team around him and became one of the best in europe dominguez filled in for arshavin while he was out. he then lost his place on the team. sounds like the new maradonna to me. putting a price on a player dosnt affect their talent. arshavin is much more important than ronaldo. argue all you like a lot of them appearences by aimar were for about 5 minutes at the end of matches and he was unfit for the whole season and injured for the second half in which time zaragoza dropped into the bottom 3. he's a plamaker. they chip in with goals. ronaldos a striker they are meant to score. he scored about 20 something goals twice in 2 years in 20 something games in his prime in the league in spain. thats far more impressive than ronaldo getting 32. the team is built around playmakers. their talent can go unnoticed just like when elano started losing his game at man city due to "big name" players coming in. they dropped way back. its only when they are out we see how important they are van der vaart fell out with his manager. he would be playing regularly if he didnt arshavin dosnt play up front. he only done it in the euros because pogrebnyak was out. he creates play and makes goals. you seem to base a players talent on how many goals they score. going by your logic inzagi should have been named world player of the years a few years back. again in sunday ye ronaldo done well to get to goals but his on field play was a disgrace as usual and he goes missing all the time in big games.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4174 - 09/04/2009 18:45:16    253517

Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 491 Ronaldo was voted world player of the year by the managers and captains of every nation in FIFA. They know better than you or I. Speak for yourself Breffni. I knew 5 years ago Man United had a dodgy defence, but got away with it because most teams, bar Milan, went looking for a 0-0 draw. Fulham beat them 2-0 a few weeks ago. Alan Hansen said "Fair play to the Fulham manger he played two up". Wow. After years football managers earning millions decided that if you attacked Man United you could maybe score? After Hull put three past them at Old Trafford this season? Now anyone who knew anything about football would look at the united team and think "Berbatiov, Rooney, Tevez, Ronaldo, here these boys have some forwards. O'Shea, yes O'Shea, Gary Neville, Rio and the pacy Vidic, here lads, I reckon their forwards look a lot better than the defenders so maybe we should attack". Some thinking there. So in the last 3 weeks United concede ten goals in 4 games. So, I doubt very much if there are too many managers who know more than me, and I know that there are no Captains who know as much as me.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 09/04/2009 22:01:20    253710

heMaster County: Mayo Posts: 768 .. Even if he did, (which he definatly didnt) whos to say that ferguson wasnt telling more lies? Its funny how ferguson can lie for my point but not urs... I already told you, that was the only time he told the truth, and that was because he totally lost it with journalists being daft and questioning Veron's quality. Or maybe you believe him when he says he didn't ruin Bellion's career? JP and the boys certainly never believed him.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 09/04/2009 22:04:20    253715

so master, still in denial about arshavin. he has now basically played liverpool on his own and ripped rangers and holland apart on irish tv. he has scored loads already since coming to england and has given about twice the amount in assists. should be played in the middle instead of fabregas. even better and at his most dangereous there. also to show how good he is, zenits immediate decline in form since he left and they went out of the uefa cup to an average fiorintina.

up there with the best playmakers in the world

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4174 - 21/04/2009 22:09:26    264605

Has Liverpool's season now imploded? Their defence is certainly very shaky at the minute.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 21/04/2009 22:17:06    264617

has man utds season imploded???
after last night some people were well wrong

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 06/05/2009 15:03:40    276262

Yea, fergie will be delighted to how his players responded to their slippery patch. They look like a really strong panel once again..

As for arguments over that little russian fella arshavin... he wouldnt have made any difference to the eventual outcome of the game. Utd were far superior over both legs and should have hammered arsenal in the first tie.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/05/2009 15:36:13    276308

I responed to this thread some time ago after being called out, the response, which was in my view very fair, was blocked. I wont be posting on it again

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/05/2009 15:56:57    276332

Imploded altogether. Down the drain, gone to ****......lied the boy

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 06/05/2009 16:51:49    276397