Monaghan v Cork

Jaysus we're all stayin very tight lipped on this one.. Is it a foregone conclusion or are we just confident enough that we don't even need to discuss it on here!!??

GranMasterFlash (Monaghan) - Posts: 109 - 26/03/2009 13:47:19    240084

can someone please tell me where the cork game is been played is it clones or inniskeen

francie77 (Monaghan) - Posts: 8 - 26/03/2009 15:07:44    240196

Definetly not the latter anyway GranMasterFlash. This fixture looks ominus for Monaghan especially after the recent performances. However, if we find some way to combat Cork running straight through our defence and regain our confidence in the forwards we're in with more than a chance. Easier said than done though.

play2win (Monaghan) - Posts: 23 - 26/03/2009 15:11:33    240201

"can someone please tell me where the cork game is been played is it clones or inniskeen "

Neither, Scotstown apparently!

GranMasterFlash (Monaghan) - Posts: 109 - 26/03/2009 15:46:11    240258

Francie77
The game is definitely in Scotstown. You can see fixture and venue on monaghan.gaa.ie mainpage and on gaa.ie league fixtures page.

monaghan_cul (Monaghan) - Posts: 25 - 26/03/2009 15:49:01    240263

GMF I think we're all fatigued after the dire perfomances against Kildare and then Meath. What more is there to say? Like play2win suggests, the last time we played Cork, Miskella and Kissane ran through us from half back line for fun and seeing as Meath did the same last weekend we can't be very hopeful. This team's performances are so hit and miss that you never know what they're going to play like and so we're all hoping for a miracle but if they play like they did last Sat night, Cork will win by 15 points. I never bet against Monaghan but Cork to win at evens is the bet of the season with or without the beanpole Cussen. I'm betting he'll go with Ronaghan at FF again just to flog the horse to death altogether and have Rory around the square where he'll get no ball. Gollogly will be on the 3rd back line and and McAleer & Benny & McGuigan to come on after 66,67 & 68 minutes respectively.

BG (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 26/03/2009 16:21:42    240315

Is this game
a) a defining point in our push for promotion, and in our season, given that we'll probably need 4 points from our last 2 games, or
b) effectively the first of 2 championship praparation matches, given that we have little or no hope of beating Cork, or of getting promoted?

Or something else entirely!?

Thoughts?

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 464 - 26/03/2009 16:25:10    240318

I was really looking forward to this game at the start of the league,taught it would be the one were we would be judged on how we have improved since 2006,beaten in blaney by 5points and in cork by 2points last year.There a good enough team should be in the last 4 again this summer so its a good test for us,but we are awful at the minute and a heavy defeat could spell the end for this team!!most of the panel are on the go since october 2004 and have bunched way above there weight since then,a good showing will be a boost before the derry game were its, do or die for us on may 24th.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 26/03/2009 19:43:26    240550

Is it a foregone conclusion or are we just confident enough that we don't even need to discuss it on here!!??

I think it's a case of lower expectations, after that last two performances in particular. We struggle against teams with bigger, mobile players. Unless there's something going down in Cloghan we're unaware of, we'll be travelling to Derry more in hope than expectation.

MiseMuineachain (Monaghan) - Posts: 212 - 26/03/2009 22:11:27    240716

Game is in Scotstown. Why can't it be in Inniskeen? What possibly can we benefit from having it in Scotstown? If we can't beat Cork in Inniskeen on a great pitch we should forget it. Being from the south of the county border i am truely fed up with all the travelling up north.

rollingstones (Monaghan) - Posts: 57 - 27/03/2009 10:25:41    240946

This will be a very tough one, depsite Cork's injuries. It was always the one I feared most from this years league, and after the last two performances we'll be lucky to get something out of it to be honest! Cork are a very good team and one which we have a brutal record against. I may be pleasantly surprised on Sunday, I certainly hope so, but Cork are big favourites and rightly so, much more than their odds would suggest. Of course it's a bonus we have it at home but that didn't do us much good three years ago. We're certainly due a win against them though so you never know!

It'll be interesting to see what team lines out, Cork are a big physical team, much like Meath, so I hope Banty has learned from how we were outplayed last week and cleaned at midfield and comes up with a plan to combat this against Cork. I hope McGuigan gets a start, he really seems to been getting a raw deal and not much game time at all. When he does get on it's usually only or 10 or 15 minutes, not enough time to show up well. It's a pity as he's as talented(much more in some cases), than alot of those who've played ahead of him. Duffy should continue in nets I think, he had a great game against Meath. It's unfair on Butsy who was unfortunate not to play last week, but it would be just as unfair to drop Duffy after his last performance. No harm with having good competition in all positions.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 27/03/2009 11:05:13    240990

Completly agree rolling stones. It should be in inniskeen. I wont be making it to scotstown for the game cause i dont fancy sitting in traffic for a hour in and out of the grounds like i did last year with the meath game, especially seeing as the top club ground in ulster (Inniskeen) is lying idol.

I would love to know why inniskeen was by passed with this fixture. What is monaghan county boards reasons???? I really want to know.

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 27/03/2009 12:07:51    241094

Ye agree. I also think Mc guigan should get the node. Banty better have a plan for mid field cause we will get washed out otherwise. Paul Meegan is back from injury so hopefully banty gives him a run cause he has alot to offer to the set up. He is very cynical and can shot from almost any angle and is alot more comfortable on the ball then hanratty.

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 27/03/2009 12:12:16    241098

the reason the game is in scotstown is due to ---------- anyway scotstown and cork have something in common they both think they rule the gaa...

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 27/03/2009 12:46:59    241135

Cant belive this game is been played in scotstown with other good pitches around. scotstown good pitch but it is only one sided for spectators and no parking, who makes these decisions were games are played.was at meath game last year it was only game i did not enjoy because of venue.

nuumberone (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 27/03/2009 18:38:08    241627

Big swinging mickey where the game is played.

Inniskeen is closer to where I live, but I'd happilly go to Clones, Scotstown, even Sootshouse to follow the team.

MiseMuineachain (Monaghan) - Posts: 212 - 27/03/2009 19:20:47    241660

Make no mistake about it this is a must win game for Monaghan if they really want to be serious contenders for honours this year we are at home and this game will effectively decide promotion. It would make a huge statement about where this team is going if they can get a win and confidence would be high headin into the summer lose and really as an earlier poster said this team has been on the road a while and serious doubts about their ability to make any kind of break through would seep through the team and squad it would mean we had gone backwards since the displays of the summer of 07. I for one cannot believe that Banty and the boys wont be up for this one.
Its the man's last year in charge and he wants to go out on a high and while I can understand the bit of experimenting to unearth new players at this stage its time to get a settled team. On a positive note these players and fair play to them have committed to the set up this year in challenging economic times and it would really be disappointing if they dont do themselves justice. Sure they have punched above their weight on many occasions but they are capable of a hell of a lot better than they showed in Navan.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1893 - 27/03/2009 19:46:06    241683

the game is being played in Scotstown because thats where Banty wants it played.

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 28/03/2009 14:26:39    242113

Any word on the team?

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 28/03/2009 15:06:05    242127

Mighty performance, night and day to the Meath match. I'd gladly go to Scotstown for every match if this is the sort of performance we see! Goals from Tommy and Ronaghan, one in either half. Great work in midfield, we really got a grip there from midway through the first half. Finlay excellent throughout. Conceded a soft enough goal just before half time, but I don't think Cork ever got closer than 3 points. OK, Cork were missing quite a few through injury, but this performance should give us better hope for the championship, regardless of whether we get promoted or not. Even a win against Laois might not be enough to get to Div 1, but the team certainly look in better shape than against Meath.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 464 - 29/03/2009 17:55:26    242627