Well lads & lassies, what do ye think of sundays upcoming game? There are a few of us travelling up from the real capital to support our footballers, now it appears its been switched to scotstown! I was looking forward to Clones. Anyway, i need help from the locals. Once we find ouselves in Monaghan town, how far is Scotstown? Is it a big town, because it aint on any map i have! Is the pitch easy to find? And any other useful info; such as the best place for a bite of grub??!! There wont be too many of us there, just the diehards, the hardcore football fans would number about 10 in total!! We hope ye have the welcome mat out for us! Its a long haul but sure as the man says; tis all for the cause! UP THE REBELS.. Rebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 56 - 24/03/2009 19:50:22 238528 Link 0 |
directions to scotstown. in monaghan take signs for Clones from the center of the town . keep following signs for clones. once you pass Monaghan leasure complex on right .take next road right (Sign posted scotstown) .head out that road about 1 mile then take left through the village of ballinode. head straght through the village towards Scotstown.once you arrive in scotstown take first right . you will see football pitch on right.although you will prob see alot of cars first . good pitch. holds a few thousand. good atmosphere. better pitch then Clones at this time of year. larrymullanjr (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 24/03/2009 20:14:13 238549 Link 0 |
First I heard it was switched to Scotstown - confirmed on monaghan.gaa.ie MiseMuineachain (Monaghan) - Posts: 212 - 24/03/2009 20:20:41 238562 Link 0 |
what a bloody joke the game should be inniskeen not in scotstown typical politics in monaghan football, inniskeen would hold a bigger crowd than scotstown better pitch easier to get away from, but the only problem it situated in south monaghan... total no sense move inniskeen have built a wonderful facility yet the county board won't give it a couple of matches, oh sorry am wrong they stick a few meaningless hurling games there. also if the game was there it would mean th cork supporters would cut an hour of there drive... shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 25/03/2009 12:55:22 239101 Link 0 |
Cant believe someone could call hurling meaningless games. Frank Brady has team in some shape and was only man to manage Monaghan to a title last year. kempes (Dublin) - Posts: 118 - 25/03/2009 13:27:52 239125 Link 0 |
Sorry for the mention of hurling, am a former hurler myself but when it comes to football in monaghan its number one. I know talking to a county hurler this year that they wanted to play there games in inniskeen instead of clones due to the better surface which gave the ball a bit of a bounce. Am just annoyed at the politics involved in the county, that inniskeen can't get a national league game when they have developed the best club facility in ulster... shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 25/03/2009 13:57:05 239168 Link 0 |
i have to agree with LARRYMULLANJR i was at the scotstown pitch sunday evening watching a challenge game and its a credit to all at the club . appleboy (Armagh) - Posts: 479 - 25/03/2009 17:18:08 239423 Link 0 |
Its a disgrace not giving inniskeen this national league tie plus scotstown has no where near as good as set up as inniskeen and as shaggy legend says it would cut at least a hour off the cork lads journey. But favouritsm to north monaghan clubs damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 26/03/2009 13:08:40 240031 Link 0 |
The real capital? what are you on about? hogoboss (Monaghan) - Posts: 617 - 26/03/2009 13:32:44 240065 Link 0 |
I see Ballybay's PRO has high expectations of our lads on Sunday. Take a look at their club notes re match relocation. I also think it should have been transferred to Inniskeen. Scotstown was a disaster last year for the Meath game. People were still sitting in traffic and trying to get parked 15 minutes into the game and it was overcrowded. I know there'll hardly be as big a crowd given that its much easier for Meath fans to travel than Cork fans. I wouldn't be one bit impressed travelling from Cork to watch a game in Scotstown. If my memory serves me correctly I think the last time we played Cork at home the game was in Blayney and it doesn't have a covered stand and it was a rotten day. Yet, now when there is an excellent alternative to Clones its not being utilized. No logic monaghan_cul (Monaghan) - Posts: 25 - 26/03/2009 14:08:52 240110 Link 0 |
Thats very harsh of ya. Ah id say tis just friendly banter.You admire us really. Rebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 56 - 26/03/2009 17:43:40 240422 Link 0 |
can i just say that hugoboss' views on cork are shared by no one else in Monghan and ye are all indeed welcome on Sunday.Its a shame that there is always one or two that let everybody down! anbhoth15 (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 27/03/2009 00:36:29 240820 Link 0 |
The reason the game is in scotstown must be because pauric duffy was a guest in cork a good few times over the last year.. so i guess he goin to put the whole cork county board and panel up in his house... Fair play pauric your a lovely fella..,. I honest can't think of another logical reason for the game to be in scotstown... cork think they run the gaa in ireland, scotstown think they run the gaa in monaghan.... shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 27/03/2009 12:02:50 241082 Link 0 |
Eh Shaggy, I think Pauric Duffy is from Blayney.... pitch invader (Monaghan) - Posts: 51 - 27/03/2009 13:50:34 241228 Link 0 |
Lads lads lads, Mon1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 153 - 27/03/2009 17:04:24 241540 Link 0 |
Ya im sure we will be made welcome. Anywho, i dug out that piece from Jack Connors book and it painted a picture of hostility!I hpe they let our selectors inside the wire, they refused to let the kerry boys in that time! Canty not on starting 15 so we could be opened up if Monaghon get into a grove. Rebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 56 - 28/03/2009 16:59:10 242187 Link 0 |
Good lad Rebel1. Sleep well and safe trip. Throw in an extra few hang sangiches as it's a right oul spin surely.. You'll be able to get at the tae on the motorway, horse it inta cynthia before you hit Carrickmacross as it gets a bit bumpy from there. GranMasterFlash (Monaghan) - Posts: 109 - 28/03/2009 18:00:45 242214 Link 0 |
Ah that Farney humour, dont we just love it. Rebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 56 - 28/03/2009 18:29:25 242237 Link 0 |
Bit surprised McGee predicted us to win, I'd have thought Cork would be tipped across the board. Gaelic Life tipped us too! mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 28/03/2009 19:41:52 242269 Link 0 |
Monaghan tipped in all the previews i've read so far. Strange. Really looking forward to this one. Maguire01 (Monaghan) - Posts: 226 - 29/03/2009 09:23:01 242434 Link 0 |