Here's my attempt.
Shels.VSt.Annes _______ Shels.
Duffry Rovers V Fethard _____ Duffry Rovers
Bannow/Bally. V St.Martins ____ St.Martins
Kilanerin V Starlights _____ Kilanerin
Ballyhogue V Sarsfields _____ Sarsfields
Clongeen V Adamstown _____ Clongeen
Gusserane V Horeswood ______ Horeswood
Castletown V Taghmon/Cam. ____ Taghmon/Cam.

Bannisteoir (Wexford) - Posts: 127 - 20/04/2009 17:44:52    263166

shels v annes..... shels duffry v fethard..... duffry bannow v st martins..... bannow kilanerin v starlights.....kilanerin(by a cricket score) ballyhogue v sarsfields.....ballyhogue clongeen v adamstown..... clongeen(could b a draw) gusserane v horsewood.....(horeswood) castletown v taghmon..... castletown

footballmad1982 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 20/04/2009 18:10:41    263193

Shelmaliers vs. St. Annes...........Shels
Duffry Rovers vs. Fethard...........Duffry
Bannow vs. St. Martins...............Bannow
Kilanerin vs. Starlights...............Kilanerin
Ballyhogue vs. Sarsfields...........Ballyhogue
Clongeen vs. Adamstown...........Clongeen
Gusserane vs. Horeswood..........Horeswood
Castletown vs. Taghmon............Taghmon

wexford08 (Wexford) - Posts: 56 - 21/04/2009 10:51:13    263804

ballyhouge nd taghmon in a double dis weekend....cert. slaney should hav odds.

mickeyfinn (Wexford) - Posts: 112 - 21/04/2009 17:23:07    264317

Do u own slaney or what????

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 21/04/2009 22:09:11    264604

wouldnt go mad on poor ould mickeyfinns tips he also said bannow would win senior and flynn waz gone to the youths

footballmad1982 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 23/04/2009 12:04:20    266116

ul b sorry lads if u dont back my double, serious bet, il b rubbin it in 2 ye after d weekend. nd i didnt say bannow wud win senior, i jus said dey wer training really hard, 6 in d morning on d beach, nd dat i tot they had a chance. seen ballyhouge play castletown nd they wiped em off d field, also cn taghmon play clongeen nd they wiped em off d field also. im tellin u.........

mickeyfinn (Wexford) - Posts: 112 - 23/04/2009 16:59:28    266510

you'll be rubbin it in to us, wel as long as we can say what a stupid tip it was afterwards!!! One of them is a good thing, won't say which one but the other is ridiculous!!!!

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 24/04/2009 16:12:18    267467

any results in lads, was at bannow match, bet martins easily enough in the end, brosnan and harney two main scorers, looked dangerous but should find it harder against tougher opponents, heard shels bet annes convincingly yoo, haven't heard anything else tho???

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 25/04/2009 17:06:48    268013

I watched the 2 games in Buffers alley, marshalstown beat cranford by 3 points, i think, because there was no scoreboard. Kilanerin and starlights drew, about 1-9 each. Terrible conditions, cold and wet and a niggly match. I pittied matty forde today. He was subject to some rough treatment and seemed to get very little protection from the officials. He had a poor game as a result of this, and as usual he talked himself into a yellow card. I get more confused by referees every week. I heard some kilanerin people complaining about the refs performance at the end. If i was a kilanerin fan i would have been more than disappointed by his decisions. A starlights player was yellow carded early on, the same player committed a far worse offence later on and he only got the black book. it was a scrappy game on a heavy pitch, but if starlights show this kind of commitment in the rest of their games they will cause problems for other teams.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 25/04/2009 21:57:31    268087

ballyhogue beat sars and kilanerin drew with the stars. horeswood to beat gusseraune and altho im a geener i think we will struggleto beat adamstown tomorrow we are not going well in the league and missing 4 key players tomorrow. slaney has adamstown at 5/2 i think there is money to be made on adamstown. horeswood for the title fethard to go down.

geenarmy (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 25/04/2009 22:42:24    268109

i was at a good few of the matches over the weekend the two in ross today being the best of them. gusserane and horsewood were probably the best teams on show over the weekend, a very high standard of football. fethard are destined for the drop from what i saw friday nite. starlights are going a lot better this year and could b in the shake up yet

footballmad1982 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 26/04/2009 20:48:25    268433

Horeswood, Clongeen and Shels impressive over the weekend. They ll be pushing Kilanerin all da way this year.

DonFinito (Wexford) - Posts: 5 - 27/04/2009 20:53:05    269558

Thanks for the tip mickeyfinn.... Obviously u shouldn't read too much into practise matches...

Slim (Wexford) - Posts: 48 - 28/04/2009 10:21:29    269888

Was in Ross for the two games on Sunday, the Clongeen-Adamstown match was a dour affair, Paddy Colfer was the difference between the two teams & won it for Clongeen in the end. They will get stronger when they get key players like Liam Murphy back, he only played the last 5-10minutes on Sunday. They will need to improve on their overall performance to trouble the top teams though.

The Horeswood-Gusserane derby was a much better game, real end-to-end stuff. PJ Banville ran riot in the first half for Horeswood, the Gusserane defence simply wasn't able live with his pace. At the other end Shane Cullen was excellent for Gusserane. Gusserane selectors brought an extra defender on for the second half to double up on Banville which improved things from their point of view, but it meant Cullen was double-marked also. In truth Gusserane never really looked like overturning the half-time deficit, although they did get to within a goal with a few minutes left.

The Gusserane-Castletown match will be key now to who qualifies from this group. I was talking to a few of the Gusserane lads after the match and they told me Shane Cullen is having a knee operation today (Tuesday) and will be out for about 6weeks. This is obviously bad news for Gusserane and for Jason Ryan, I wish him a speedy recovery. It is a credit to him that he put it off until after his club's match and gave an excellent performance while obviously playing at less than 100%.

Horeswood on Sunday's performance will take some beating, I must admit I was surprised at how well they played and with Banville on that form they could go far this year, contrary to what I thought earlier in the year.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 28/04/2009 15:53:32    270361

Wexford senior football championship is not tough enough, dats why the county team will never be able to stand up to the physicallity of Tyrone or Dublin! To many teams around wexford are full of soccer men tring to play football, wexford need to bring bigger stronger men into the county side if the want to progress this year.

Faythefull (Wexford) - Posts: 5 - 28/04/2009 19:35:55    270626

was at few of matches over the weekend as well there. Ballyhogue v Sars on Sat evening was probably worst game Ive seen in while. Sars be close to relegation i would say. Starlights v Kilanerin game not much can be taken from cos conditions were atrocious. Both teams be much better on dry sod. Mattie has to learn to shut his mouth though. In new ross on Sunday very disappointed in Adamstown and Clongeen game. Poor football and worst refereeing seen in while .Apart from Paddy Colfer Clongeen had absolutely nothing to offer. 4 pts from play? By the way saw John Cooper in the stand. Is he retired? Second game was much better quality. Only thing is though marking was poor by both defences. P J Banville destroyed Phillip Wallace in first half with pace. He got two brilliant passes though for goals. not as effective when wallace was moved.. This is a big worry for Wexford. Wallace just looks too slow when he is turned. Though he does not let that happen too often in fairness. Hard to make predictions as to eventual winners. Weather and underfoot conditions were awful. then sure more than likely same conditions for business end of season so may get used to it.

ondditch100 (Wexford) - Posts: 12 - 28/04/2009 20:00:44    270642

ontheditch, i think J Cooper was injured and couldn't play on Sunday. Dont think he has retired from club scene yet. I agree that matty has to keep it buttoned but he really was singled out for some "treatment" by starlights. I thought the refere was poor in that match, stars got 2 or 3 handy frees in second half.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 28/04/2009 23:19:16    270801

sorry nocky but i tink ur wrong, was at d games on sunday 2, ur rite bout d 1st game being awful nd paddy colfer being d diffrence but in d 2nd game gusserane wer a btr team overall, they beat themselves. ok p.j banville was on fire 4 15mins nd won d game 4 horeswood but only 4 gusseranes poor shooting they wud hav easily won, even after concedeing 3 sloppy goals. another ting, horeswood wer lucky shane cullen WASNT on form, he kicked wides he'll prob nvr kick again, as did d whole team. tink they kicked bout 16 wides nd 4 short into d keepers hands nd had a ball cleared off d line. never seen a team so dominate in mid-field not 2 win a game. in young kehoe nd adrian fynn they had a mid-field dat could do everything, both players wer excellent, was really impressed wit kehoe, at only 18 he completely outshone a county senior footballer in tommy howlin, how he has progressed 4m last yr. flynn also kicked a few wides he wouldnt normally. so i cant c gusserane struggling 2 get out of der group, they should easily dispose of taghmon nd castletown. on d down side, i was completely shocked at d abuse aimed at d gusserane players 4m d horeswood management nd d line, it was notin short of a disgrace. i was on d bank bhind em nd i couldnt believe the abuse. both teams served up n excellent game, ok it was tough but it was fair nd both teams played with passion nd they both should have bn applauded off d field 4 giving us d kinda game u dont get in club football anymore. these ppl should hav bn sent 4m d line, especially 1 in particular. also hav 2 complement d referee, he was excellent. so i tink both teams will get out of d group, nd who knows, if they avoid each other we mite hav a very mouth watering county final.......minus d abusers tho.

mickeyfinn (Wexford) - Posts: 112 - 29/04/2009 17:26:23    271476

I don't disagree with much of the points you make mickeyfinn. Gusserane would no doubt have won the game had they not conceded 3goals in the first half and had they been more accurate in the forwards. But they didn't have a back to man-mark a player of Banville's ability, just as they were unable to cope with Mattie Forde in last year's county final. Dropping the extra man back into defence certainly helped things, but they were always chasing the game after those three first half goals and I never felt they would have enough time to overturn the deficit.

I too very impressed with Cillian Kehoe in midfield, himself and Flynn certainly had the better of their Horeswood counterparts. Kehoe could be one for the county senior panel in a year or two if he continues to perform as he did Sunday. The reason I feel Gusserane might now struggle to get out of the group is the fitness of their key player, Shane Cullen, who is going to be out for a while by all accounts. Has anyone got any idea when the next round is expected to be played, and what the fixtures are?

Regarding the abuse directed towards Gusserane players from the Horeswood management, I can't really comment as I watched the game from the stand side, but there seemed to be an awful lot of people on the far sideline right next to the pitch, so there is bound to be abuse and disputes etc. The linesman over that side would have been under a lot of pressure with marginal calls. Maybe only the manager or designated selectors from each team (wearing marked high-vis vests) should be allowed in such close proximity to the pitch for the game?

Not having seen the Castletown-Taghmon game I can't comment on either team, but I do believe both Gusserane and Horeswood could challenge for silverware if they get out of the group of death unscathed.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 29/04/2009 18:42:25    271568