Division 4 2009

I play for eunans in this div... so wood eunans4ever keep his bloody mouth shut fair play to al the lads that come out to play gaa doesnt matter what div ur in or who you play for best of luck to the teams fighting for title wish to hell we were still in with a shout but i think losing 15 games probably didnt help but we were there to do our best for our club st eunans

blackhawkdown (Donegal) - Posts: 15 - 27/10/2009 09:27:10    467053

Again,who seriously cares...????

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1696 - 27/10/2009 20:26:16    467877

eunnans4ever-- a real true GAA person i see..

p o neill (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 28/10/2009 10:47:23    468236

I think the best way to treat eunans4ever is to just ignore the posts he puts up and just get back to talking about the exciting division that we are in!

Chembel (Donegal) - Posts: 69 - 28/10/2009 12:36:19    468358

Massive weekend in Div 4 with milford downings and convoy all competing for the 2 playoff spots. Convoy v lifford should be a tight game but a real humdinger of a game should take place between local rivals downings and milford down beside the rosapenna.

How do yous see it going?

Top_Dog (Donegal) - Posts: 73 - 29/10/2009 18:26:15    470009

from watching milford and downings yesterday it would make no difference if both teams went up. None of the 2 of them would stay up with the way they played yesterday. Granted both teams had important forwards missing, milford have two bad injuries to pj hagan and wee bradly as for downings danny mcbride and barney curran didnt start but they came on but maybe it was to late at that stage. Which ask the question if they can come on why not start them. Convoy had no bother putting milford away, so it looks like convoy milford playoff but milford need to up there game if they are to turnover an inform convoy.

Mr Truth (Donegal) - Posts: 174 - 01/11/2009 10:03:35    472109

No harm seeing Downings miss out on promotion their a pretty arrogant crowd - thought after dropping dwon a division all they would have to do to go up would be to turn up at games. Well done to Convoy on the other hand, who even though might not thave the most talented team, put in a huge amount of work under big Blake this year. Its a play off that could go any way but I feel with the momentum behind them and their confidence up these last few weeks that Convoy could be one of the biggest surprises to come out of this division in a few years.

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 02/11/2009 11:11:09    472809

I couldnt make the big game over the weekend Mr. Truth, so both teams were bad? all i heard was that milford wanted it more and were hungrier for it. wat was wrong with Mc Bride and did he make a difference when he came on? alot of questions here but i was also under the impresson bradley was back fit again, not true then? congratulations to moville on their progression in ulster. easy enough victory in the end and onwards to an ulster final perhaps!! convoy sure would be the suprise package this season but credit where credit is due...hard working under blake with a number of quality players. i predict a very entertaining playoff an indeed league final who ever gets there

gaalad (Donegal) - Posts: 27 - 02/11/2009 13:44:33    472940

At the start of the season no one mentioned Convoy as serious contenders for promotion, with the majority of comments going to Moville, Muff, Milford and Downings. So fair play to Convoy, who have battled well all season. A mention should also go to Newton, who have stepped it up this season and will no doubt be looking forward to next season.

Bigjan (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 02/11/2009 14:15:02    472968

Downings are arrogant in fairness but I thought on their day they were the strongest team in the league. 100% well done to Convoy but they are far from an intermediate side, although having a strong reserve team would stand them in good stead. For me they do not have quality players, they have good players like Mailey when he's not playing soccer, McMullan is in the mould of Brendan McDyre but without his quality, Padraig Porter is deadly from dead balls, John Doherty has a bright future, they have a few others but nobody to keep them in Intermediate ranks. Would be bad for Convoy to go up as they need another few years.

MegaPampers (Donegal) - Posts: 121 - 02/11/2009 14:48:08    473022

Don't think that saying that Downings are arrogant is an accurate reflection of them as a group,every team needs to show a level of arrogance in order to win and winnings breeds confidence so maybe ye are just getting mixed up between the two!As a Downings man myself and a player for Downings for a long time I have no problem in saying that we didn't deserve to go up but to put it down to arrogance is just people having a dig. We didn't get the right results and in the game against Milford they wanted it more and we have no problem admitting it. But it was other results over the year that hurt us. Lifford away for instance and the stupid draw against Naomh Ultan...results like that cost a team and Downings are the proof,it should never have come down to the last game but it did and in the end we weren't good enough. good luck to Convoy and well done to them they deserve to be where they are and good luck to Milford as well. In my opinion I think Milford would be better equipped to play intermediate. So how about keeping the digs to yourselves cos we are well aware of the way we ended up in the league.

Chembel (Donegal) - Posts: 69 - 02/11/2009 17:38:36    473224

Yeah much the same as losing to the likes of Downings away cost Lifford a play off spot!

Ifs, buts, should have, could have, would have.....!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 02/11/2009 23:54:06    473599

here here chembel

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 03/11/2009 09:15:08    473679

Lifford Geal - Yeah much the same as losing to the likes of Downings away cost Lifford a play off spot!

Ifs, buts, should have, could have, would have.....!

I agree with ya, thats the point I was making that results like that cost a team!Have a read of the comments first before you jump in with a rash comment!

Chembel (Donegal) - Posts: 69 - 03/11/2009 10:11:52    473714

Chembel. I do apologise for my wording! I know that no one group should all be painted with the one brush. However ye do have 4 or 5 very arrogant players which Im sure you will agree. Milford have a very sharp forward line, do they intend to enter a reserve team next year? Could be crucial to their survival.

MegaPampers (Donegal) - Posts: 121 - 03/11/2009 10:29:34    473728

I think they will probably have to have a reserve team at intermediate level!they always did before they went down a couple of years ago!Although in saying that they have to win the playoff first before they need to start worrying about survival!don't write convoy off just yet!

Chembel (Donegal) - Posts: 69 - 03/11/2009 10:43:02    473741

True, If Convoy get into the league final I would gfancy them to beat Moville. They always struggled against them this year. Even when Moville beat them by a point in the championship it was a last minute goal!

MegaPampers (Donegal) - Posts: 121 - 03/11/2009 10:48:49    473750

megapampers- name the arrogant players ? the senior played poorly all season + have got what they deserve- nothing ! they had a new manager in place this season + r bringing through alot of young players- (rome was'nt built in a day) give it time + im sure downings will b back sooner rather than later...

this season can b a wake up call for them + they will realise that u dont just turn up in places like lifford + dunkineely + walk away with the points.

roll on 2010- as d-ream said- THINGS CAN ONLY GET BETTER !!!

good luck 2 convoy in the play off...

anfearmor (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 03/11/2009 12:03:55    473819

I would say your right mega pampers, if Moville are still in ulster when the league final is played, theres a good chance they will rest half there team like they did against Convoy a few weeks ago.

CBak (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 03/11/2009 12:12:58    473831

CBak

I would say your right mega pampers, if Moville are still in ulster when the league final is played, theres a good chance they will rest half there team like they did against Convoy a few weeks ago.

Were u at the game cbak cause I was and noticed only 2 or 3 first team players out and that was cause of injury!! U must have forgot convoy beat moville in moville with wat was half a team! I c a gud few are writing off convoy or giving them no chance if they go up. I wouldn't, not only do I think they'll go up but stay up! Without doubt the most consistent team this year with a few silly slip ups which ultimately cost them the automatic promo spot!!

Mac62789 (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 04/11/2009 16:29:02    475067