Waterford and Kilkenny.Disgraceful stuff.

Fairly bad tempered game in parts. Disgraceful stuff from Kevin Prendergast. What ban he will receive will be interesting, I also wonder whether there will be the same furore in the papers tomorrow as there was last week for McMenamin......it will either blow the siege stuff out of the water as being nonsense or just add fuel to the fire....

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 01/03/2009 20:17:51    221450

We all finally know how to beat Kilkenny though,and dont forget Kilkenny or Waterford were missing their club champions contingent

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 01/03/2009 20:50:35    221479

whos Kevin prendergast??It was a great game of hurlin for March many hurlin people would agree i was at the match it wasnt bad tempered at all ref went a bit mad with the yellow cards,any kk supporter talked too after taught it was a fair game wit some hard challenges which is what top level hurling is about u cant have all the skill without battling two teams went for it was a class match happy we won wont take 2 much from it but nice to beat the cats but their still the champs g reat were tryin new players for the league!Deise abu

UptheDeise (Waterford) - Posts: 225 - 01/03/2009 21:06:57    221502

Handbags really,but prendergast should get 6 weeks .If he gets longer what will your tyrone friends think.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/03/2009 21:09:44    221509

I thought twas a great game, well done Waterford.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 01/03/2009 21:16:09    221519

hey twatoo...bit of a difference between a slap around the head with a hurl and having your goolies tickled!!!....and as you obviously have no grasp of the disciplinary process...he'll be charged with a category 1 offence, which is very different from mcmenamin's....you should instead be focussing on eoin kelly...getting a yellow card for striking???...will be interesting to hear the media calling for his head...

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/03/2009 21:25:29    221529

Duffy89
County: Wexford

221479 We all finally know how to beat Kilkenny though,and dont forget Kilkenny or Waterford were missing their club champions contingent

What we are you referring to, share the secret

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/03/2009 21:28:10    221532

tomaoo7

Handbags really,but prendergast should get 6 weeks .If he gets longer what will your tyrone friends think.

Agree 100%. Other than Prenargast catching fast Eddie on the head there was nothing overly malicious in todays match. Why Eddie was sent off I'll never know.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 01/03/2009 21:34:20    221543

ohhhh...do we detect some double standards...so it's okay to strike with your fist...hit a man while you pin him to the ground and then on your way off the pitch make a lunge at him....oh yes..handbags indeed!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/03/2009 21:51:21    221552

UptheDeise
County: Waterford

whos Kevin prendergast??It was a great game of hurlin for March many hurlin people would agree i was at the match it wasnt bad tempered at all ref went a bit mad with the yellow cards,any kk supporter talked too after taught it was a fair game wit some hard challenges which is what top level hurling is about u cant have all the skill without battling two teams went for it was a class match happy we won wont take 2 much from it but nice to beat the cats but their still the champs g reat were tryin new players for the league!Deise abu

Apologies, Declan Prendergast. I dunno if he applied the rules fully there could have been a few more lads getting the line along with Eoin Kelly and co. Anywho, I agree though, good game though apart from those few incidents, will give hope to all other counties that Kilkenny are not immortal. Well shall see will there be a two page spread in evey newspaper on the Prendergast incident though.

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 01/03/2009 21:52:49    221554

It was Ryan McMenamin on the grassy knoll with the lead pipe, there easy enough for the diciplinary board to sort out!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/03/2009 22:05:10    221569

brendtheredhand

221569 It was Ryan McMenamin on the grassy knoll with the lead pipe, there easy enough for the diciplinary board to sort out! ;;;Brendan showing your ignorance again i wonder.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/03/2009 22:14:32    221574

Flanders ur right to be fair could of been more cards if the law was takin up more literally but honestly it wasnt a dirty game just a good hard game of hurling,Declan Prender shouldnt have pulled that stroke but in general the game was grand Eddie Brenan is no angel himself either are kilkenny but i think overall its a shame that top hurlers like Owen Kelly and Tommy Walsh are sidelined for something which in the old rules the ref could have dealt with in a tickin off

UptheDeise (Waterford) - Posts: 225 - 01/03/2009 22:18:52    221577

I wonder will we start to see teams trying to "take out" the opposition's star players using this rule, or has this started already e.g. Ricey trying to get a rise outta the Gooch? It would be plausible for a "non-star" player to get involved in a fracas with the opposition's star in an attempt to get him yellow carded. Cynical and all that but plausible....

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 01/03/2009 22:55:34    221607

Something else for tyrone posters to moan, whine,cry and whinge about.
Keep it up, its funny. Esp since you wouldn't know a hurl if you stood on one.

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 02/03/2009 07:09:06    221741

The sooner these new football rules are done away with the better!! They are not needed for hurling,the old rules were fine. In saying that , the W'ford fullback was deserving of a straight red. In the old rules , a couple of yellows and warnings would have sufficed. Not one yellow at the Lim v Dub game. Must have shown the black book about 10 times.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 02/03/2009 07:53:33    221742

What did you think of Kelly Eastgael? THere were a couple of wild pulls either side and one or two off the balls but he seemed to be inclined to let stuff go as long as there were no serious injuries which is possibly fair enough. Only downside of that is that fellas can start to push the boat out a bit! In general though a good tough game with both sides clearly 'bulking up' over the Winter!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2009 09:57:59    221787

Re,hurlingdub,I thought Kelly did ok overall,i would say if that game had been played 12 months ago , there'd have been 2 or 3 yellows. I think it was a tough ,physical encounter and while there was some flaking going on,none was malicous and that is the important thing. In fairness to the ref he reffed the game as a hurling game and it looked as if he wasn't going to yellow card anyone for genuine hard tackles,even if they were mistimed.There was some handbags stuff ,but again when a yellow could have been flashed the ref did the sensible thing and a couple of warnings did the job. Not a classic game but both teams heading in the right direction.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 02/03/2009 10:43:34    221816

Agree with you, always good to see refs erring on the side of not flashing cards and it was noticeable that he waited to see how players were before deciding on any action and in fairness to players from both sides there was no-one staying down or acting up even after a few pretty hefty challenges! I'd say both Daly and McCarthy were pleased enough. Both getting an idea of what they have and what the potnetial might be. To be honest as well, it is no harm Dublin maybe losing a close tough match like that. They'll learn from it and it will put a bit of a dampener on the hype which is a bit silly at this stage. Fact that Antrim beat Wexford should focus minds on what they really need to be concentrating on.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2009 10:57:35    221830

No-one rising to debate the bait. Its getting to be a waste of time trying
to wind up tyrone posters on here now so it is.
Anyway I dont think he would have hit him if he was not wearing a helmet.
Not nice to see though.

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 02/03/2009 11:47:22    221881