MB1, does that mean joe brolly had a southern prejudice when he called Kiaran McD a swedish maid? Or is it just that he didnt like his (naturally!) blonde hair? TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/03/2009 20:12:14 221440 Link 0 |
TheMaster MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 01/03/2009 20:56:46 221484 Link 0 |
I am a bit lost on this debate. In general down here if one of the 6 Northern Counties were playing anyone but Cork in the All Ireland series everyone in the pub would be supporting them. Quite honestly I have never come across bias against any Northern team. I know some sections of the press are critical of what they percieve as the over physical nature of exchanges in the Ulster Championship but I put that down to the number of fairly evenly matched teams up there. Outside of Ulster you only get a few games to match that intensity, Cork v Kerry, Meath v Dublin and perhaps Galway v Mayo. But what has surprised me from time to time is the animosity between yourselves and for some reason best known to your goodselves all the rest of ye seem to dislike Tyrone in particular. I am sure someone will tell me that I don't know what i'm talking about and before they do, let me agree with them I probably don't. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 01/03/2009 21:00:28 221490 Link 0 |
derryman i totally take your point about the difficulties the ulster counties faced perhaps us in the south have failed 2 understand it totally because i believe if you dont expierence it first hand you dont know what its like perhaps you gave me something to ponder about i always believe if your good enough to win its yours no matter where your from i i just switched on the laptop and went to the mainpage and the top poster was omaghijoe with a post on anti tyrone predujice why do some people think everybody is against them all the time jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 01/03/2009 21:06:46 221500 Link 0 |
corkcelt i don't believe most rational people are not biased against nothern teams and true gaa people all around the country talk in glowing terms about the quality of the football played by tyrone...of course you get some eejits on here who's prejudice shines through, but they're more to be pitied...i'm afraid many of us are concerned about some of the antics of the media...and can't work out what is going on and why they feel the need to write some of the stuff they write mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/03/2009 21:10:33 221511 Link 0 |
MB1 - Those goons on tv are paid to say stupid things; it's all about ratings. There hasn't been a decent football commentator since the late and great Enda Colleran, may the Lord have mercy on him. Sure we in Connacht have had to listen for years to a long succession of angry Meath men tell us that there was no football west of the Shannon! Despite the thrashings they got at the hands of Galway that became so regular they almost became recognised state holidays. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 01/03/2009 21:25:25 221528 Link 0 |
mayotyroneman you have a double negative in that post so i'm not sure what you believe. But I take it that you are agreeing that we in the South are not biased against the Northern Teams. I can absolutely assure you I danced around the house when Tyrone won Sam this year and later that night celebrated in the pub with another group of solid Cork GAA fans whilst watching The Sunday Game. I will admit though that the fact that we have been on the wrong end of some hammerings from Kerry over many years may have influenced the celebrations. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 01/03/2009 23:39:11 221631 Link 0 |
Lads i personally do not subscribe to any general anti Northern malaise in the South. There have however been a number of high profile cases of GAA individuals making unnecessary comments for instance Paudi O`Se referring to the Tyrone v Armagh final as an all British final , and Tommy Lyons stating on air that he had nothing against Ulster football , only Northern football. Now nobody wishes to keep harking back to various incidents but they do serve to illustrate why us Northerners can be a little disappointed at how some Southerners appear to view us. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 02/03/2009 11:07:21 221835 Link 0 |
gaelantrim I wasn't aware of those 2 comments. If they were made then they were absolutely disgraceful and reflect more on the 2 individuals then anything else. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 02/03/2009 11:22:40 221848 Link 0 |
corkcelt 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 02/03/2009 11:27:42 221859 Link 0 |
3inarow good post haven't heard that saying before. Very funny must say it made me smile. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 02/03/2009 11:48:53 221882 Link 0 |
Corkcelt - Ah it's an old one we have. We throw it out there every now and again. :) 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 02/03/2009 12:19:40 221921 Link 0 |
I fully accept what you say 3inarow and wouldn`t get hung up on it. The one positive feature i personally find from being from the North in a GAA sense is that when i`m in a bar in for instance Kerry , most of the guys i chat with see me as a generic Northerner. I find they tend not to be interested in my specific County. On the one hand as i say this has the advantage that i can dine out on Tyrone`s success , as they will congratulate me for 'our' recent All-Ire victory. On the other hand it reveals a disappointing but understandable lack of interest in anything north of thr border. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 02/03/2009 12:45:27 221952 Link 0 |
gaelantrim tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 02/03/2009 12:57:26 221968 Link 0 |
It's a good point you make there gaelantrim. However, it can easily be seen from the other way around. Recently, and I can say this from my own personal experience of having friends from Ulster, they tend to support their fellow Ulster counties moreso than other provinces once their own county has been knocked out. I know Monaghan men who have Armagh as their "second team", and Antrim lads who follow Tyrone in football. It's hard to understand that down here. For example, I would never support Cork in football. In hurling in Munster (leaving Kerry aside), you wouldn't ever see one county supporting another. 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 02/03/2009 13:06:05 221977 Link 0 |
i'm afraid the belligerent attitude in this mornings press to yeasterdays match in hurling only serves to raise a few more eyebrows in ulster...at least all mcmenamin used was his hand..but when you try to take a man's head off with a hurl...where was the screaming headlines...but it will be interesting to see if the gaa view the viodeo evidence of kelly and walsh's "tangle" and jackie tyrell's intervention...especially after the press this morning has totally downplayed the incident...i don't think so somehow and by the end of the week it'll all be put to bed, and many people in the north will be wondering what is really going on here?? mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/03/2009 13:35:57 222003 Link 0 |
Good god lads, take her handy! There is SFA bias against Northern teams or Northern people in our community from what I have seen. Perhaps it seems that the officials are out to get us, but that is only their view that our physicality is a bit excessive... I think it is unfair to be repremanded for playing an aggressive game with extreme aggression, as much as it would be playing a skillful game with extreme skill... A_Border_Bandit (Monaghan) - Posts: 95 - 02/03/2009 15:00:09 222099 Link 0 |
3inarow08, antrim lads minus one Patrique I would guess! brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/03/2009 20:56:26 222448 Link 0 |
Well brendtheredhand that's true enough but I was talking about people I've met in real life as opposed to usernames! :) 3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 03/03/2009 11:42:07 222757 Link 0 |
When it comes to suspenions yes it is anti tyrone . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 03/03/2009 17:36:27 223165 Link 0 |