Anti-Tyrone prejudice

A blanket defence is forming around poor PJ... Couldnt a dub say that tyrone are jealous of dublins success over the last 125 years?? Isnt it the same idea? Only over a much longer (and therefore more accurate) timespan? Every1 is jealous in the eyes of a tyrone man, but jealous of what exactly? Tyrone team tactics? the behaviour of some of their players? Yes such great additions, if only Liam McHale had thought of these ingenious ideas instead of standing up for himself and being a man, we might have won in 96... Personally, im happy he didnt...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/03/2009 12:08:58    225606

get over yourselves.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 06/03/2009 12:11:45    225615

Ah, whats this? The Master and PJ posting on a topic ... it can only mean one thing - There's some Tyrone bashing to be done. Why the bitterness lads?

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 06/03/2009 12:23:42    225635

06/03/2009 12:08:58 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 601 225606 A blanket defence is forming around poor PJ... Couldnt a dub say that tyrone are jealous of dublins success over the last 125 years?? Isnt it the same idea? Only over a much longer (and therefore more accurate) timespan? Every1 is jealous in the eyes of a tyrone man, but jealous of what exactly? Tyrone team tactics? the behaviour of some of their players? Yes such great additions, if only Liam McHale had thought of these ingenious ideas instead of standing up for himself and being a man, we might have won in 96... Personally, im happy he didnt... ___ Absolutely, Tyrone people would look on with envy at the success acheived by the Dubs (esp. mid 70s) etc. over the last 125 years. But to insinuate that Tyrone's 3 AIs over the last 6 years have come from anything other than hard work, skill and masterful tactics (in the face of massive adversity and tragedy) is downright ignorant and can, in the case of some people, be sourced right back to downright petty jealousy. Yeah, Ricey acted the eejit a few weeks ago and deserves a ban but to put our success down to that is childish pettiness. And to be honest, I think a lot of people (myself) are getting sick of the whole "Ahhh Tyrone are bad bad fellas sure look what they do to those poor little kerry boys" and related Tyrone / Ricey-bashing and the predictable "No we're not we're the best". Time to move on and look forward to a new season

padraic32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 140 - 06/03/2009 13:17:32    225711

RMDrive County: Donegal Posts: 1481 225635 Ah, whats this? The Master and PJ posting on a topic ... it can only mean one thing - There's some Tyrone bashing to be done. Why the bitterness lads? Too right. This pair are the most predictable and tiresome posters on this board.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 06/03/2009 13:47:23    225736

In my opinion Tyrone are bad, bad fellas! Sure look at what they do to us poor little Kerry boys!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 06/03/2009 14:46:27    225799

I see Jack has come out today and said that he thinks McMenamen is a grand fella and that he does`nt really know what all the fuss is about.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 06/03/2009 15:59:04    225919

After the episode last night I think we have now conclusive proof here that there is anti Tyrone prejudice in Croke Park. While the two cases were seperate and should be treated as such, they were can be compared as the counties involved were all last years finalists. One incident there could have been a serious injury as a man was struck about the head with a lump of timber, in the other were a man was grabbed between the legs was very unsporting. Now while the culprits in both incidents deserved to be punished, one was clarly much worse than the other Last night Croke Park had a chance to display that it clearly regarded one worse than the other and that there is no malice towards Tyrone as has been suggested However they snubbed this chance and have made a farce of their processes and decisions and displayed their prejudice against Tyrone as stark a terms as possible To me this episode says, "Tyrone we like you much less than other counties, becasue you are upstarts and if any of you get in trouble on the pitch, or if the media says so we are going to do our damnest to deplete your squad to prevent you from winning the All-Ireland this year"

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 06/03/2009 16:07:09    225932

seriously joe from omagh please stop. It's getting a bit cringeworthy. As much as most mhuintir Thír Eoghain think the length of McMenamin's ban was a touch over the top you're only giving more ammo to people who think the county's gaels have a permanent victim mentality. Time to move on and do our talking on the pitch, starting in éadan Gaillimh de Domhnaigh

padraic32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 140 - 06/03/2009 16:22:20    225954

i have no particular gripe with tyrone, yet, but i am coming to the conclusion that every piece of aggravation on this little island seems to have its roots in tyrone, take for example the massacre of 300 natives in wicklow in 1641. A local chap, luke o toole was cajoled by the o neills of tyrone to have a go off some aul castle near wicklow town, of couse being a wicklow bowzie off he went and ransacked it. The local Big wig Sir Cathal Coote took fierce exception to this and set out to sort luke out, who of course at this stage was up around laragh hiding in the furze. where upon the bould sir Cathal , being a man of Noble birth decided to slaughter the residends of blackhill who had taken refuge in the local chapel by burning it down along with the priest.
Why cant tyrone people stay out of trouble

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/03/2009 18:08:21    226100

padraic32

PJ, take a big deep, calm breath. Then relax. Then re-read yank's post. He said that he thought some people are "jealous of the success that tyrone has had in the last 5 years" - that's the last three years. Not 125 years, but since the senior team won their first AI just over 5 years ago. We apologise for not being successful since 1884 - we've had some problems up here, you might have heard about them. Don't be getting so over-excited lad! Tír Eoghain abú

Thanks for the relaxation class pad, I feel at one with myself now.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 06/03/2009 18:32:26    226127

So bring in the match bans and grade them then and fair play should take it course then .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/03/2009 18:39:20    226138

Was their any threads last year about anti Kerry prejudice at the time of Galvin and the notebook?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 06/03/2009 18:44:37    226146

In reply to Williewentwell - This is my opinion and I know that it is a widely held view. But until there is a national referendum on the issue we'll never know just how popular. About the Down minors admiring the likes of Cavanagh and Dooher. Why would they not - there is no better players in the country. Just cut out the crap and get on with the game!!

No.15 (Down) - Posts: 193 - 06/03/2009 21:19:37    226267

No.15
County: Down

226267 In reply to Williewentwell - This is my opinion and I know that it is a widely held view. But until there is a national referendum on the issue we'll never know just how popular. About the Down minors admiring the likes of Cavanagh and Dooher. Why would they not - there is no better players in the country. Just cut out the crap and get on with the game!!

Someone forget to tell down last year hmmmmm.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/03/2009 22:27:55    226323

As a Kerryman i dont mind Tyrone. What Dooher and Cavanagh are doing for the game is lethal. Doohers point in the final last year, enough said. Unbelievable. As for Mcmenimen, i hate the guy, probably as much as a Tyrone man hates Galvin. { i also lost 50 dollars in oz on a bet that he would not keep Gooch to 3 points in the final, which he did, Gooch ONLY scored 3 points in the final. My hate for him started there !!!} I think his ban was too much, he did act silly but i also thought Galvins ban was ridiculous, along with the O Shea's and of course O Mahoney getting grieve for having a shot of his inhaler too many times !!! Anti Kerry prejudice, maybe but sure we will get on with it anyway. I dont think there is any anti Tyrone prejudice. Croke park can be very annoying and the papers having articles about Dublin non stop instead of leaving the capital and getting articles done about other counties really annoys me. If Tyrone fans stopped coming on here going on about injustices i think people would stop slagging ye off. I cant wait to meet ye boys again in the championship or hopefully the league final so we can beat ye and get our revenge. But after that i guarentee the craic in pubs after the game will be 90. Ive always had great craic with the Tyrone crowd even so much that me and a tyrone lad were swopping jerseys last year when we met drunk in a chipper last year after the final, but his girlfriend quickly told him to cop onto himsef and get into the taxi, which he did wearing his Ttrone jersey !!! Anyway my point is Tyrone ' stop the moaning'

kerrymad (Kerry) - Posts: 12 - 07/03/2009 15:08:13    226554

for those of you who dont have to live beside tyrone, now you know what we have to put up with all year round, not just on msgboards or any particular day anywhere tyrone are playing

dmac (Derry) - Posts: 23 - 07/03/2009 19:37:31    226667

dmac, and you never sang theirs no SAM MCGUIRE in Tyrone? 93 until 2003.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 08/03/2009 09:40:34    226883

Lads may i just point out the abuse Kerry fans recieve for there poor support throughout the year. Tyrone were at home last night and the place was as good as empty! The term "Fair Weather" supporters comes to mind !

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 08/03/2009 11:41:49    226907

Ciarraiabu thats a fair point, but I think it more than likely because it was a Sat night and the weather was atrocious,If it had been a Sunday game I think it would have attracted 8000.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 08/03/2009 14:04:18    226944