Anti-Tyrone prejudice

Chuckle, Chuckle, Chuckle. Hopefully they'll appeal it again and get it increased further lol

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 01/03/2009 12:45:11    221270

Good god, this has to be the most blinkered thread I have ever seen... Let me ask you this omaghjoe, why is it that Jack O'Conner 'made an absolute show of himself' by pushing and shoving, but 'ricey's' assault on galvin isnt such an issue? And make no mistake, it was an assault, and totally against everything good in the sport... And then to appeal it on the grounds that he'd never heard of 6 weeks before? It was still a legitimate ban, regardless of if it was ever done before... Galvin did not go down easily, he reacted normally in my opinion, he wasnt rolling around on the ground and you could see the pain in his face... The whole post goes on to blame any1 who isnt in a tyrone jersey... The term 'every1 out of step except my johnny' comes to mind... If a mayo player done that Id be the first to slate him, he'd have let the county down. I cant understand how you dont feel the same

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/03/2009 14:27:26    221298

28/02/2009 17:36:44
tomaoo7

221009 Sorry about your paranoia,but he should of get 6 months his carry was short of disgusting,i was talking to kerry people that went to the match,and they said they wont be going back,there was a bad atmosphere up there before and during the game and afterwards,im not surprised by that as i was in omagh in 06,I was shocked with the carry on of your supporters,

Have you been at the jungle juice again Tomato. What does 'should of' and 'his carry' mean.

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 01/03/2009 18:59:43    221384

Thank you for voting!
Yes 29% (1602 votes)No 60% (3387 votes)It's about right. 11% (624 votes)
Total Votes: 5613
rte poll was suspension long enough

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/03/2009 19:28:27    221403

Mick O Connell

221384 28/02/2009 17:36:44
tomaoo7

221009 Sorry about your paranoia,but he should of get 6 months his carry on was short of disgusting,i was talking to kerry people that went to the match,and they said they wont be going back,there was a bad atmosphere up there before and during the game and afterwards,im not surprised by that as i was in omagh in 06,I was shocked with the carry on of your supporters,

Have you been at the jungle juice again Tomato. What does 'should of' and 'his carry' mean. ;;;No tough times had to cut back on the bulmers.have you i keep telling you its [tomaoo7].thanks for pointing out my errors in that post i will try harder.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 01/03/2009 19:34:34    221408

This thread is hilarious. Some tyrone posters really have lost a grip on reality.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 01/03/2009 19:38:13    221411

tomaoo7 County: Dublin Posts: 1501 221403 Thank you for voting! Yes 29% (1602 votes)No 60% (3387 votes)It's about right. 11% (624 votes) Total Votes: 5613 rte poll was suspension long enough The fact that there is a poll shows how its trial by media and how there is an anti-Tyrone brigade in said media. I wonder will there be a poll for the ban Prendergast of Waterford will get for striking a player....I doubt it

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 01/03/2009 20:21:38    221456

it's getting abit tiresome...some of these bland statements about what mcmenamin should get and i'm afraid omagh joe..you did go a bit over the top there...the whole affair is now bordering on the strange...it appears the hearings committee knew 6 weeks was not on and had to go for 4 or 8 weeks. McMenamin was charged with a category 2 offence, which means twatoo and pj..he can't be hit with a 6 month suspension, and also i refer again to the precedent of 4 weeks, which was established 3 years ago in the campbell case...after today's waterford clash..i'll look forward to the Independent reporter at the match describing the scenes today as the "battle of walsh park" and then by wednesday, i'll be settling down to breheny and keys describing what happened today as being such a bad influence on young people, and that tommy walsh and eoin kelly should be banned for 6 months...of course "all" they did was strike with the hurl and then the other hit with his fist...and when the Indo and the rte sports department do a hatchet job on waterford and kilkenny, we'll recognise that all is well and fair in the media...i'm holding my breath!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/03/2009 20:34:07    221466

mayo You'll be holding your breath a long time then, as in my opinion the double standards and hypocrisy stink to the high heavens. This was a partitionist Southern media and GAA stitch up on Tyrone & McMenamin. The damn that was holding back the anti-Tyrone and anti-Ulster lake has now broken and open war has been declared. The playing rules were changed to penalise Ulster sides and they are also now on the receiving end of a biased disciplinary clampdown. Kerry got off scott free while Tyrone took the entire rap for Omagh, that says it all. It was an opportunity for the Southern media and Croke Park to appease the anti-Ulster bigots within their ranks AND they didn't disappoint. Where is the Ulster Council, their silence has been deafening?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 02/03/2009 00:25:45    221676

no hatchet job this morning from certain sections of the media...good job i didn't hold my breath...ah well...there's always tomorrow..but i don't think so...wonder will there be a call to look at the video evidence...will certain columnists have a go at waterford men swinging hurls, and landing a straight right hander on the face of a kilkenny man...no don't think so..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/03/2009 13:55:56    222023

You see going on with this endless Tyrone victim stuff youre only making fools of yourselves.C'mon wise up and give it a rest.Not all tyrone supporters are like this by the way.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 02/03/2009 15:18:13    222120

There is absolutely no anti-Tyrone bias, McMenimin got exactly what was coming to him. He has a history of disgraceful antics on the pitch and maybe this will make him cop on a bit and actually focus on playing football and not on trying and sometimes succeeding in getting other players sent off. If there was an anti-Tyrone bias, then Tyrone would have had a lot more players sanctioned over the last couple of years than just McMenimin this one time.

Armaghlite (Armagh) - Posts: 6 - 02/03/2009 16:03:54    222162

The poll tomato7 (if you write it, he will come) refers to is pure stupidity - they had it up on their site after he RMcM was given the 6 week ban. A few thousand people vote. Fair enough. Then, when the ban was extended they simply replaced the question "Is Ryan McMenamin's six-week ban too harsh?" with "Is Ryan McMenamin's eight-week ban too harsh?" and carried over the thousands of votes already registered. Not that a few untruths ever let tomato7 (if you write it, he will come) lost the run of himself. Harte, the management and all the players don't give a flying fig about anything that's written here. People can type away all day but it makes no difference to them. The main point is that the GAA now have a massive problem of their own making. The arbitrary and unprecedented (given Ricey's particular actions) sentence which they imposed on McMenamin will come back and haunt them whenever the angels of Kerry etc. get involved in similar incidents. And the problem won't be confined to football. After yesterday's events between the Déise and Kilkenny, the need for consistent application of punishment insists that a much heavier sentence that 6-8 weeks be imposed on Prendergast et al. At the end of the day, Harte is the real winner in all of this. There's no doubt whatsoever that Tyrone will get their act together in terms of discipline and attitude. While Kerry probably are a better all-round 15 they are still sorely lacking when it comes to belief - and especially when they come up against the Red Hands. The psychological edge remains with us. And with Kerry lads inevitably getting into trouble come Munster SFC time, expect long, Galvinesque bans for all in the name of consistency!

padraic32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 140 - 02/03/2009 16:52:40    222221

Ulsterman
The playing rules were changed to penalise Ulster sides and they are also now on the receiving end of a biased disciplinary clampdown.

No ulsterman they were changed to stop things like persistant fouling and other little loopholes. If you believe that is anti-ulster then you believe ulster sides are persistant foulers...

As for this media superpower lark; Name one thing that the media have changed in the GAA...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/03/2009 17:34:33    222269

padraic32
greatpost

chalkie (Derry) - Posts: 312 - 02/03/2009 17:44:13    222283

padraic32 - Dont be spouting so much rubbish so early in the year boy! Your looking for excuses to pardon McMennamin, he got what he deserved for acting the Goat!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 02/03/2009 18:21:27    222321

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

222321 padraic32 - Dont be spouting so much rubbish so early in the year boy! Your looking for excuses to pardon McMennamin, he got what he deserved for acting the Goat!

____

Ignorance is bliss. Where exactly do I look for excuses to pardon McM? I did no such thing. I simply wrote that the GAA have now created a very dangerous precedent in plucking six and eight weeks from seemingly nowhere. Four weeks, in my opinion, would have been fair and consistent. But, if it is to be six or eight weeks then it will have to be applied consistently. I took the issue of Ricey separately and didn't talk about whether or not he was guilty of the alleged crime or the actions of any of the Kerry players / management.

Now my little exiled friend, take a deep breath and read my original post again. Though it is easier to act the goat from behind a computer screen than on the pitch in front of the RTÉ élite.

padraic32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 140 - 02/03/2009 20:31:02    222430

As a Monaghan person I would be up in arms if my county was fined for what happened in Omagh. I was at that match down at the wire on the stand right beside where all the action took place. My friend viewed the match on tele and what happened at Omagh and what was seen by viewers certainly give the wrong impression. There was no bad blood during the best part of that match but when Tyrone started catching up on Kerry things started to spill over. Kerry were run out ten minutes into the 2nd half and Tyrone were only wakening up.For the last 15 mins every time Tyrone launched another attack their forwards were held on to by Kerry players and dragged to the ground and not a free was given. I felt that this got tempers goin. Ricey did not behave in a very good manner to do what he did but no one was injured and no life was threatened. What about the clothes line tackles were they not much more dangerous. was there any word on them? when the end of match came Ricey had the clampers on Gooch and himself and O Shea exchanged a few pleasantries. O Shea came over to have a chat with Ricey but the big question is WHAT TOOK JACK O CONNOR ON TO THE FIELD TO HAVE A GO AT Mc Collough? Would Mickie Harte do that ? not a chance. did Pat O Shea do anything like that ? not a chance. Jack was trying to get a clout at Mc Collough and had to be restrained by officials. Forget about press my friends the always want a juicy story and they dont come any better than Riceys wee check on Galvin. I was at a match where Peter Canavan and Brian Dooher were lucky to come out of it alive and Canavan never kicked a ball for 18 months after the physical abuse he took ( his leg broken in two places and a couple of ribs done too ) and it got nothing like the headlines this has got. Clothes line tackles are highly dangerous and could cause a seriuos injury and its time refs got serious about them.Managers should show discipline no matter what has taken place amongst players COUNTY OFFICIALS SHOULD BE INTELLIGENT ENOUGH TO HOLD THEIR HEADS. Kerry officials please note! Ricey deserved a 1 month ban but doing what the GAA have now done has turned this into a charade. And to end if Kerry had have done things the normal way all this could have been averted eg; What was their bus doing goin thru Aughnacloy at 1.25pm for a throw in at Omagh at 2.30pm and then driving the remainder of the journey at 80 & 90mph? I was behind the bus until I lost it as I dident want to get caught for speedin.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 921 - 02/03/2009 20:40:20    222437

padraic32 - You are going on about the GAA making a "rod for there own back", you simply dont make sense. Ricey got what he deserved in my opinion and in no way does it make him a bigger or better man for the fact he did it on live tele! I think that makes him an even bigger egiot than most give hime credit for

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 03/03/2009 08:36:29    222626

border Gael
County: Monaghan
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

You have a completely different view to myself Border Gael. And I was at the match also (the terrace on the half way line - probably opposite you), and then saw it on tv afterwards when I got home to Dublin. First off, to explain your last "point" (???) about the Kerry bus - that was the supporter's bus from Dublin. I know. I was on it. I heard that the Kerry team stayed in Omagh overnight. I doubt they'd make a 5 and a half our journey on the day of a match that threw in at 2:30pm.

Secondly, you seem to make out that Kerry were outclassed when Tyrone "wakened up" in the second half. Nonsense. Kerry got 3 yellow cards to 3 of their better players and had to be replaced. Jack O' Connor also introcuded subs because the game was dead and buried at half time. So, in effect, Kerry had a very weakened team out in the second half. It was obvious Tyrone were going to catch up. Not to mind the amount of first team regulars we were already missing. Every Tyrone and Kerry fan I spoke to had Tyrone as favourites to win that match, but Kerry blew Tyrone away in the first half and that was the end of it. Kerry were not going to come out and play like they did in the first half, and Tyrone wouldn't have let them. When have you ever seen a team have a second half like they did in the first half? Answer: never.

I'll agree with you that there was no bad blood for the vast majority of the match. But I'll point out to you that some of the more level-headed of Tyrone posters on here believe that McMenamin did enough during the game to earn a yellow card. If he had have got one, then NOTHING would have happened at the end of the match. Everyone saw the picture of McMenamin catching Marc O Se by the jersey (where he was slabbering). After the whistle had blown, Jack O' Connor went onto the pitch celebrating etc. That's why he was on the pitch. He went over to McMenamin and O Se to separate them. Then McCullough ran over and said something to O' Connor, which is why he had to be restrained. Do you honestly belive that O' Connor just ran on the pitch and said to himself "Oh look, there's McCullough! I'll try and give him a box for the craic of it"? Cop on.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 03/03/2009 11:38:06    222752