Anti-Tyrone prejudice

I have opened a new thread on the McMenanmin issue becasue I believe it has moved beyond just the incident itself It is a prime example of southern bias against Ulster teams and Tyrone in particular. As far as the incident itself goes Ricey was wrong but lets not get carried away, at best it was a 4week ban. People have said that he done other stuff during the game, he done nothing else, he went in hard against the Gooch, nothing illegal, and had his usual chat with him as well. No one has mentioned the fact that he completely wiped the floor with the Gooch in the 2nd half, maybe thats what irks people. I have also heard people saying that he spat on O'Se, this is pure lies. Jack O'Connor made an absolute show of himself and started a melee in the process which the Tyrone players and stewerts had to sort out But the southern press, and by southern press I mean Dublin newspapers (not Hoganstnd!) who at best give small enough coverage to the GAA compared to the the likes of the Irish News decieded to go to town on McMenamin, declaring that he should be hung drawn and quartered for the incident. And lets not forget Galvins attempts to make the most of it, and his own little track record of disrespect for referees as well as the rest of the Kerry team Croke Park then duly obliged the press and handed him a highly unusual ban to say the least of six weeks. After this he appeals this highly irregular and inconsistent ban he got it increased and Tyrone ended up getting a fine of 2grand for a row that Kerry started and tried to finish but Tyrone managed to get this sorted out. It is typical of the stuff coming out of Croke Park, another example is the new rules which will actually help Tyrone. However thy were put there becasue the media demanded that "Tyrone's negative football" needs to be cut out. The thing is they failed to realise that the scoring rate of Tyrone last year, these rules will actually benefit Tyrone even more, however the intention was to stifle Tyrone and thats what I am talking about. Then there was the whole team of the decade talk before the 08final this year on the presumion that Kerry was goign to win. Of course after it was a Tyrone victory there was no talk at all about team of the decade. Then there is the blind refusal to give Tyrone any recognition of their 3 all-irelands and in particualr the first win. The southern media and Croke Park should hold their heads in shame in my opinion, their prejudice is nothing short of disgusting and their attempts to influence the game is pathetic jealously, which wont work. Also I have a bit more news for them... Tyrone are here to stay I know that some people in here are going to call me parnoid, a winger, and all the rest but the the thing is, this is the feeling here in the O'Neill County, Tir Eoghain Abu

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 28/02/2009 16:51:58    220996

Am I the only one that is sick to the teeth of the Tyrone brigade whinging and crying , lads will you stop feeling sorry for yourselves and move on. Tyrone are probably the best team in the country at the moment, what more do ye want.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 28/02/2009 17:21:42    221003

Sorry about your paranoia,but he should of get 6 months his carry was short of disgusting,i was talking to kerry people that went to the match,and they said they wont be going back,there was a bad atmosphere up there before and during the game and afterwards,im not surprised by that as i was in omagh in 06,I was shocked with the carry on of your supporters,

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 28/02/2009 17:36:44    221009

OMAGH.JOE U Know the way you said that some people mite call you PARNOID AND A BIT OF A WHINGER , COULD I ADD SHORTSIGHTED AND CONTRAEICTORY AS WELL. .

clarity (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 28/02/2009 17:43:45    221013

tomaoo7 County: Dublin Posts: 1484 221009 Sorry about your paranoia,but he should of get 6 months his carry was short of disgusting,i was talking to kerry people that went to the match,and they said they wont be going back,there was a bad atmosphere up there before and during the game and afterwards,im not surprised by that as i was in omagh in 06,I was shocked with the carry on of your supporters, What exactly should he have got six months for? Because you don't like him? Because you don't like Tyrone? Omaghjoe may have got a bit carried away but its posts (the bits that make sense) like this which wind Tyrone people. There was very little atmosphere for a lot of the match, Kerry were beating Tyrone heavily for much of the game and Tyrone supporters did not have much to get worked up about as the match on the whole was played in a good spirit and was refereed well. Why would there have been a bad atmosphere before the game? The fans were looking forward to watching the two best teams in the country. Things got a bit heated at the end but that was as much to do with one of the Kerry officials winding the crowd up. None of it was ever aimed at the Kerry supporters, the Tyrone fans appreciate the trek that they have to make to attend such games. To be honest I was more shocked at the behaviour of the Dublin team in 06 than anything I saw in the crowd. Tyrone have their good and bad supporters, like everyone else.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 28/02/2009 19:01:59    221024

I am afraid this is unbelievable.

Was there anti-Southern bias last year against Galvin and the O'Se's?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/02/2009 19:32:57    221033

Toma007 your shocked at Tyrone supporter get your own house in order before commentating on our supporters ,the Dub's fans intimidate all other fans especially hill16 your think you have a God given right to that area of the ground Croke Park does not belong to Dublin!!!!!! its the National stadium of all the Gaa supporters and its about time something was done about it.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 28/02/2009 19:34:46    221035

Sorry about your paranoia,but he should of get 6 months his carry was short of disgusting,i was talking to kerry people that went to the match,and they said they wont be going back,there was a bad atmosphere up there before and during the game and afterwards,im not surprised by that as i was in omagh in 06,I was shocked with the carry on of your supporters,

Am loath to respond to this thread because of the increasing paranoia about the match from both sides of the fence. However, what you say here is patently untrue. There was no bad atmosphere whatsoever in Omagh. I spent a bit of time chatting to a few Kerry folk myself and I was impressed with them for making a huge journey. What everyone is forgetting completely - because most of you weren't there - is that 99% of the match was played in a highly sporting manner from both sides. In the first half we were treated to the Kerry show and in the second we were impressed by Tyrone's grit and determination even if they didn't reach the heights they would have liked. Only at the very end was there bad blood, it blew over fairly quickly and everyone went home. End of.

As for the McMenamin/Galvin incident, now that we've all seen it on the TV it was clearly disgusting and out of line and is being dealt with, but at the match it itself, you know it was largely passed over as an incident.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 28/02/2009 19:42:52    221038

williewentwell

221035 Toma007 your shocked at Tyrone supporter get your own house in order before commentating on our supporters ,the Dub's fans intimidate all other fans especially hill16 your think you have a God given right to that area of the ground Croke Park does not belong to Dublin!!!!!! its the National stadium of all the Gaa supporters and its about time something was done about it.

Yawn Yawn, it's not Dublins fault that the other counties send back the hill 16 tickets allocated to them. If it was'nt for Dublin Hill 16 would be empty all year round. Am I right or am I right

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 28/02/2009 19:56:57    221049

Correct bert, I was there and I seen nothing like the incidents that people are claiming I thought was played in a very clean and competitive nature apart from THAT! incident that has been dominating this forum for a number of weeks now,bring on the next round of matchs so this can be put to bed once and for all.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 28/02/2009 20:00:22    221051

PJ you obviously never been to Croke park or Hill16 when Dublin play its not about sending back tickets its about not being aloud on the Hill for your own safety!

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 28/02/2009 20:06:26    221058

williewentwell

221058 PJ you obviously never been to Croke park or Hill16 when Dublin play its not about sending back tickets its about not being aloud on the Hill for your own safety!

Willie Lad I was on hill16 long before you even heard of the place, thats a fact. And I can tell you If you were to come to the Hill this year If we meet in the championship, I can promise you that you 'safety' would not be in question, , , , , As long as you wear a Blue Jersey of course

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 28/02/2009 20:20:04    221072

i never seen the clip of why he's getting banned until today and he should get no ban what so ever. what is this sport turning into.

and nobody is against ulster teams

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 28/02/2009 20:44:17    221098

Bert, I couldn't agree more with you. And I was at the match also. Everyone was in great form throughout the match.

Omaghjoe, you're letting your county down by posting your "what about what they done" type thread. It's worse than snitching like a schoolboy, or acting as a "grass". I saw Jack O' Connor try and separate Marc O Se and Saint Ryan McMenamin before McCullough said something to him. How you come to your juvenile conclusion of; "he started it", I just don't see.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 28/02/2009 20:49:39    221101

More crap,he got what he deserved, he needs to be taught a lesson! No bias, look at what Galvin got last year for a lot less?

curious George (Offaly) - Posts: 861 - 28/02/2009 21:00:12    221108

Hi curious George

Don't think you can compare Galvingate last year with McMenamin, or many incidents we see between players in matches. The reasoning is that, while Galvin hardly smacked the ref or anything like that, it is common in society that an offence against a person in authority is considered much more serious than one against a "civilian" (bad word to use there but I can't think of another way to put it!).

For instance, if someone abuses a policeman it is treated much more seriously than if he/she abuses another ordinary Joe. Why? They are both people after all. But our society decrees, rightly, that this is more serious as a policeman is there in a position of authority to uphold the law. We all know that assaulting a policeman carries a far greater sentence. In the sporting world, the referee is the equivalent of a policeman: he is the person in charge, the man of authority and upholder of the "law". Therefore, as in all sports, an offence against the referee is considered to be a high offence and is punished accordingly.

So, while what McMenamin did was far worse when looked at as a human acting against another human, unfortunately for Galvin the fact that his offence was against a referee, it carried a much more serious penalty.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 28/02/2009 21:46:10    221135

omaghjoe - many of the people i have spoken to are of the same opinion i am - that Ricey got what he deserved he was like a loose cannon the whole day and was very lucky to have been on the field at the end of the game. So perhaps to say that the feeling in the O' Neill county is one of prejudice is slightly exaggerated if you ask me. Though from chatting to a few officials who were on the sideline O' Connors behaviour throughout the match was far from angelic i heard his language was colourful to say the least.

Granted 6 weeks was a funny one but i think he deserved all he got. An interesting article in the Irish News today highlights the double standards of county boards, when Peter Ward appealed his ban in the wake of the Tyrone county final he was told if you do the crime then you must do the time and his appeal was increased, now when the shoe is on the other foot they dont like it.

So omaghjoe i dont think there is a prejudice against us in tyrone if galvin had have done the same thing to Ricey the man would have been shot by a firing squad if last years witch hunt was anything to go by.

bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 28/02/2009 23:25:52    221168

am from tyrone and i aint whinged one bit about this,,, ricey boy is gr8 footballer but in the grand scheme of things what happened in omagh was bad form but i have a feeling its gonna have a bearing at the business end of the football season..i.e croke park in september ,,,, kerry boys will have an agenda and tyrone will be leavin ricey to it in the corner laughin in the kingdom boys faces again..... and tyrone will be powering their way to all ireland title..... if yis get me drift........

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 01/03/2009 00:00:01    221181

Thank God for Bert and Bocorty. The voice of reason in tyrone.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 01/03/2009 00:26:42    221187

I don't think many people are really disputing McMenamin's ban. It's the fact that Kerry walked away with NO punishment which was more of a disgrace. Parts of the national Dublin press declared war on Tyrone and McMenamin and vented their own anti-Ulster prejudice which is never far from the surface. Let's be honest here, some of the media groups concerned have history with regards to this and need no excuse to lambast and vilify the community which the GAA in the North comes from. Certain journalists no doubt deliberately pushed this the entire week after the Omagh game and portrayed Kerry as the clean cut all round good guys. That was shocking because the Kerry manager lost the run of himself while the behaviour of some Kerry players was very questionable too. It's the old 3 monkeys Southern media mantra which Dublin based journalists have pushed for decades towards Kerry. SEE NO EVIL, HEAR NO EVIL, SPEAK NO EVIL.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 01/03/2009 00:43:53    221193