Yes 95' (The point that was called off the ground) McCallen? I think?Only for Tyrone county board not wanting to look like bad loser's that year, and not wanting to win Our 1st Senior All Ireland football championship in controversial circumstances,i.e an illegal player on the field when a point was scored for Dublin, Charlie Redman was double yellowed and failed to leave the pitch! must be the most controversial final in Gaa history? williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 25/02/2009 22:32:12 218506 Link 0 |
05 mulligan v dublin fouled the ball no goal.ends of tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 25/02/2009 22:45:20 218520 Link 0 |
Duffy89 dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/02/2009 22:47:07 218523 Link 0 |
Some dub does not know the rules as mulligan never fouled the ball .. FACT read the rules Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2009 22:49:04 218525 Link 0 |
Kavanagh throwing the ball over the bar against Mayo 08. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/02/2009 22:49:58 218530 Link 0 |
jimbodub Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2009 22:57:32 218542 Link 0 |
Jaysus I spelt in with a feckin "K" I apologise.... Mugsy scored a try that day rather than a goal! ;0) jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/02/2009 23:02:19 218553 Link 0 |
jimbodub Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2009 23:11:53 218570 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/02/2009 23:15:01 218577 Link 0 |
patrique this lad wants to be a referee tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 25/02/2009 23:23:37 218591 Link 0 |
Patrique he never fouled the ball and i have spoke to refs that went through the course with me and intercounty refs and they said it was good goal so i think also you should real rule book . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2009 23:28:46 218597 Link 0 |
Strange then why they finished with((( Magic Magic Mulligans))) wonder goal at the end of the VT of the 125 fireworks display if it was a foul ball? in the words of a famous scholar yer man from the streets ( Mike skinner) Dry your eyes! williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 25/02/2009 23:42:59 218612 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/02/2009 00:55:09 218643 Link 0 |
1989 TheDoc08 (Galway) - Posts: 101 - 26/02/2009 09:40:37 218684 Link 0 |
Meath Junior club game round the turn of the decade, Meath Hill v Curragha. M-Hill winning well at HT but Curragha made good recovery in second half but at the final whistle all at the game thought M-Hill won by 1 point. Curragha manager, the great Brian Stafford even congratulated the opposition manager but then it transpired the ref declared the game a draw. Alot of arguing and hassle proceeded but the umpire on the night now sadly passed away had marked the score both on the post and a small slip of paper. Umpire and ref's sheet tallied up but during the second half the ref did check the score with his umpire where I believe the ref had some doubt's whether he missed a score so naturally they should have tallied at the end. Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 26/02/2009 11:09:11 218801 Link 0 |
1939 All-Ireland Final. Meath 2-3 Kerry 2-5. But it was as clear as day that Kerry's second "goal" never actually crossed the line. And it was only when the ball was cleared down the field 20 seconds later that the umpire actually raised the green flag and the goal awarded. People say Meath's first All-Ireland came in 1949, I maintain that it was 1939. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/02/2009 11:37:18 218827 Link 0 |
I blame the Russian linesman Loyal ......... Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 26/02/2009 11:56:10 218855 Link 0 |
Cookstown v Killeeshil minor match some years back the ref sent off my nephew in what was a very hard fought game, the game was abandoned after supporters constantly invaded the pitch as the ref lost the plot! it was shocking how grown men and women acted that night, Cookstown youngsters had to run a gunlet of hate that night from Killeeshils ground, Both clubs were heavily find and banned since then there has been a bit of history between the two clubs. williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 26/02/2009 12:09:26 218868 Link 0 |
Not so much controversy in a game, but ... everyone knows Wicklow have never won a Leinster SFC or All-Ireland SFC. However, Wicklow did win the 1902 SF All-Ireland as a Wicklow club, Bray Emmets, as the representatives of Leinster (not Dublin as is often credited). To this day, Wicklow are never accredited with their one All-Ireland SF win (Dublin are as Bray had won the Dublin championship and county club champions entered the provincial championships). Surely the ultimate controversy??? pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 26/02/2009 12:53:18 218932 Link 0 |
Ollie, Is this another incidence of Cork stubborness you refer too. Yes It's been happening long before 2002 Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 26/02/2009 13:26:15 218960 Link 0 |