Tyrone underage transfer saga

Please keep this case in consideration.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 28/02/2009 01:46:32    220852

AGHALOO I hope keep sticking to there guns and these players or other players in other clubs think harder or there parents think in future before starting rows with clubs . And fair play to this small club of putting a marker down .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2009 15:11:10    220969

Are we sports people or are we lawyers? Surely the spirit of the game should never be eroded by a misconcieved or ill-thought-out rule. The ethos of the GAA is more than just blindly following rules above all else.
We're supposed to be a SPORTING organisation first, not a legalistic one. The primary purpose of sport is participation, not success (something we forget all too easily a lot of the time). If the two young lads didn't look like such good prospects would Aghaloo care if they left?
GAA clubs are formed to provide a facility for its members to participate in our sports. They are not set up to win competitions (although this can often seem like its more important), and are certainly not set up to prevent children from playing our games. Whilst it's not ideal for Aghaloo to lose two good young players, surely they're primary function within the GAA is to provide an opportunity for people to play our games, not to deny this opportunity.
In any other facet of life, we would be outraged by a CLUB (which means that membership is VOLUNTARY) denying it's members the right to resign and join a different club. Why do we insist on making the GAA different. It's nothing but mean spirited pettiness, and it has no place in the GAA

An excellent post. You've hit the nail exactly on the head. Sure, we can talk about rules and regulations till the cows come home, but here we are dealing with an amateur sporting organisation and a couple of teenagers.

I also don't agree that somehow the floodgates will open if these two fellas are allowed to leave. I think there a few of these transfer wrangles going on in every county at any given time but, by and large, the vast majority of people are content with their clubs. It's like opening Crok Park and all the doomsayers coming out with, "that's it, the end of the GAA, now all the kids will want to go and play soccer and rubgy once they see it in Croker". Total and utter b*llshit. Parish loyalty is in rude health in Tyrone and in most counties and I don't see it being under any threat from this whatsoever. These situations are few and far between on the grand scheme of things.

Given the current position of the Clarkes, the fellas are clearly not gloryhunters. Given also how long the dispute has been running they are obviously completely dedicated in their aim to move clubs and it's not some phase. If it were about glory they wouldn't have sacrificed six years of their playing lives. All people involved in this should apply the spirit of the GAA rather than getting tied up in the nitty-gritty of the rules and regulations which have been proven at this stage to have served no-one well. No-one has won anything here, not Aghaloo, not the Clarkes, and not the two lads.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 28/02/2009 20:18:51    221068

best for aghaloo too just sign the transfer papers..... let them go,,, will show the club in a very bad light which shouldn be the way,,

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 28/02/2009 23:37:19    221172

good to see that one of the mckillion lads have got their transfer! aidan (18). hopefully now the county board will give jarlath his also!

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 12/04/2009 15:57:19    255271

clubs should not have the right to own a player they should have brought this to the courts and the gaa would have signed the forms quicker , we are suppose to be encouraging lads to play not be stopping them. and dell you should not be ranting about things you know little about

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 12/04/2009 17:13:13    255296

i was away when this topic first came up so im only after reading it now.and to be honest i agree with 99% of what dellboy is saying.why should they be granted a transfer,i dont see how the situation had changed since they joined aghaloo, and when they looked for the transfer.people are saying that they're being deprived of the chance to play gaelic,but they're not,they can play for aghaloo if they want,they're depriving themselves.the only people that are being deprived are aghaloo,they trained these footballers who then go and turn there back on them for no obvious reason.i know with my own club we have had a few players transfer to us from a smaller less successful club,for no real reason,and if i had the authority i wouldnt let them play.also,id like to know how they ended up playing soccer in a different county?surely they dont also go to school there, have grannies and cousins there, and there dad hardly played for that team, so why is the soccer club any different than aghaloo?i just dont see why they wanted to play for aghaloo when they were younger and not when they got older?

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 12/04/2009 17:31:42    255302

DOUGAL wise up man u obivously didnt read the story or the majority of posts on this topic to see why these lads want to move to dungannon

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 12/04/2009 18:13:23    255318

should let the boys go. afterall if they dont want to play for you whats the point in stopping them. Same sort of problems happen in letterkenny with boys switching from the weaker letterkenny gaels to st eunans when they turn about 14-15.

LagheyLad (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 12/04/2009 22:44:38    255492

no, TC, i did read the story,and at first it didnt make total sence,so ive read it a number of times now, ive also read all the post apart from finishing 5 or 6.if you wouldnt mind pointing out where i was wrong in my post, you mite convince another person to agree with you,but for now im sticking to my guns for now.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 13/04/2009 11:42:54    255659

Dougal

Thomasclarke is a dungannon man that is why he is fighting so much for it but it was there father that caused the whole affair wanting them to play for his home club dungannon . Fair play aghaloo.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/04/2009 15:16:07    255766

yes DBPC,thats the way i see it,that it wasnt really the boys decision as suchit seems it was there fathers and they went along with it.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 13/04/2009 16:36:20    255811

Dougal

And it is bad that the father has been the one to stop them playing football after all aghaloo said they can play when they want .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/04/2009 16:40:02    255813

thats the thing thats annoying me the most,people comming on here saying,oh aghaloo are stopping them from playing gaelic and driving them to play soccer,which frankly is BS,they made there choice and are sticking to it.they are being just as stubborn as aghaloo.

Dougal (Cavan) - Posts: 543 - 13/04/2009 17:15:52    255843

Dosn,t it just show up some GAA officials for what they are. At the minute the GAA are giving over their stadium to other sports which are fighting to attract the same children in every parish in Ireland yet they refuse children to play our game because of some micky mouse rule. At the minute the GAA are spending a fortune within the controlled/Protestant schools in the North. Trying to attract new members to play our games yet they refuse children to play our game because of some micky mouse rule. At the minute the GAA are spending a fortune within the immigrant community all over Ireland. Trying to attract children to play our games yet they refuse children to play our game because of some micky mouse rule. At the minute a leading official of the Aghaloo club is visiting every school in Tyrone with the two All Ireland cups. Trying to attract children to play our games yet they refuse children to play our games because of some micky mouse rule. I could go on and on and on, unbelievable. Families break up, friendships break up, people have fall outs within clubs. If a child hasn't played for your club for five or six years then I doubt he is coming back. It dosn't matter who is at fault in this situation. i think we should change the rule and have children stay away from football for one year before transfering. We should no longer hide behind a micky mouse rule

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 14/04/2009 22:31:08    257132

in my club the rule is if a kid wants to leave we sign his transfere and let them go on good terms they might come back at adult level we also sign if they move to a different part of dublin , we only wont sign when we know they are heading for money they can stand on the line for a year , what happened here in tyrone is sad these KIDS not allowed to play the game they love

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/04/2009 22:55:04    257183

YOUR RIGHT DELBOY I AM FROM DUNGANNON AND WHATS THAT GOT 2 DO WITH IT! this is an injustice of human rights that these lads havent been able to play for the club THEY want to play for. it wasnt their fathers choice it was there own choice to play for dungannon. and yuse your head dougal if you fell out with your club you woundn't continue to play with them.

anyway i hope Aidan Bangs in goals and points against moortown tonight! Up the clarkes, tiocfaidh ar la!

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 16/04/2009 17:39:50    259329

Nobody should stop kids playing football

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 16/04/2009 17:46:10    259343

ThomasClarke1 Did they get there transfer and just for the record aghaloo did not stop them play football .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/04/2009 17:56:17    259364

one of the have got the transfer.................yeh they did stop them from playing! no one with self respect would play for a club that has treated them like dirt!

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 16/04/2009 21:40:32    259595