Old Posters

samin10
County: Armagh

The only ones i miss are Jayo, W/B and Ballboy.

Ah sam, im blushing

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 20/02/2009 10:14:27    212808

Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 1515 212251 Lads lads lads,....im gonna get my PR people to send ye all an autographed copy of my photo and another one for each of yer sisters! Ye should be very happy cos I usually reserve this for Breffni39 only to stop him stalking me! Why are lads asking me where I have been?.....sure I was on here yesterday!! Now let me hose down all this talk of 1000th posts and 'newbies' etc! Look, how many times do I have to say it, we all enjoy HS and thats why we are on here. There is tough talk, puttin lads back in their box, banter, jokes, hosing lads down, defensive comments, offensive comments, smarmy comments, etc etc etc! Nobody gets hurt and we all defend the honour of our county and slag our own county with equal vigour eg, check out my "If your county was a movie" post for Dublin!!.....I didnt mention any other county!!......Humility! We are all Irishmen here and as such we have the best sense of dry wit and black humour in the world!.....furthermore some of you will indeed remember my 1000th post where I spoke of my extensive travels and the bond you automatically have with your fellow Irishman, the oul nod of the head, the unconscious glance to make sure they are 'back on the bus' and not left behind!......I make no apology for those 'New Irelanders' who toe a 'namby-pamby' new age line!! For those who do not like the tone of many of my posts, tough luck, the problem with 'New Irelanders' is that they want to bring you down to the 'gutter education' levels of todays young people for whom an education has been seen as not so essential anymore cos of the abundance of money!......You squirm at excellent command of the English language and articulate posts that are what you consider condascending but are simply ruthlessly to the point! "What we dont understand....we abuse!" My belief is that one must know 3 things: Politics, Economics and History as the basis for constructive debate! Education is great, but intelligence is ones own 'smarts'!! In the words of my best mate with no education beyond secondary: "Ask me any Question!".....he is the most intelligent man I know! With regard to this board, its a bit of fun and good craic, so dont get hung up about it! Breffni39 is like a hump on my back from carrying him around this board after me, but I am sure he is an avid Cavan fan and were Cavan to be in an AI Final, I would offer him a ticket before I would go myself. Why wouldnt I?....Its not my county! As much as he chases around after me Im sure he is still just a grand fellah! So relax lads and just enjoy HS!.....no worries! Regards, Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael ---------- WAKE UP EVERYBODY, the dream is over, hes back! Regards Joan Balantine.... Scundered Gael

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 20/02/2009 10:55:24    212853

Fair play samin, thats uncanny, I posted the exact same thing a while ago, you should have put me in the bibliography!
Of course I was slated for it, but by posters I dont rate, so no problem. Why do ppl feel the need to make friends and follow suit on here? Its an anonymous website for god sake! I argue points about gaa because thats what Im here for... There are dating agencies for that other stuff

Ya joan B I agree, just too long-winded and self-promoting for me (typical dub!)

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/02/2009 11:20:39    212869

hi Dubinmeath sorry arguing yesterday. Happy Friday.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/02/2009 11:28:06    212883

Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 374 Don't take it so serious Breffni for the following reasons: 1. You aren't from Tyrone 2. It was meant as a joke 3. I did say maybe everybody is logging on as Tyrone posters because they won the All-Ireland last year 4. There could be some truth to my post (as terrible as it might sound) I think it's the people not from Tyrone that are giving Tyrone people a bad name. Let Tyrone people react if they take offence, they can definitely stick up for themselves have you ever seen their football team. no shrinking violet there. The best thing people from other counties can do for Tyrone is think about improving their county teams to be able to compete with Tyrone and Kerry. This football craic is getting worse than the hurling. I think there are alot of people very counties who have very little to talk about so they basically jump on the Tyrone bandwagon instead of taking an interest in there own county. i bet Breffni could tell me the whole Tyrone panel and most of the subs but might be able to name 3 or 4 of his out county panel. Come on people get behind your teams.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 20/02/2009 12:46:33    213031

ColinWex
County: Wexford

Fair Enough, a bit of an over-reaction to your post on my part, but I dont know what you're on about at the end there? If we're making hypothetical bets then I'd say I'd be fit to name twice as many Wexford players as you could Cavan ones. Plus my da would beat your da in a fight.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 20/02/2009 14:33:43    213209

Was going to say my da is dead but he's not and I believe in Karma so I'm not going to chance it to make you feel bad.
To be honest I'd definitely say you could name more Wexford players than I Cavan players. Unfortunately I don't know any and I'm terrible with names.
As for knowing more Tyrone players than Wexford I'd say it would be close because I know alot of the Tyrone players how could you not they are a great team.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 20/02/2009 15:20:10    213293

Stop playin hard to get joan and just admit you like me!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 20/02/2009 16:49:24    213475

TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 568 212869 Fair play samin, thats uncanny, I posted the exact same thing a while ago, you should have put me in the bibliography! Of course I was slated for it, but by posters I dont rate, so no problem. Why do ppl feel the need to make friends and follow suit on here? Its an anonymous website for god sake! I argue points about gaa because thats what Im here for... There are dating agencies for that other stuff FFS as if id quote a Mayo poster like you :)

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 20/02/2009 17:10:40    213681