im still around loyal, just dont have as much time for dossin as i used to! Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 19/02/2009 14:34:16 211981 Link 0 |
It's not that I didn't like them Loyal but they just seemed to start up posts at the drop of hat with no real basis and also posted a lot of pointless and aimless posts. You've never really liked me Loyal. And your right I'm not a long term poster. I'm not on the HS at all hours of the day every 5 minutes. I wonder who is. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/02/2009 14:39:33 211995 Link 0 |
snuffy was on yesterday on the hill thread i think, the only 1 thing i dislike about some of the 'veteran' posters is that a few of em tend to look down on new posters or 'newbies' as we seem to be called. after all its just a forum to discuss th GAA, no need to go all 'trekkie' over 'your' beloved site! jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 19/02/2009 14:45:13 212004 Link 0 |
Hey Daytona you've got 20 less posts that Loyal who is on the site many years longer than you. Don't buy a gun lad cos you have an awful tendency to shoot yourself in the foot time and again. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 19/02/2009 14:46:55 212009 Link 0 |
I'm tiring of the board myself. Back in the days with ballboy at least it was basicallly just him who was doing the winding up and making crazy claims about himself. Now there's loads. Every single thread these days has a nasty element to it and its all got very tabloid. Too many children posting i'd imagine. I'm not spitting the dummy out and saying I'm leaving or anything its just I see less and less stuff that I feel is worth my while attempting to contribute to. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 19/02/2009 14:53:45 212019 Link 0 |
Not really DubinMeath. You could say that he was reffering to himself there when he was talking about longterm posters. Depends how you interpret it I suppose. Apologies once again for the name mix up. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/02/2009 14:54:33 212022 Link 0 |
Real Kerry Fan Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 19/02/2009 14:56:18 212026 Link 0 |
It's like players - bit by bit they retire and new lads come along. Things can't stay the same for ever and I'd say we have lost a few guys who spent their working day online who have since been made redundant. A lot of us have to work harder to keep things afloat - so casual postings are more random than before. Roger (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 19/02/2009 14:57:05 212029 Link 0 |
As far as i am concerned there was far too much *** kissing going on. All lovey dovey. You're right, no you're right. Ach we are both right. Big countdown to some posters 1000 th post. Can see all the likely suspects holding their breath as to what would come out in these posts. Load of *^"^* if you ask me. Didnt bother reading most of them myself, just couldnt be bothered with it. I know some people will say i argue too much or whatever. One thing i cant be accused of is being a lick. Not interested in being a Hoganstand legend as they like to refer to each other as. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 19/02/2009 15:00:13 212037 Link 0 |
Breffni39 Amen to your words. I've been posting here since 2001 but changed username after registration became mandatory. Some people were able to hang onto the usernames they always had & then just racked up numerous posts on nothing in particular. So if that is how an old posters club is formed, great but I think the concept is a pile of #$%^. Some of the least intelligent posts are from people who post a lot because they tend to write on as many topics as possible without thinking about them. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/02/2009 15:07:02 212050 Link 0 |
This old chestnut regularly raises its head. I can never recall Liam or any other 1000 posters use it as a badge of honour. It seems to be the likes of Slayer and Daytona who have issues with it. They seem to have a hang-up about the amount of posts whereas the guys who have the posts don't give a **** about how man posts they have. Insecurity or inferiority perhaps. Just post if you want and don't if you don't. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 19/02/2009 15:15:30 212065 Link 0 |
Ah these lads will be back soon, they can't be on every single day you know! It's probably only a couple of days since they posted sure. mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 19/02/2009 15:18:17 212069 Link 0 |
I think it's pretty obvious what is happening here on this site. As the volume of Tyrone posters increases, the volume of posters from other counties seems to decrease. Then again maybe people love Tyrone so much that they are infact logging on as Tyrone people instead now. No point being on the loosing team is there? ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 19/02/2009 15:49:55 212100 Link 0 |
Dubinmeath wrote: slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/02/2009 15:57:55 212113 Link 0 |
Lads its all about quality not quantity. holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 19/02/2009 16:14:44 212137 Link 0 |
It's not that I didn't like them Loyal but they just seemed to start up posts at the drop of hat with no real basis and also posted a lot of pointless and aimless posts. You've never really liked me Loyal. And your right I'm not a long term poster. I'm not on the HS at all hours of the day every 5 minutes. I wonder who is. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/02/2009 16:17:35 212138 Link 0 |
Yep, the old 1,000th post chestnut used to annoy me sometimes - it was like boasting about how wonderful people were as contributors to this forum. Quality not quantity is key, but then we can all be subjective about what we like or dislike. Roger (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 19/02/2009 16:18:20 212139 Link 0 |
I think it is quiet funny who labels who Long term, I think people only look at the amount of post someone has and then says either they are short term or not, personally I am on HS for about 4 years does that make me long term? I have only posted around 200 on this new site. Does that make me a newbie??????? rich dublin (None) - Posts: 425 - 19/02/2009 16:20:09 212143 Link 0 |
Ah yes the auld 1000th. Snuff and Jayo got a lot of joy out of building this up for themselves and others. A croc of tripe. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/02/2009 16:31:36 212161 Link 0 |
Slayer - Can you give any examples of that? I have never seen it at all, never. I have seen other posters asking for something good for a 1000th post but never seen the poster himself build it up. Its another urban myth that has gained legs. I never saw Liam say 'I have 2345 posts so I'm great'. Just amazes me why you and a couple of others are so hung up about it? Why does it bother you - why should it bother you? Its you and a couple of others who go on about it ad nauseam - not the posters. Are you jealous or something. Jesus I'm getting as bad as ye. Just ignore it FFS. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 19/02/2009 16:32:38 212164 Link 0 |