Tyrone - Gaa Wasteland

Conceding 7-21 to London,did ye send the u12s out to play them.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 17/02/2009 08:57:21    209086

Does everyone hate us??? I just want someone to like us for once in a while :)

Excuse me while I go and play some 80s power ballads to match my mood....

"I wanna know what love is, I want you to show it."

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 17/02/2009 10:08:12    209156

sure it doesnt matter were all ireland champions in football

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 17/02/2009 10:18:08    209166

Rio Bingo I don't hate ye! :)

And I love ye're women!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 17/02/2009 10:30:39    209177

Now i'm a Derry man, and a lot on here know what my feelings on Tyrone are, however this thread is very harsh indeed. Tyrone have been making great strides in Hurling in recent years, which delights me to see believe it or not!

London, in London are a tough game for any county below the elite division and they really shouldn't be in that division along with Tyrone as they are too strong for the division as a whole.

From what i know of the recent revival in Tyrone i would put this result down to a freak for the Red Hands, however i could be wrong. Could some of the Red Hand hurling fans give their, more accurate views on this please as i don't think it's fair that they should be slagged on the main page.

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 17/02/2009 10:38:46    209182

So, Kilkenny got beaten by Waterford in the football this weekend on a scoreline of 2-20 to 0-03 - where's all the accusations against Kilkenny then??? (Sorry Kilkenny folk, I'm not trying to insinuate you are a "wasteland" or anything like, but there's such a clear imbalance in people's perceptions that it is getting ridiculous). Alternatively, why don't have a pop at any number of counties who fail miserably in competing at either football or hurling? Coming on here and calling Tyrone a GAA wasteland is pathetic and wrong. There is much to be done in Tyrone with regards hurling, everyone knows that, but you would think we were the only county with a focus on one of the big two Gaelic sports. Truth be told, there are many more counties like that than not, and as I said before, plenty of counties who cannot even get one of football or hurling to a decent level. Finally, why not give London some credit? They have a number of handy players. Tyrone are going to struggle in Div 3 but at least we're in there.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 17/02/2009 10:47:35    209192

This is a new low!! This is why I feel compelled to defend any county that is picked on like this. I mean who on earth would ever rate Tyrone as a hurling county? For the level they play at they are quite good but London are above this division by a good bit. London will do likewise to all teams in Div 3 B (including Louth) bar Roscommon. London should be in Div 3a, where they could play similar level teams.

They have players from Cork, Tipp and KK on the panel. Granted they may not make the senior grade in those counties but coming from there they have a deep knowledge of the game.

This thread is a new low for the anti-ulster types!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 17/02/2009 10:57:05    209202

Whens the last time Limerick won anything?

Tyr08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 435 - 17/02/2009 11:03:05    209208

Very few in Tyrone care about hurling.
That is why. Like the man said, do Kilkenny people care they got hammered in fooball?
Better being good at one than mediocre at 2 (Dublin, Cork, Galway?) Or poor at both, meath etc.....

gottabetrue (Tyrone) - Posts: 300 - 17/02/2009 11:03:07    209209

re gottbetrue,i think your comment about no one in tyrone caring about hurling is making the very point of the thread title.

pullhaard (Limerick) - Posts: 195 - 17/02/2009 11:32:19    209262

re tyr08, Limerick - 20 All-Ireland titles , tyrone - 15 All-Ireland titles.
Limerick 9 Senior - Tyrone 3 senior

The G.A.A. is 125 years old , not 10 ! p.s its not all about winning,its about promoting hurling at grassroots,something ye need to start doing!!!

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 17/02/2009 11:51:02    209278

eastgael: your comments suggest you know very little about the efforts in Tyrone to improve hurling. It isn't anywhere near as high-profile as the football, we all know that, but there is work going on at grassroots level. These things take time, but you are disrespecting the people in Tyrone who work tirelessly to improve our hurling. It isn't going to happen soon, but the fact we're in division 3 is a start frankly.

Gottabetrue:
"Very few in Tyrone care about hurling.
That is why. Like the man said, do Kilkenny people care they got hammered in fooball?
Better being good at one than mediocre at 2 (Dublin, Cork, Galway?) Or poor at both, meath etc....."

You are playing into eastgael's hands exactly when you post something like this. Who cares about hurling in Tyrone? Well, actually, there are people out there who care very much and are working hard on it. Just because the success isn't being achieved as in the football does not mean it should be dismissed. And I did not say that people in Kilkenny do not care about how they do in the football, I said it was unfair to single out Tyrone for their contrasting success in hurling and football when it happens elsewhere. Going on to have pot-shots at any other county doesn't help anyone, you are simply reciprocating the lack of fairness that eastgael started with.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 17/02/2009 12:08:39    209304

"p.s its not all about winning,its about promoting hurling at grassroots,something ye need to start doing!!!"

Just one other thing: you slag us for losing to London, then come back and say it's not all about winning but about the promotion of hurling at grassroots. Well, which one is it? The fact is we lost because we are probably out of our depth in Div 3, yet the fact we are actually there at all is an indication that there is work being done in the county.

bert (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 17/02/2009 12:11:06    209305

a truly pathetic post from eats gael..the truth is the lads went over there on the friday and had good night out before the match on the west end..simple as that..and hey whats wrong with that..they are after all amateurs..so catch yourself on so called gael

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 17/02/2009 12:25:40    209326

London are too strong for this division and Tyrone are too weak. Some of the stronger players did not travel to London leaving a vastly inexperienced and young squad to travel and take a hammering. There is always the argument that tyrone never have their best players playing but its up to the hurling people in the county to change this. Players in the past always had issues with the county board but by those players staying away they are just losing out themselves and playing into the county baords hands. If tyrond county board could do without fielding a team like kilkenny did in the football for a while they would.

wheredowegonow (Tyrone) - Posts: 4 - 17/02/2009 12:49:36    209374

eastgael
County: Limerick

Conceding 7-21 to London,did ye send the u12s out to play them.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HAHAHAHAHA another jealous kerryman. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 17/02/2009 13:03:46    209392

County: Limerick

209278 re tyr08, Limerick - 20 All-Ireland titles , tyrone - 15 All-Ireland titles.
Limerick 9 Senior - Tyrone 3 senior

The G.A.A. is 125 years old , not 10 ! p.s its not all about winning,its about promoting hurling at grassroots,something ye need to start doing!!!

Anything that happened before 1995 counts for nothing, its the troubles i think

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/02/2009 14:07:44    209486

re bert, fair play to you and those that are making an effort in Tyrone,but as other posts suggest there are many who would rather the likes of you would go away.As a hurling man it seems to me that there is little or no support for hurling people in Tyrone, at least you are trying and from your post i sense a lot of frustration,and instead of suggesting solutions some of your fellow county men came out with the predictable" what have ye ever won","we don't like hurling,thats why we're no good at it", as for mayotyroneman,Godhelpus!! I don't think you should solely have to rely on a county board up there that insults you and our culture,our native game of hurling by paying it lip service. Sorry for provoking you by slagging off the seniors,didn't realise they'd a hard night in the westend on Sat night.Keep up the GOOD WORK at under age ,given a choice most kids will choose the great game of hurling.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 17/02/2009 14:24:37    209514

Its that old ugly head call jealousy. Love the Dubs Kerry Mayo Derry killkenny but TYRONE hate us we don't care cause we are TYRONE! TYRONE! TYRONE! THE TEAM TO FEAR !

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 17/02/2009 15:25:17    209628

I didnt say noone cared about hurling, I said very few, and that my friend is a true statement, it is a minority sport as football is in Kilkenny.

As for these people contantly going on about GAA is 125 years old and not 10, I'm sick of hearing rubbish about history rubbish. Put any of your all ireland teams fromtthe 60s or 70s out against the current AI champions this sunday and see who wins. LIVE IN THE PRESENT.

What is the point of sport if the fans cant celebrate and have bragging rights of their team being the number one team about now. Half of Ireland continue to live in the past.

gottabetrue (Tyrone) - Posts: 300 - 17/02/2009 15:53:49    209673