Unfortunately Ricey has good talent and he is a good pacey footballer and a very good reader of the game - but he lets himself, his county and his club down continually. Some of his natics over the years have been disgraceful at both Club and County level. The cameras of TG4 at the game on Sunday have proved what he is all about. I remember Dromore played Cross in the Ulster Club in Clones and McEntee bursted McMenamin at the start of the game and you hadly noticed him on the pitch after. Harte or some of the mentors need to take this man aside (and perhaps a few other who mouth) and tell him the story; at the end of the day football is about respect as much as anything - quite obviously Ryan McMenamin doesnt have respect for many opposing players, and given his antics not to many players will have respect for him. RuaHughONeill (Tyrone) - Posts: 110 - 17/02/2009 08:16:43 209066 Link 0 |
hav to agree totally with this post, ricey instigated this entire episode on sunday in what could hav turned out (almost was) to be sum very ugly scenes which no county especially tyrone after the dublin league game 3 years ago dont need. hes not a bad fella but gets carried away an needs to cut that out of his game johny89 (Dublin) - Posts: 72 - 17/02/2009 11:49:52 209277 Link 0 |
no matter how good he is, he's a disgrace to the game!! jimmyjoebob (Armagh) - Posts: 137 - 17/02/2009 13:42:09 209450 Link 0 |
Different people has differenet ways of playing the game, and fair play to him i like the way he plays. Ryan is a sound lad of the field, people change when they enter the pitch and you cant take that off them thats the way they play to win games.. allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 17/02/2009 14:33:48 209526 Link 0 |
To the dublin and armagh posters you both have some cheek coming on here and giving out about players .......... Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 17/02/2009 14:49:47 209549 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat johny89 (Dublin) - Posts: 72 - 17/02/2009 15:57:10 209685 Link 0 |
allstar4. He might be a good lad, I dont know the lad personally so I cant say what he is like off the field. But from watching Tyrone on the field over the past 5 or 6 years he is granted a very talented footballer, if he would just play footbal. His other antics are disgraceful, I have heard what he says to players and you can even see for yourself some of the stuff he was physically at on sundays game. There is no place for this in football. Of course you can hit hard and have a bit of slagging but what he does goes beyound that...doesnt do him any good and more importantly it doesnt do Tyrone any good. A major feature in Gaelic games is respect, and he has very little. RuaHughONeill (Tyrone) - Posts: 110 - 17/02/2009 16:11:29 209711 Link 0 |
awk would ye let it go. thats just the way he is. why use always complaining now. use wouldnt be complaining much if we had won the game. i thought all use tyrone supporters would be well use to ricey now, now come on its not the worst he's been lol tyroneman16 (Tyrone) - Posts: 73 - 17/02/2009 17:09:06 209820 Link 0 |
johny89 Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2009 20:15:19 212401 Link 0 |
Lads given the amount of over the top abuse coming from other counties, should we really be attacking one of our own players? I'm not condoning what Ricey did but I think we should just leave it for Harte to sort out. MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 19/02/2009 20:33:18 212420 Link 0 |
Great player, it's just a pity that he has that temper. Maybe if he gets punished enough, he'll take a long hard look at his antics and try and keep his cool under pressure. Even if Mickey Harte said something to him, it might result in an improvement in his attitude. Mayo1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 167 - 19/02/2009 20:41:30 212427 Link 0 |
facts r facts boys...ricey wil nevr change its who he is...tyrone r very lucky to hav a player lik him as every team wud love to hav him!! 123abc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 12 - 19/02/2009 22:49:57 212608 Link 0 |
ruahughoneill well said hes giving his team a bad name jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 20/02/2009 00:00:59 212676 Link 0 |
123abc allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 20/02/2009 14:05:37 213159 Link 0 |
i agree totally with rauhughoneil. and without offending dellboypolecat who says [ dublin and armagh posters have a cheek coming on here giving out about players ] yet he is a regular on the kerry message board , these sites are after all discussion sites open to all gaa followers , back to the topic , if any player did the antics that mc menamin does no matter what county he plays for IT SHOULD BE CONDEMNED , he deserves all thats coming to him from the cccc. [ the central competitions control committe ]. appleboy (Armagh) - Posts: 479 - 20/02/2009 15:45:55 213324 Link 0 |
he plays his own game, whats the point about being mr. nice guy on the football pitch? hoganstandhunk (Longford) - Posts: 49 - 20/02/2009 18:46:18 213797 Link 0 |
appleboy County: Armagh Posts: 16 213324 i agree totally with rauhughoneil. and without offending dellboypolecat who says [ dublin and armagh posters have a cheek coming on here giving out about players ] yet he is a regular on the kerry message board , these sites are after all discussion sites open to all gaa followers , back to the topic , if any player did the antics that mc menamin does no matter what county he plays for IT SHOULD BE CONDEMNED , he deserves all thats coming to him from the cccc. [ the central competitions control committe ]. And all i have said the above teams have i mentioned you lot would not be as quick condoning them and have not in the past ... Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/02/2009 19:10:02 213843 Link 0 |
Ricey was out of control. Like most loudmouth-bullies Ricey doesn't like to be beaten, that's why he was like that after the game. Spitting in Marc O'Se's face was reprehensible and indefensible, far worse than what he did to Galvin. I think he brings an ugly dimension to the game. Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 21/02/2009 04:34:53 214165 Link 0 |
ask any forward what he hates and theyll tell ya its a little pittagin like mcmenamin in yer face all game,it does put players of mucker (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 21/02/2009 09:09:07 214175 Link 0 |
I hav 2 say im a great admirer of tyrone,ye hav got some exceptional talent and are the best county in the country when u put ur he an head 2 it.I must say thou the actions of Ryan Mc Menamin against Kerry were absolutely disgraceful.He deserves a lengthy ban 3months or so becaus he was well out of order and he was at them antics da whole game.Grabbing any player in the privates is sick and if thats wat he has 2 do 2 win games he should b ashamed of himself.Then going on and shouting in players faces 4 no apparent reason he should have looked at the scoreboard because he couldnt back himself up.And then spitting in someones face shambolic behaviour and he needs take a good look at himself and the most annoying thing then is dat when he is fouled he drops to the ground in agony as if he has been shot.Sorry about that i meant 2 say a six month ban Spludge (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 21/02/2009 13:43:16 214273 Link 0 |