Kerry's win over Tyrone in Omagh

Real Louth Fan Oh you get my juices flowing alright but not in a good way! I am not going to even comment on the game yesterday because I actually believe that there are Tyrone & Kerry fans out there who will say that Tyrone deservedly won the All Ireland & we were the better team yesterday - end of. There's so much talk of Kerry being a cynical team and yes along with the other 31 counties in Ireland I agree to an extent we are - you have to be in modern day GAA.but I will say one thing - if the game had been in Fitzgerald's Stadium yesterday I can guarantee that Tyrone would not have been booed off the field by Kerry supporters & that's a fact.. "Jack O' Connor and that other jack ass rainsing his arms to taunt the tyrone fans is unforgivable" In response to the above line I would say that Jack O'Connor showed passion yesterday & unless you were standing beside him at the fulltime whistle you have absolutely no idea what was said to provoke him but I'm sure it wasn't pretty - O'Connor is a very level headed man who doesn't easily fly off the handle & that's another fact for you! So on that note you back Tyrone this year - I'll stick with the Kingdom and we'll see whose juices are flowing come September!!

Louise (Kerry) - Posts: 40 - 16/02/2009 14:03:30    208180

Does this mean that kerry have takin all those 'best of all time' awards from tyrone?

Come on real louth fan, there does seem to be a twinge of anti-kerry in ur posts

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/02/2009 14:21:01    208207

Is this the thread ye were looking for?

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/02/2009 14:26:12    208219

same here bert, and the Dubs who get a lot of stick where the same. All county's are the same, gracious in defeat and the odd clown being bitter.

if you want to be bitter have a granny smith!!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 16/02/2009 14:47:52    208250

What i took from the game was how apparently surprised Tyrone appeared at the ferocity of Kerry`s first half display. It was as if they werent expecting it. Secondly although i think Kerry were brilliant in the first half they did appear to display a total lack of belief in the second, for instance Murphy the goalie took an age over every kickout in an obvious effort to waste time.I was most surprised the ref. failed to award a free against Kerry for that transgression. Maybe i am being too harsh as nobody else seems to have mentioned it. Lastly i do think that Jack unnecessarily blotted his copybook by gettin involved.It merely demonstrated how much beatting Tyrone means to Kerry and i think that unfettered emotion will come back to haunt Kerry in the summer.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 16/02/2009 15:11:43    208303

Good point GaelAntrim.

Darren O'Sullivan will be huge this year. He would have made the difference for Kerry if he were introduced earlier in the final I think. Player of the Year 2009 I'm predicting. Has everything to his game but height.

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 16/02/2009 15:33:01    208339

Ciarrai abu (assuming you are not also 3inarow), find those comments or shut it! You haven't even said what those comments were only that "...you remember..." some comments. That covers a multitude. I was very clear at the time (as I am now)about the punishment that those racists should face - lifetime ban. Are all kerry fans liars? Is this what you descend to when you can't beat a good team on All-Ireland final day? It's a sad and pityful state to see what was once a great county descend to such low tactics of unsportsman like behaviour and telling lies! No wonder galvin, gooch and o'connor behave they way they do. So provide the evidence or end the libelous statements! And for the record I hope Mc Men gets what's coming to him. His behaviour was also disgraceful which I have stated here a number of times and yesterday wasn't the first time he behaved this way. I would also be saddened to see Gooch following the example of galvin. Gooch is an ambassador of the game and would make any county team of any era and I don't doubt that if he played any other sport he would do similarly well. galvin on the other hand is an example of what should not be - just like Mc Men.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 16/02/2009 15:34:02    208345

Dubinmeath

208219 Is this the thread ye were looking for?

Can you post up the link Dubinmeath?

Or Loyal2theRoyal - you're good at finding the old threads - can you find the one where Real Louth Fan started a thread about players with "tans" and whether the Carlow locals would be giving these players their usual welcome?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 16/02/2009 15:38:26    208354

once other teams get up to o'sullivans fitness, he'll not gigure, and as for colin wex please take off those green and gold tinted glasses..kerry supporters can be an awaful pain in the **** too..i know i was itting behind 2 of them yesterday...nd as for wexford..well i had a similar experience in croke park last year..so please don't make banal generalisations about tyrone supporters..we have our fair share of eejits, but every county has as well

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/02/2009 15:44:25    208368

16/02/2009 12:59:07 Louise County: Kerry Posts: 17 208094 Real Louth fan Oh you get my juices flowing alright - not in a good way though! I'm not even going to comment on the game yesterday because i do believe that there are Tyrone and Kerry fans out there who would agree that Tyrone deservedly wont the All Ireland Final last year and we were the better team yesterday - end of. There's so much talk of Kerry being a cynical team and yes like the other 31 counties I'm know we are to an extent, you have to be in modern day GAA...one thing i can say though is that if yesterdays game was in Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney you would not have heard booing as Tyrone were leaving the pitch as was heard after the final whistle in Omagh and that is a fact. You back Tyrone this year - I'll back the Kingdom and we'll see which one of our juices are flowing come September!! I don't back Tyrone. I just don't like all the criticism they have received for winning 3 All-Irelands in 6 chanmpionships under the same manager. What's wrong with that?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 16/02/2009 15:47:29    208374

Hi Louise, Did you not get it off your chest in the first post??? But a question for you regarding: "In response to the above line I would say that Jack O'Connor showed passion yesterday & unless you were standing beside him at the fulltime whistle you have absolutely no idea what was said to provoke him but I'm sure it wasn't pretty - O'Connor is a very level headed man who doesn't easily fly off the handle & that's another fact for you!" If you weren't beside him how do you know? Being "level-headed" is a fact is it? Surley it can only be an opinion! And I don't believe he was reacting to a comment. He waded in when he saw something happen. Nobody has the right to do that. He took the law into his own hands and he has no right to do that. That to me would suggest that he is not so level-headed. If he flies off the handle at that it will be interesting to see how he reacts in the heat of battle in Aug/Sept. next time try to get it all in one post. Otherwise it just looks unlevel-headed!!!;-) Or worse again - STALKING!!!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 16/02/2009 16:03:48    208411

3inarow08

208354 Dubinmeath

208219 Is this the thread ye were looking for?

Can you post up the link Dubinmeath?

Or Loyal2theRoyal - you're good at finding the old threads - can you find the one where Real Louth Fan started a thread about players with "tans" and whether the Carlow locals would be giving these players their usual welcome?

Yes, I fully admit to that! And what's your problem? If you knew anything you would know that was a response to the racist behaviour of some Carlow GAA fans.

You told lies in saying that I was spreading hate. That thread proves just the opposite and shows you up to be a malicious liar!!

Cheers for that mate. Could have responded better myself ;-)

Are you sure you are not secretly supporting me???

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 16/02/2009 16:09:38    208422

RealLouthFan, if you pay any attention to the tv coverage of when Jack O'Connor came on after the final whistle then you will see that he clearly WAS reacting to a comment. Initially he came on smiling because the final whistle had just gone and kerry won.. he then pulled marc O'Se away from mcmenamin and was walking off the pitch when he suddenly turned around and had a go at Colm McCullagh. So presumably something was said.. i am not condoning it.. i am simply saying that Louise is right and he did'nt come running in straight after the final whistle taking the law into his own hands and looking for a fight as you are suggesting.

Nobody here knows what McCullagh may have said so I think judgement should be reserved on this issue. Its not as clear cut as you are making it out to be at all

abcd1234 (Kerry) - Posts: 10 - 16/02/2009 16:39:04    208462

Real Louth Fan

Unlike you i dont spend half my day on this so please accept my sincerest apologies for posting twice - how "stalker-like" of me indeed, my computer crashed - i re-wrote it not realising my first one had posted - is that a detailed enough explanation for you or would u like me to elaborate on my stalker-like moves..?
Also for the record I'm v level headed and that one is a FACT not opinion!

"He took the law into his own hands and he has no right to do that"

This is GAA now not CSI - get a grip - maybe we should lock him up for expressing frustration?
Don't be worrying yourself about how he'll react come Aug/Sept - we have plenty experience playing games in those months & Jack is an experienced manager!

"I don't back Tyrone. I just don't like all the criticism they have received for winning 3 All-Irelands in 6 chanmpionships under the same manager. What's wrong with that?"

Not sure who' exactly is criticising Tyrone but since you seem to hell bent on defending them 24/7 maybe you should put your money where your mouth is and head to Paddy Powers..

Louise (Kerry) - Posts: 40 - 16/02/2009 16:40:29    208465

abcd1234

Thanks, at least you were watching the same game as me :)

Louise (Kerry) - Posts: 40 - 16/02/2009 16:46:11    208477

I walked away from this game feeling a bit let down, not just by our back line or the fact that our team seemed shy and ill prepared for the clash. Not either by the fact that as a contest the game did not flow or impress with long range shooting, that we seen a quiet day from Cavanagh, mc Cullagh and Mulligan or by the fact that Mc Menamin let himself and his county down by getting involved in un-sporting methods. I was disappointed more so that without ONeil up front as a target man, willing to get out and win his own ball, there was little evidence of leadership or creativity from an attacking perspective. Tyrone were heavily punished in the first 15 minutes by their slow/ inadequate decision making and poor distribution, but I have every confidence that Mickey will address this. Every now and then every team has a bad day. I is a pity that we had ours against Kerry but we will not be too annoyed by what happened in Omagh. I knew in my heart of hearts while walking away from the ground that I'd be reading this type of reaction on the thread today, this I have come to expect, but lets put it into perspective and I'll be as honest as possible in my interpretation. I was sitting beside a couple of civil Kerry lads in the stand around the 45 on the Lisanelly side of the field, we got on the best. From my seat I had a great view of Kerry's destruction of our full back line in the first half. To clear up any confusion Michael Mc Gee was marking the Gooch during his best spell, Gooch appeared much less effective when Mc Menamin was deployed on him. I took a bit of comfort from this but can't understand why Ricey cannot be happy with being a good footballer, he must antagonize also. Justy seemed incapable of shackling Walsh, the high ball exposed some of our weaknesses and failure to clean up the breaking ball in defense and in the middle of the field, this made a bit of a mockery of us and left us on the back foot. I thought Cassidy done well and was sorry to see him limp off. Mugsy got poor supply but also struggled to make any serious impact when he found possession (not counting his fine score). I could talk about it all day but I think Tyrone will be happy not to have been completely destroyed on home soil. shea/ County: Kerry/ Posts: 31 summed it up well. It is good to have a healthy rivalry with Kerry, and it is great fun in the stand. On a humble note its nice to be held in high enough regard by a great footballing county to be considered rivals, I have respect for that. As for booing the teams exit, It just so happened that the Kerry team exited the pitch at the same time as a certain Kerry official who felt it necessary to taunt the Tyrone supporters. Every action has an equal and opposite reaction and all of that.

nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 16/02/2009 16:53:06    208484

Hey Louise,

I take it back. Your last post proves how intelligent you really are. How could I have thought otherwise!!;-)

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 16/02/2009 16:54:16    208486

As for the media's reaction, yes they will probably attempt to shine a bad light on our beloved sport but who really cares what the narrow minded think, it is with the same distain that I will treat both the anti Tyrone and anti Kerry treatment from certain "Gaels" from other counties on this thread my official comment to you is that I care not what you think. As for Tyrone supporters misconduct, I did not witness any Tyrone supporters throwing missiles, and I feel embarrassed by them if they did. They are from a minority within our county, I imagine they had been drinking before they went in to watch the game. I have expressed my view points on spectating under the influence on this thread before and in defence of my county we are not alone in this respect. This sort of behavior does not belong in the GAA and 99% of Tyrone supporters will agree with me on this point. I think that the referee failed the teams on the day by making inconsistent decisions in both directions, this led to building frustration among the players, I felt that the game began to slowly creep beyond his control as a result which in turn let to some players/ managers alike becoming a bit to psyched up for February. In summary, it is still only February. I enjoyed watching some fine free flowing Kerry football before what became a bit of a dog fight. I am glad that Tyrone fought back, and I only hope we get the chance to play again before the end of the year and show the country and its doubters once again that we are a great footballing county and that we enthusiastic Tyrone supporters have much to be proud of.

nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 16/02/2009 16:55:22    208487

Triona / Louise. It is not wise to square up to the intellect of RLF. Time and again he has proved his worth on these boards with his insightful comments and sound arguments sometimes backed up by BOLD lettering! I am often in awe of his use of vocabulary and his range of insults (muppet, stalker etc). I always await his next contribution with baited breath. A true giant of these boards and a source of unlimited knowledge. We're not worthy RLF.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/02/2009 17:07:57    208502

Real Louth Fan

What exactly are you taking back?? I didnt realise that my intelligence was in question?

PS: Sarcasm is the lowest form of humour - i dont know you but I'm certain it doesnt suit you..

Louise (Kerry) - Posts: 40 - 16/02/2009 17:08:07    208503