Dublin hammer Galway

Ah sure aren't we all GAA people and believe me folks there are many Galway people on the Dublin threads. As you can gather by my name that I have Galway connections with my Grandfather having hailed from Kylebrack in Loughrea. I would ask you guys if Wexford or Offaly beat you guys last Sunday would the reaction be the same. I doubt it. It seems to be worse because it was Dublin, as if we have not staked our claim to be among the top 8 or so counties in the country. I believe we have and that the posts should have reflected this. The point that I am making is that this result seems to have had an earthquaking effect on Galway simply because of who beat them. I would also ask does anyone agree with me that Galway seemed to have lost the ability to battle - to grind out results when patterns go against them. I don't believe that I have slagged Galway in any way and as a fellow hurling man I sholud be able to come on the Galway site and give my twopence halfpenny worth. " Typical Dublin putting their noses in again" "Stick to you own threads" etc -- sure what does that contribute to the debate????? I love Galway hurling and my Club honoured your team of 1980 at our Clubhouse some years back in what was only a fantastic night of craic and ceol with Slvie Lenane, Sean Silke and Co.

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 20/02/2009 14:23:55    213193

Connolly I was only takin the mick there.. Truth is if Galway were beaten by offaly or Wexford by this Margin their would have been as big an uproar. We have no Issue about being beaten by Dublin (in the league) the Issue was with the Margin and behaviour of the Players.. Anyway even if were were ye should relish our foolhardyness and use it to your advantage come championship. By the way how does Anto Dalo manage for travelling between Clare & Dublin.

milicDunanuchta (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 20/02/2009 15:48:40    213330

Connolly I think the reaction would be exactly the same if anyone like Clare, Wexford, Limerick or Offaly beat us by 12 points. No Galway team should be beaten by 12 points. Full stop. Even if it was just early in the league. Maybe you could excuse a bad beating like that at the hands of the current Kilkenny team because they can do that to anyone when in the mood but not too anyone else. That said it is very early in the year and a bad loss like that may not mean much come the middle of the Summer. In fact it may turn out to be a good thing in the end although it doesn't look like that right now.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2396 - 20/02/2009 18:31:44    213780

Ah sure that is more like it lads. I will ask again does anyone think that Galway have lost their previous battling qualities. Regarding Daly He travels by car everywhere. Dublin were very lucky to get him. He is simply a fantastic hurling man, coming up early one day to take a session with Trinity College at our Club a couple of weeks ago. I had tea and sandwiches ready for him after it but he simply hadn't time as he had to get across the City to train the County Squad. And you can imagine what traffic was like at that time of the day in Dublin. It is the first time that the Dublin County Board have taken the Dublin job serious. Our present Club Chairman once managed the County team and he brought in a Clare man named Slattery to train them. What happened - they sacked him for bringing a country man in. And the County Board was and still is made up of mostly countrymen. This is the first time that a country man has managed them and it is what I have always thought was the way to proceed i.e. someone that has won an All Ireland, been there, wore the tea shirt etc. We have some fantastic hurling people in Dublin but they just dont have the experience to bring them on another level. More than likely we will not win anything of note with Daly but if he brings the project on to another stage then it will represent a fantastic job done. It is very much a work in progress. As you can understand all the hype has been with the footballers for the past 30 years and sometimes it has been a very lonely place to be a hurler. Sure your footballers put a serious dent in that hype last week. However I am a GAA man and love my football also but I would give my right arm -- seriously --- to see Dublin win an All-Ireland before I pass from this earth. Actually Brian Talty trains the Inter footballers at our club and it was gas to see him at a Senior hurling play-off match in which our club was involved some weeks back, roaring and shouting us on. And him a Tuam man! God there's hope for us all. GAA abù

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 20/02/2009 19:30:58    213858

Ah sure that is more like it lads. I will ask again does anyone think that Galway have lost their previous battling qualities. Regarding Daly, He travels by car everywhere. Dublin were very lucky to get him. He is simply a fantastic hurling man, coming up early one day to take a session with Trinity College at our Club a couple of weeks ago. I had tea and sandwiches ready for him after it but he simply hadn't time as he had to get across the City to train the County Squad. And you can imagine what traffic was like at that time of the day in Dublin. It is the first time that the Dublin County Board have taken the Dublin job serious. Our present Club Chairman once managed the County team and he brought in a Clare man named Slattery to train them. What happened - they sacked him for bringing a country man in. And the County Board was and still is made up of mostly countrymen. This is the first time that a country man has managed them and it is what I have always thought was the way to proceed i.e. someone that has won an All Ireland, been there, wore the tea shirt etc. We have some fantastic hurling people in Dublin but they just dont have the experience to bring them on another level. More than likely we will not win anything of note with Daly but if he brings the project on to another stage then it will represent a fantastic job done. It is very much a work in progress. As you can understand all the hype has been with the footballers for the past 30 years and sometimes it has been a very lonely place to be a hurler. Sure your footballers put a serious dent in that hype last week. However I am a GAA man and love my football also but I would give my right arm -- seriously --- to see Dublin win an All-Ireland before I pass from this earth. Actually Brian Talty trains the Inter footballers at our club and it was gas to see him at a Senior hurling play-off match in which our club was involved some weeks back, roaring and shouting us on. And him a Tuam man! God there's hope for us all. GAA abù

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 20/02/2009 19:34:00    213864

well lads where are all the comments about todays performance oh thats right there was great show of heart and determination on the behalf of connacht/galway to day so nothing for ye to complain about /to critise or to slate players and management for. funny that . Well Done lads great bounce back from last week

gaa gal (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 21/02/2009 19:06:46    214419

agree there gaa gal...great way to bounce back for the team came out fighting brilliantly in the second half against a strong munster team..brilliant to see that its not all doom and gloom with the team and there could still be some more class like todays performance tocome..well done lads

mydog (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 21/02/2009 22:30:44    214552

Great stuff from Galway yesterday. What does this make of the Dublin performance last week or can we read anything into it. I am leaving the Galway thread for now and thanks to all for having me. By the way my club is Clanna Gael Fontenoy and we are in the Ringsend/Sandymount area of Dublin. If anyone is passing why not drop into us where we will gaurantee a chead mile failte for all Galwegians. Slan

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 22/02/2009 11:46:07    214679

A great finish showing spirit, commitment and a never say die attitude. Still some areas that need sorting out but over the course of the last three games, they have lost to KK only after extra time and beaten the pick of Munster yet a poor performance against Dublin draws more comments and negativity than the other positives.

longsocks (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 23/02/2009 12:30:17    215426